Garmin announces the new GPSMAP 276Cx

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by mattebox, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    At least my experience was, that with multiple osm maps, the search got much slower, since it searching through all available maps, not only selected.
  2. carvalhito

    carvalhito n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Oddometer:
    5
    Location:
    Portugal
    That's the problem. Why search on a map if it's not active?
  3. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    I don't know. But I reported that to garmin support. The last information was, that the forwarded that to the developers for evaluation of my inquery.
    I can only recommend to report such issue (and any other wish/issue!) to garmin support, since it may be possible, if enough poeple complain, that garmin will change it.
    -> https://support.garmin.com/
  4. Superboar

    Superboar SuperBoar

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    158
    Location:
    Garcon Point
    re:Recording a track and then displaying it on the map page
    This requires an inordinate amount of button pushing. After riding a while, I want to record the current track then display it on the map screen, so then I have to:
    hit MENU
    hit MENU
    arrow to TRACK
    arrow to ACTIVE
    arrow to SAVE
    enter SAVE
    arrow to DONE
    enter DONE
    arrow to FIT
    arrow to just saved track
    enter
    hit MENU
    arrow to SAVE AS TRACK
    hit enter
    hit enter
    hit enter
    arrow to GPX
    arrow to just exported track
    hit enter
    MENU
    arrow to SHOW ON MAP
    hit enter
    hit page

    Really? Is there not some faster way to do this?
  5. carvalhito

    carvalhito n00b

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2020
    Oddometer:
    5
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'll do that!. Thanks
  6. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Nope, that should be indeed the fastest way.
    Report to garmin for a wish :-)
  7. khpossum

    khpossum poster

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    839
    Location:
    Colorado
    I reported the same a couple of years ago. Still waiting...........
  8. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    After I wrote some weeks ago regarding the bluetooth fix status about the current state of the new upcoming firmware, Garmin replied today to me.
    The new firmware is supposed to be released in the next weeks (instead of just saying, a fix will be in future available).

    Eltjo and Turts like this.
  9. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Did you heard any news?
  10. Berin

    Berin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Oddometer:
    561
    Location:
    Oxford
    Proximity alerts - anyone know how this works?

    I downloaded the usual speed camera database (Pocket GPS world, that I use on all my Garmin's). I loaded them into the 276 with POI loader. They are there, on Points, under Extra's. How do I activate the alert? In the Proximity tab in Points, I've set alarm to "on" but they don't seem to alert.

    Any clues?
  11. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    It just do work fine for me. Just set the proximity radius (meter) for the specific POI, when uploading via POI Loader. That should do the trick.
    At least thats here enough to trigger the proximity alert.
  12. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Firmware 5.10 just released!

    Changelog:
    • Fixed possible issue when disconnecting from a Bluetooth audio device.
    • Fixed possible issue when using waypoint categories.
    • Fixed possible unit shutdown when searching near current route.
    • Fixed possible unit shutdown in address search
    khpossum and Eltjo like this.
  13. bmwroadsterca

    bmwroadsterca RadioFlyer

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,043
    Location:
    Lanark County near Ottawa ON
    I hope this means they fixed the issue identified in post #2407.
  14. Sattphalat

    Sattphalat Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Oddometer:
    17
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Suddenly one rainy day the screen look like this.... IMG_1013.JPG
  15. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    I alread noticed, that Garmin removed a feature..
    Press "Find", choose "Address", press "Enter. If you now press "Menu", you have with 4.80 the ability to choose a map. With 5.10, this feature seems to be gone.. This only affects menu "Address". Other menus are fine and allow to choose a map.

    I really hope not, that this is the solution to fix the device shutdown by removing this function..
    khpossum likes this.
  16. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    I can confirm. Its fixed. I tested now in Demo mode, since this was previously also not working.
    After the turn by turn message is finished, the bluetooth channel is free and music play continues.
    Eltjo and bmwroadsterca like this.
  17. bEnt_bars

    bEnt_bars Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Oddometer:
    144
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I had something similar though it was the screen protector itself..., can't tell if you have one on or not?

    I thought that the cause was maybe gas spraying on to it while filling up one time but not sure

    Regardless, just replaced with a new protector and all is good
    CLANTECH likes this.
  18. CLANTECH

    CLANTECH At work...

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Oddometer:
    65
    Location:
    Somewhere on the Globe
    Had the same with my screen protector. Just replaced it.

    Greets
  19. Eltjo

    Eltjo Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Oddometer:
    47
    Location:
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Yes, great :-) And it also reconnect with the bluetooth headset after it lost connection, for example if you walk inside a gas station with your helmet on.
    bmwroadsterca and ConiKost like this.
  20. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Great! With 4.80, this was just gambling. It could work, but also often didn't work.
    carvalhito likes this.