1. eNewsletter Sign Up

Garmin base maps for Mexico?

Discussion in 'GPS Tracks - Mexico, Central & South America' started by LarryB, Dec 15, 2004.

  1. LarryB

    LarryB Baja GPS Maps, LBMaps.com

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Oddometer:
    73
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA & Los Barriles, Baja Sur
    Anyone here have these maps? Are they any good? These are the only ones I can find. www.gps4baja.com
    #1
  2. CraigTransalp

    CraigTransalp Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Oddometer:
    137
    I've been surfing this topic too and found this site: http://www.maptown.com/mexicotopo.html
    The advantage is topo data, the disadvantage is their CD-ROM file "MapSouce" compatible? I'll find out soon and let you know.
    Craig
    #2
  3. LarryB

    LarryB Baja GPS Maps, LBMaps.com

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Oddometer:
    73
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA & Los Barriles, Baja Sur
    Nope! Same thing as I've been finding.
    "Digital Format: .TIFF and .TFW (calibration)" needs a PC

    Must be a vector type file .IMG to be loaded with MapSource to a GPS.
    #3
  4. CMWoody

    CMWoody Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,248
    Location:
    Hooterville, NC
    #4
  5. dtop1

    dtop1 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,305
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I think the Bicimaps and gps4baja are the same maps. The bicimaps are pretty good but they can be dificult to load and they are the only mapset you can have on the newer Garmins such as the 60 and 76 series. Loading the maps erases everything else. So, if you want to use your GPS while riding to or from the Mexican border, you're out of luck.
    Also you need to load them using a serial cable, they won't load using the USB cable. And you can't load them with the Mapsource program.
    I recently bought and loaded the Mexico and Central America portions of Garmin's Worldmap and found it to be OK so far. Certainly better than the basemap. Dan
    #5
  6. TheTraveler

    TheTraveler n00b

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    6
    Me and a buddy plan to ride this comminig Feb. '05 from Southern California to Argentina. Anyone want to join us? Anyone whos done it have any must see [​IMG] or avoid [​IMG] suggestions?

    The Traveler
    #6
  7. gaspipe

    gaspipe Wandering Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Oddometer:
    11,437
    Location:
    Pickwick Lake, Tennessippi
    Did you finally get that to u/l into a 60 series?

    I had a helluva time even getting it to work with my V until I went backwards to the older loading program (1.7). I haven't retried to load it up into the 60C since.

    The bicimapas stuff is good to have, but there are FAR, FAR more roads out there (not to mention trails) then even they have mapped.

    A new frontier.


    #7
  8. LarryB

    LarryB Baja GPS Maps, LBMaps.com

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Oddometer:
    73
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA & Los Barriles, Baja Sur
    I just checked the www.gps4baja.com sight again and it says:
    <BIG>Loads with MapSource</BIG>™<BIG> just like the maps from Garmin.</BIG>
    <BIG></BIG>
    <BIG>It also shows a screenshot of MapSource. I wonder if this means it will load with USB. </BIG>
    <BIG></BIG>
    <BIG>I Dropped them an email asking. I'll post their response.</BIG>
    #8
  9. gaspipe

    gaspipe Wandering Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Oddometer:
    11,437
    Location:
    Pickwick Lake, Tennessippi
    Rumor has it the new Bicimapas maps are only MapSource loadable, too.

    Us poor clots that bought the older versions are relegated to antiquity. :cry



    #9
  10. dtop1

    dtop1 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,305
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Gaspipe: Got them to load into my 76CS using the 1.7 version. Didn't try loading them into a 60 but assume they will load because the 60 and 76 are essentially the same. Dan
    #10
  11. gaspipe

    gaspipe Wandering Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Oddometer:
    11,437
    Location:
    Pickwick Lake, Tennessippi
    :thumb

    Thanks. I'll try again with 1.7 and the serial cable. 2.0 is a dead stick.

    #11
  12. dtop1

    dtop1 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,305
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Diesel: The Baja map from gps4baja might load using Mapsource. It is Zone 1 of the Bicimaps but supposedly Bicimaps will now also send an executable program that will allow it to be loaded using Mapsource. If anyone can get it to work, please post your results. Dan
    #12
  13. LarryB

    LarryB Baja GPS Maps, LBMaps.com

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Oddometer:
    73
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA & Los Barriles, Baja Sur
    Try downloading and installing SendMap 2.0 again. It's been fixed as of a week or so ago and now works with USB.:thumb

    In fact here is the newest revision. Works great! http://gps.chrisb.org/download/sendmap20rev18.zip
    #13
  14. dtop1

    dtop1 Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,305
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Diesel: Have you found a way to also load the Garmin mapsets along with maps such as the Bicimaps so that you have, for example, the US maps plus the MX maps? Dan
    #14
  15. LarryB

    LarryB Baja GPS Maps, LBMaps.com

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Oddometer:
    73
    Location:
    Gig Harbor WA & Los Barriles, Baja Sur
    Yes, but it's not very easy yet. It involves Windows registry changes so that Mapsource can "see" the 3rd party maps. Then you use mapsourse to load any combination as usual. I'm working on a batch .exe file that will make the changes. Maybe have it done over the holidays.
    #15