Garmin announces the new GPSMAP 276Cx

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by mattebox, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. Max Kool

    Max Kool Xtankteam™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,948
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It does
  2. Garry H

    Garry H Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    262
    Yep that's the good thing about this mounting
    I can fit the 276cx, Montana, monterra, or my smart phone all on the same mount depending on what i am doing
    I have all 4 to play with
    ohgood likes this.
  3. Yellow Pig

    Yellow Pig Allergic to asphalt! Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    9,328
    Location:
    SoCal -T.O.
    I'm having 2 issues with my 276 and wonder if anyone has any suggestions:

    1- My elevation is way off. When I go to the satellites in view page the elevation is spot on, but when I toggle back to the map page where I have elevation displayed in one of the corners, the elevation is way off and does not match the elevation in the satellite screen.

    2- Routing is way off. Example: I'm 55 miles away from my destination on a 50mph road and it gives me an ETA @ destination of 3 hrs?!?!


    Any ideas? Thx
  4. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,536
    Location:
    Around Denver
    Do you have it on bicycle mode?
    Yellow Pig and Max Kool like this.
  5. Yellow Pig

    Yellow Pig Allergic to asphalt! Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    9,328
    Location:
    SoCal -T.O.
    No, it's in Motorcycle mode.
  6. Yellow Pig

    Yellow Pig Allergic to asphalt! Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    9,328
    Location:
    SoCal -T.O.
    Correct altitude:

    20191008_144241.jpg

    Altitude displayed in map mode for the same location:

    20191008_144250.jpg


    20191008_144232.jpg
  7. Max Kool

    Max Kool Xtankteam™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,948
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Hey, my unit was just like that. Does yours also flatline at a certain altitude for the rest of the track (go to elevation screen).
  8. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,973
    Location:
    alabama

    your GPS accuracy is way way off. might be time to do a cold boot to try and retrieve fresh constellation data.

    i just checked, the Osm data for that location says it's 1253ft. i bet you have bad cache causing accuracy creep and elevation weirdness
  9. 250senuf

    250senuf Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,899
    Location:
    Nelson area, Kootenai, BC, Canada
    Is there the option to "calibrate altimeter"? Elevation screen, Menu, Calibrate Altimeter
  10. Yellow Pig

    Yellow Pig Allergic to asphalt! Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    9,328
    Location:
    SoCal -T.O.
    Calibration was done.

    The GPS is reading the correct elevation, it's just not relaying that info to the Map & Trip Screen. This is what's confusing me.

    I have disabled the elevation page so I have not noticed a flat line.
  11. Max Kool

    Max Kool Xtankteam™

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,948
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Uhh, enable it again and look at it?

    A cold boot? That doesn't help, "fresh constellation data" is received constantly... Btw, what's wrong with a 24ft accuracy? Totally acceptable imho. Especially if the pic was taken inside.
    Leave the unit outside with no surrounding trees and it will get better I think.

    (heck, we don't even know if Egnos if on or off, and if WAAS is being used)
    khpossum likes this.
  12. kendoo

    kendoo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    291
    Location:
    Wallkill, NY
    How do you use your phone on this mount?
  13. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,973
    Location:
    alabama
    when i see 7m-30m accuracy reported on my devices, i know it's time to clear the a-gps data, and shortly afterwords it's back to 3-4m like it should be.

    i have no idea what "normal" accuracy is for the 276, i never saw closer than 20m
  14. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,861
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    Anyone suppose Garmin will do a full revamp of this device in the near future? Is that in the works at all?
  15. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,973
    Location:
    alabama
    lol they were supposed to do that when they went from 276 to 276 cx ! I'm guessing another twenty years ?
    CLANTECH and Max Kool like this.
  16. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,861
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    It would be interesting to be in some of Garmin's meetings to listen to their vision for the 276cx moving forward. I kinda hope they pop in to forums like this once in a while to get a feel for what works and what doesn't.
    ohgood likes this.
  17. khpossum

    khpossum poster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    793
    Location:
    Colorado
    I send them many emails with reports of problems or things they could easily improve. So far I have not seen any signs of Garmin paying attention to anything users report back to them.
  18. TrailTrauma

    TrailTrauma Nemophilist

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Oddometer:
    5,861
    Location:
    Ontario .. Superior
    Perhaps something is in the works in terms of a major overhaul, or it could mean time is being spent elsewhere on the R&D of another product to replace the 276cx. Hard to tell. Maybe some insider could shed some light.
  19. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,973
    Location:
    alabama
    when i saw they put all the buttons on the wrong side again... i kind of figured it was a warmed over refresh instead of a full rebuild with blistering specs. i was right :-(
  20. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,164
    Location:
    +47.839921, -120.019112
    Just because the Moto community was looking for the "new" 276Cx, doesn't mean we were the only community looking for it and we are not the largest. Please recall that the original GPSmap 276 'family' wasn't targeted for Motorcycles at all. It was developed for Marine and Private Aviation. The on-road routing features only came later as those communities requested road navigation be added. Yes, the Moto community adopted the 276 family but we were never the largest user community of those products.

    So, having the buttons on the right side of the display should tell you that we are still not the largest market for this device even though it was a Garmin "rider" who lobbied for it. Unfortunately the Garmin 'bean-counters' opted for an vastly under powered CPU. My personal view is that there will be no "follow-on" to the GPSmap 276Cx.
    chris_sav and khpossum like this.