Fuel strip fix?

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by wjrudo, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. ErikMotoMan

    ErikMotoMan Airbag crash survivor!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    4,486
    Location:
    In Motorcycle Heaven since 1990 - So Cal!
    I'm easily entertained, but using a lighter in the vicinity of gasoline fumes?

  2. ErikMotoMan

    ErikMotoMan Airbag crash survivor!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    4,486
    Location:
    In Motorcycle Heaven since 1990 - So Cal!
    In getting ready to deal with a faulty fuel readout on an HP 2, I checked to see if a new fuel strip is available for this model. Imagine my surprise when I discovered the HP2 has a conventional float:

    IMG_6019.JPG
  3. bfranc

    bfranc n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    8
    Could someone help me about the diagnostic of a faulty fuel strip in my 2008 GSA? My bike is showing empty since this spring. First time that it is not working since day one.

    I measured the resistance in the fuel level sensor strip, pins 2-3, while the bike is turned off, the tank is cca 80% full, or more. It was showing 2.91 kOhm. As far as I know, that should be a correct value. I checked the connector, seems in perfect condition.

    Zap it or search for another point of failure?
  4. mikegc

    mikegc Long timer Super Supporter Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,890
    Location:
    High Point, NC
    Take it to a BMW dealer and get the free upgrade. They'll warranty it for a bunch of years . . . I think somebody said 12 years. You'll get the upgraded flange, too.

    Mike
    Callisto224, Beecher Snipes and rms56 like this.
  5. herndonp

    herndonp Metal Knees

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Oddometer:
    93
    Location:
    NH
    Yes take it to dealer it's still covered under an extended warranty. I have had it replaced 3 times on my 2009.

    Pete
    Callisto224 likes this.
  6. Callisto224

    Callisto224 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,734
    Location:
    GA
    Only 3?

    nOOb! :photog
  7. bfranc

    bfranc n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    8
    Is this warranty a worldwide thing? I am in Croatia, Europe and my BMW service wants cca 200 Euros to fix it. There is a possibility they don't know about the warranty... I need something to argument with if I say I know it has warranty.
  8. bodybomber

    bodybomber Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    267
    Location:
    Delaware
    The strip in my 08 was replaced last month and has failed once again. Is it the alcohol in the fuel that's killing them or is the upgraded part a pos too?
  9. mikegc

    mikegc Long timer Super Supporter Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,890
    Location:
    High Point, NC
    A friend had his '09 replaced over a couple of years ago and it has been fine.

    Mike
  10. bfranc

    bfranc n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    8
    Replaced in warranty?
  11. mikegc

    mikegc Long timer Super Supporter Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,890
    Location:
    High Point, NC
    Yes, sir, but, more importantly, the fuel flanges were replaced, too.

    Mike
  12. Callisto224

    Callisto224 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,734
    Location:
    GA
    Warranty is only in the USA.
  13. Callisto224

    Callisto224 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,734
    Location:
    GA
    New fuel strips are the same part as the old ones. It can last 3 years or 3 weeks! I've had both. :dirtdog

    Current one is going on 3 months. We'll just have to wait and see how long it lasts!
  14. wonderings

    wonderings Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,912
    Location:
    New Hamburg, Ontario
    If warranty does not cover the fuel strip do not pay to replace it as it will go again and again and again. BMW, as far as I know, has not fixed the fuel strip, they just replace it with the same strips that have been causing so many people grief over something so simple. Someone is selling a float system that is supposed to work, have not heard from anyone yet if it does indeed work as advertised
    http://hposkam.nl/en/product/bmw-vlotter-converter/

    That is the route I would be going if I still had my '10 GSA with faulty fuel strips. You are throwing money away if you pay for a new one.
    Battmo and bykemike like this.
  15. bfranc

    bfranc n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    8
    Well... seems like more garage work on the fat cow. Sounds good.
    If I got it correctly from this link... I need to buy a BMW part 16148554065, and the 3rd party thingy BMW R1200GS Adventure TankRibbon to float converter.
    Then connect all of it. There is no talk about calibration of the new "sensor unit"? Needed, not needed?

    I suppose the "converter" is just some circuit to match the correct resistance for the computer, maybe some diodes, etc. 79 Euros for it... hm.

    Thanks for the info. Will give it a try.
  16. dad2bike

    dad2bike Retired! Cranky Old Fart Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    16,191
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Have they resolved the shipping to the US issue with the converter yet?
  17. WOLVERINE

    WOLVERINE Keep her pinned!

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    666
    Location:
    West of Sin City!
    I had similar issue, thought it was the strip but turned out to be corrosion on the connector at the 3pin terminal. Cleaned it carefully, applied di-electric grease and haven't had the issue since, about 3-4 years now I believe. Worth a try!
    snorty likes this.
  18. bfranc

    bfranc n00b

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    8
    I checked the outside connector. It is looking fine. Did you do this fix from the inside of the tank/fuel pump?

    I will open it up before ordering anything, ofcourse. For now, I am gatheting info. Never opened it before now.
  19. WOLVERINE

    WOLVERINE Keep her pinned!

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    666
    Location:
    West of Sin City!
    Outside on the pin connector. Corrosion was very minimal but the dielectric grease made the difference. Worth a try. Very easy to access.

    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk
  20. ultane

    ultane sqeezin the bag

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,517
    Location:
    The dry side of the blood brain barrier
    Do you have a diagram of the location of the offending pin terminal?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk