Fuel Tank Vent

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by RMac, Sep 29, 2019.

1. RMac

RMac Cheese!

Oddometer:
    I have no experience with this but I suspect my Cagiva Gran Canyon fuel tank vent is plugged. The hose is clear, but I think the fitting may be plugged. I've read various forums suggesting running a stiff wire, or even a small drill bit up the fitting. Before I go gonzo, I thought it prudent to ask: Is this a check valve, ball valve type thing? Or does it run straight through into the tank?

Here's a pic of the fitting which is located underneath the left side tank:
    Canyon-vent-fitting-IMG_4829.JPG
  2. unfocused_adventure

unfocused_adventure Not my circus, not my monkeys... Supporter

Oddometer:
    normally if it comes "through" the tank:

1 - it's a water drain for the filler (if applicable)

If it's a vent then there should be a hose running up to the vent assembly. I'm not familiar with that bike but on my BMW or my old Triumph which are both fuel injected. They internally had a hose and vent that exited the tank. So poking a stiff wire might do more damage.

If you have a flat fuel cap open it up and look for a water drain hole around the perimeter. This has to drain somewhere and on both the above mentioned scoots the hose went through the tank.

Pics are of my 94 R1100RS as well as other BMW's
    The second pic, lower left corner is the vent. the hose from it runs down to the fuel pump plate and then exits.
    Think before you shove anything in a hose, it could lead to a massive fuel leak
    Hope this helps

plate.jpg download.png
  3. usgser

usgser Long timer

Oddometer: