G650X Challenge Rebuild or Parts

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Mondloch, Aug 1, 2019.

1. Mondloch

Mondloch n00b

Oddometer:
    Hey fellow inmates. Just finished an epic ride of the IDBDR with my idiot friends, on the final day, my 07 X Challenge wouldn’t start when trying to leave our final camp spot. It had been very cold the previous night and the bike has always been slower to cold start. Tried bumping it, tried jumping it. Long story short, we ended up strap towing the bike 50+ miles to Arco, ID where the great guys at Lost River Honda started tearing her down to diagnose the problem.

We got past the battery, fuel pump, starter and a host of other items. The plugs weren’t fouled but had a lot of carbon on them. A peek down at the cylinder wall and piston revealed a ton of carbon build up, massive scoring and at that point the tech asked if I wanted to continue. I’m no mechanic but he said we’d probably be looking at a rebuild. The thought is that an aftermarket map installed by the previous owner caused serious inefficiencies in fuel burn.

I’ve rebuilt a cb750 motor, from splitting the cases up.

The question would be is it worth it to dig in on this given resources, parts availability, this forums knowledge to try to get her back up or should I part her out.

The bike aesthetically is in fantastic shape, it has the touratech tank, a rally fairing, perfect wheels. The thing only has 10,000 miles for the love of god.

Contemplating what to do as I sit in the Salt Lake City airport about to fly home to Houston with a broken bike in storage in Idaho.

Any thoughts?

Attached Files:

2. Boricua

Boricua Long timer

Oddometer:
    NADA avg retail value put that bike at $3,240. If that's of any value to make a call about what to do.
  3. HunSolo

HunSolo Mad Monk Supporter

Oddometer:
    That looks like a really nicely equipped X Challenge. Rebuilding should be mostly a top end job at 10k miles and you'd be all set up for the COBDR next year.