Garmin 78 - still a good candidate for an off road GPS?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by dieselcruiserhead, Apr 22, 2013.

  1. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    He said "You should be aware that maps are not transparent, and there's a hierarchy which determines which map is on top, hiding details of other maps". Again the maps are not transparent, you only see the map on top and he then gave the Hierarchy list (been looking for that, thanks).

    Only map on top shows, there is no reason to have any other maps turned on. It slows drawing for it to draw one map then over draw the next map. I could see this in old 76.

    Assume you mean Off Highway, there are not roads when off road. Amost all dirt riders do not ride with Topo on, too many lines (more do with big screen montana than hand helds). City Nav works for most good roads, if you want single tracks in USFS, try finding old copy of Roads & Rec, it has a lot of trails from 80s.
  2. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    Emmbeedee,

    I have now been thru my new 78 documenting setup etc for my web site.

    So far I have found a short list of 76 features that are missing or more difficult on the 78. I have found only two new features plus giant increase in Saved Track memory space. The auto Time Zone is new, and Recording but not show active Log is new (76 does have "Transpairant").

    I have done nothing with Routing because Dual Sport events do not use Routing and I do most of my Routing with my Nuvi in car/motorhome. I will try routing with 78. Oops, the damn thing does not have autoroute base map, the 76 does.

    I know you have found many features in the 78 that you like better, could you give me a list so I can make sure I have not missed anything?

    Jerry
  3. adventurerideraus

    adventurerideraus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks for the feedback guys,

    You have confirmed what I read about the difference between topo and city navigator in that topo is not the best map to use for offroad riding (off highway). I thought topo would give me the best level of details but that's not correct as the topo shows walking trails many times for hikers. I have City Navigator on order so hopefully that will enable me to see all gravel roads and forest tracks that we drive on.

    Will leave the Basemap enabled but disable all other maps except the one I want to view.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to help me, very much appreciated.:clap
  4. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    Yes it will. Gravel roads are highways (street legal vehicles only). In forest called Level III roads. You should be happy. Keep your eye open for a copy of Roads & Rec, it will show you more roads and trails.
  5. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Is there a Roads and Rec for Australia?
  6. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Hey Jerry, have you used the 78 yet? I mean loaded maps and really tried it out?

    I actually have a 62S, not a 78. It's quite similar except it has the Barometric Altimeter/Compass and Wireless Transfer to like units, and I like those features a lot.

    The 78 is the base model and has no wireless transfer or Barometric Altimeter. But its map abilities, profiles, track archiving/unarchiving/trackback abilities are miles ahead of the 60/76. It connects to the birds faster than the legacy models, and the fact that the 78 has the four pin Garmin power connector is certainly a good thing.
  7. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    You might also want to look into the 78S and SC models as well. They are a little more expensive than the base 78, but they have Wireless Transfer and the ability to use the Garmin Tempe to read and store temperature info in with your track information. At under $30, it's a useful thing to have around. The base 78 might also work with the Tempe but I have not been able to determine that.

    The 78SC has coastal maps included.
  8. 250senuf

    250senuf Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,530
    Location:
    Nelson area, Kootenai, BC, Canada
    Not according to Garmin's list of features and benefits:


    "Camera: no
    Photo navigation (navigate to geotagged photos): Yes "


    The "C" indicates it has charts preloaded.
  9. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    You're right. Coastal charts. I keep forgetting Garmin made the 62SC and 78SC different. The 62SC has the camera.
  10. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    Yes, just got back form Autoroute test and the damn thing doesn't even have Autoroute map like 76.

    You did not see:
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?p=21603991&postcount=102
  11. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    I did see that and listed a couple of the features, and you just quoted them back to me.

    Also, you said you don't do routes but don't dismiss the ability to navigate tracks on the 62/78. You can select 'Find/Tracks' and keep a track on the screen to show you the way. It won't give you warning of approaching turns but it is still very handy.
  12. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    I never use routes on bike only in car/motorhome. 76 has one feature much better than Nuvi. It gives you a roll chart of way points with 2 data items that are settable. I use ETA and miles to destination. I have routes on highways I travel all the time and I see exactly when I will pass thru each town to decide where to eat or buy gas. I was very anxious to see what 78 does but it doesn't do any thing. So far I only see one use for 78. That is scouting outings with 200 possible tracks all loaded. Also I got job to GPS record all designated BLM routes for a non-profit selling maps. With my 76, very hard to know what I had already recorded (I used Way points at ends). With any new generation you can load up to 200 ones you have done and it is very obvious when you get to one that is not recorded.

    Of the many hundreds of Dual Sport riders I know, none ever use trackback. No one has ever demonstrated any advantage except smaller screen.
  13. HogWild

    HogWild Scott Whitney

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Oddometer:
    3,973
    Location:
    USA
    And that can be done with a 76cx using the ACTIVE LOG approach, or event better, the GPX2IMG approach of making a map out of all those tracks, which is what I do.
  14. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    Scott, Yes but 78 does it much much better.

    With active log you can not set colors. With GPS@IMG same thing, you can not turn on/off or change color of a route out in the field.

    Between Saved Tracks showing and Saved Tracks in Archive, it holds virtually unlimited number of tracks.
  15. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    The 62/78 give you a screen much like your "roll chart of waypoints" minus the two data fields. It's called "Active Route". And I bet your Nuvi has a similar feature. While navigating with my Nuvi 780, the top line lists the next waypoint and touching that line brings up the list of active route waypoints.

    Check the Dashboards available for your 78's map screen if you want a Nuvi type display or Data fields. You can choose to have 0, 1 large, 2 small or 4 small data fields, or the Automotive Dashboard. Or if you use "Custom", you can choose a setup which is different while navigating than it is while not navigating. Dashboards are also available on other screens as well, like the compass screen.
  16. adventurerideraus

    adventurerideraus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Emmbeedee, need your help.

    Earlier in the thread we discussed the possible reasons for why I couldn't see the dirt road we were travelling the other day. I have now turned the auto zoom off like you suggested.

    I had three maps enabled. 1) Basemap 2) TOPO 3) Digital Globe (came with the gps). I have now disabled Digital Globe but left the other two enabled like you suggested.

    Have now created myself a new profile like suggested.

    What I don't understand is why can I see that road in Basecamp using the same maps? I've got my 78 plugged in and viewing the track we did and I can clearly see that road?? Do you know why that is?

    Do I need to go into the advanced map set up on the device and change things like;
    Zoom Levels, Text Size, Detail to be able to see dirt roads?
  17. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    So you turned off auto-zoom, but what range is the gps at when you look for the road? Often you need to be in at the 1.2km range to see the smallest roads.

    Also, you really only have one map. The Basemap has DEM, Digital Elevation Model information but not much in the way of roads, and Digital Globe would be samples of BirdsEye maps, and likely not even for your area.

    Go to Setup/Maps and set detail to Most.

    Have you tried Shonky Maps?
  18. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    Glad to know that my new $200 78 will do a Route roll chart but unlike the 76, it will not display any data items for a waypoint if it would Route which also it will not even do.

    I have a 350 or 450 Nuvi and it does not do it that way, you can only see one waypoint at a time, this is why I have old 76 in car and motorhome to see the roll chart.

    If you read my set up recomendations #62 above http://www.advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?p=21546350&postcount=62 I only use three pages; Map, Tracks, & Trip. With these three pages you can get all the data you need while riding. I always want a full map screen, never activate data items.
  19. adventurerideraus

    adventurerideraus Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Oddometer:
    21
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I tried to zoom in as much as I could, kept pushing the + button but no road.

    Hopefully with these last changes next time I will see the roads.

    Haven't tried Shonky Maps yet. Will try City Navigator first when I get it.

    As I can see that road in Basecamp doesn't that mean that there is nothing wrong with the actual map? Must be a setting or something in the gps and with these latest changes fingers crossed!

    Cheers
  20. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,400
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    You're sure the segment of the map that you can see in Basecamp also exists on the gps? The maps are transferred to the gps?