Galileo (guru gps) App

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by mosey.levy, May 13, 2018.

  1. mosey.levy

    mosey.levy Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,419
    Location:
    NYC
    Not sure how android works but with iOS yes. Assuming android is the same.

    You can even sync the data to the cloud so each device is the same.
    #41
    i4bikes likes this.
  2. i4bikes

    i4bikes Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Oddometer:
    612
    One more question, what version are you using?
    #42
  3. 919nick

    919nick Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Oddometer:
    243
    Location:
    Reidsville, NC
    Yes. I've got it on two Android devices and syncing between them.

    Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
    #43
  4. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    904
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    ^^ Just installed on another phone for back up. All tracks, etc. synced in. Had to download maps.
    #44
    ohgood and i4bikes like this.
  5. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    864
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    A couple things to double-check, just in case you haven't tried:
    1. Turn the iPhone's display brightness up to "full".
    2. Experiment with the different color options when you select your Track or Route.
    #45
  6. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I’m running on an iPad mini, soon to be a Samsung Tab Active2, but yes, screen is full bright, and I’ve played with the track colors.
    #46
  7. mosey.levy

    mosey.levy Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,419
    Location:
    NYC
    And text size!
    I found Galileo to be less refined on the android side. Small details.
    #47
  8. mosey.levy

    mosey.levy Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,419
    Location:
    NYC
    Curious to hear how that works for you. Post photos of it mounted and let us know how it compares to iOS.
    #48
  9. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    From a usage standpoint, I'll probably prefer the ipad. Where the Tab Active2 excels is that that it's mil spec rated. Dustproof, waterproof (30 minutes at 5'), shock proof, takes extreme temperatures (so no shutting down in the sun like the ipad), glove friendly screen mode, so just a much better piece of kit for an adventure bike. The screen is shitty resolution though, only 1280x800. I'll report back once i have it in hand, which should be by Friday. RAM mount is slo to ship, so I probably won't get the parts to mount it on the bike until next week though.
    #49
  10. Tabbi

    Tabbi Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Oddometer:
    47
    Location:
    Germany
    Question about creating a route.
    Has anyone succeed creating a route between points on a map, where none of them is your current location?

    I live in Germany and want a route between two points in Norway. No luck. My current location is always my starting point?
    That's not like a real planning tool. Ok if you route to a specific point nothing more, can´t plan a route in other areas.

    Any hints, tipps, solutions?

    Thank you
    #50
  11. PineLaneRider

    PineLaneRider Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Oddometer:
    904
    Location:
    Between Michaux and Tuscarora State Forests
    ^^ What he asked.
    #51
  12. mosey.levy

    mosey.levy Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,419
    Location:
    NYC
    Ram makes lockable mounts for that i think. A bit pricey.
    #52
  13. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    864
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Not sure that is possible within the Galileo app, but would be curious to see if so.
    #53
  14. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Yes, but it’s huge, heavy, cumbersome, and the lock lever would hang down over the gauges.
    #54
  15. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Currently, I believe you would have to do this in another app, or on a computer and create a gpx file to then import into Galileo.

    Would be nice if they supported this in the app. Not that difficult to allow you to select the start and finish.
    #55
  16. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    Sooo, today was the first ride with my new Samsung Tab Active2 running Galileo. The app crashed 6 times on 110 mile ride. This is obviously far from acceptable. Are any of you folks running the android version running into stability issues like this?

    I had done the Google sync thing, that’s a beta feature, so I’ve stopped the Google sync to see if that’s the issue.

    Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated.
    #56
  17. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    864
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Zero experience with the android version, but it's never crashed on my iPhone5s.
    #57
  18. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,292
    Location:
    alabama

    email the developer. they're usually really good at squashing bids for you
    #58
  19. GCecchetto

    GCecchetto Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,942
    Location:
    Woodside CA
    I did, no response yet.
    #59
    ohgood likes this.
  20. mosey.levy

    mosey.levy Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,419
    Location:
    NYC
    iPhone plus or X works really well in that spot.
    #60