Garmin announces the new GPSMAP 276Cx

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by mattebox, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Sorry, that's not a function. I just meant, you can set the zoom with the buttons "In" and "Out". For me, if it's lower than 120m zoom, it starts to be slow.
  2. Pixturethis

    Pixturethis Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Oddometer:
    310
    Ok. Thanks. Thought it was me.
  3. vfrgreg

    vfrgreg Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    876
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I’m from the previous generation GPSMAP users. In those older devices, they would tell the name of upcoming side roads in the Guidance Txt bar at the top of the screen. I can’t figure out how to get the 276CX to show upcoming side roads. Has anyone figured this out?
  4. khpossum

    khpossum poster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    839
    Location:
    Colorado
    Go back a handfull of posts for the same issue and responses
    bmwroadsterca likes this.
  5. vfrgreg

    vfrgreg Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    876
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Thanks
  6. Pixturethis

    Pixturethis Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2016
    Oddometer:
    310
    The short answer is no. At least not like the Montana or Oregon do wish it did though.
  7. Turts

    Turts Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    How do I load a map on to the internal memory?
    I run back country maps on the sd card and now I want routable maps. Like city navigator.
    Can I just purchase city navigator as a download and load in to my device?
  8. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    If you really want it on your internal storage, you have to buy a download version.
    The SD card version is cheaper, but you can't install that on your internal storage.

    The CN download version can be installed through Garmin Express directly on your internal storage of the 276Cx.
    But you will probably have to remove the preinstalled recreational map (I don't know, if USA has that. In Europe it is) otherwise not enough free memory on internal storage.
  9. Turts

    Turts Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    I already run a map set on the card.
    So if I understand correctly, I’m order to run two maps, I would have to swap out cards if I wanted to run navigator?
  10. aviator

    aviator R1200GS,F650GS,DR350

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, nearby duesseldorf
    My recommandation is to install all maps on SD card. CN map as downloadable version. You can name your maps to identify them.
    Sorry for the bad picture quality. 20200626_084405.jpg
  11. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Yes, if you buy a garmin map von sd card, you have to swap.
  12. aviator

    aviator R1200GS,F650GS,DR350

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, nearby duesseldorf
    One hint: If you choose downloadable CN, the map will be married with your device and cant't be used anywhere else. The CN bought on Garmin SD can be used in any compatible Garmin Device.
  13. Turts

    Turts Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    What if I bought a new empty SD card large enough to put my backroads mapset AND CN on one card?
    Can maps be copied from the original SD card on to another card?
  14. Berin

    Berin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    561
    Location:
    Oxford
    no, is short answer. The map is locked to the card.
  15. aviator

    aviator R1200GS,F650GS,DR350

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    32
    Location:
    Germany, nearby duesseldorf
    That's right in case you buy the Garmin SD, otherwise CN is locked to the device and you can install it to a large SD containing different maps.
  16. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    There just one thing: The sd card must be max 32GB, since Garmin Express rejects bigger sd cards for installation of download maps. This is a nonsense restriction by garmin, since the 276Cx and even Garmin Express recognise just fine bigger sd cards.
    aviator likes this.
  17. Turts

    Turts Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Oddometer:
    38
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    Thanks guys.
    This is an enough for me to give up on the 276.
    Never was satisfied with its performance anyways.
  18. carvalhito

    carvalhito n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Oddometer:
    5
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi folks,
    I'm new to this forum but want to share with you my thoughts about the slowliness of this unit.

    I made some tests and i think the slowliness is part of the sd card. Not card speed related but presence of any sd card.

    In my unit (FW 4.80), I have only 2 maps in main memory: CN Iberia 2020.20NT and CN MENA 2019.10NT
    I have 2 sd cards (formated with FAT32) both with 17 other maps: Sandisk Extreme 32Gb and Sandisk Ultra 16Gb.
    Then I search for a specific hotel in the south of Portugal, 350km away from my current location and the time needed to show the hotel to navigate are:
    a) without any sd card: 23 seconds
    b) with Sandisk Extreme: 4 minutes & 18 seconds
    c) with Sandisk Ultra: 4 minutes & 28 seconds

    So, I think there is some kind of a problem related with the presence of a sd card.

    Any one experienced the same issue?
  19. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    So with slowness you mean the time to get a route calculated from A->B?
    Did you got the same slowness with an empty sd card?

    AFAIK, more installed maps means more time to find something during search.
  20. carvalhito

    carvalhito n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Oddometer:
    5
    Location:
    Portugal
    Slowliness it's the time to search and find for a specific POI, in this case, a hotel. Not navigate to it!!
    I have 17 more maps on sd card but none are checked, just only the CN Iberia. So, in theory, the unit doesn't need to search that POI in another map because only 1 are selected.
    I didn't made any test with an empty card. It's useless because if I have a card, it's for store maps...