Garmin down due to Ramsomware attack

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Ohio_Danimal, Jul 23, 2020.

  1. Ohio_Danimal

    Ohio_Danimal If I die trying, at least I tried Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,289
    Location:
    Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio (The Crooked River)
    #1
  2. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,722
    Location:
    NH
    Well, that's not good. Looks like it's taken out the explore.garmin.com as well. Wonder how the inreach services are affected.
    #2
  3. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,992
    Location:
    alabama
    that would probably be the more lucrative side to attack...

    anyone care to test their inreach ?
    #3
  4. 250senuf

    250senuf Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,906
    Location:
    Nelson area, Kootenai, BC, Canada
    Sent myself a text just now. A little slow to get out but once inReach chirped that message had sent my phone alerted right away. Testing reply now.
    #4
    ohgood likes this.
  5. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,857
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    Same with 66i. Sending from the 66i works but reply from wife's phone doesn't go through.
    Status on web site: Partial System Outage

    Edit: 2 test replies finally got through, about 1 hour later.

    :ricky
    #5
    ohgood likes this.
  6. bunker

    bunker welltheresyerproblem

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Oddometer:
    639
    Location:
    Gowanus, Brooklyn, NY
    of course this happens now LOL. I'm about to go on the first ride in 2 years when I need the inReach and I can't edit my subscription

    I wonder how long it will take?
    #6
  7. sanjoh

    sanjoh Purveyor of Light

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Oddometer:
    8,777
    Location:
    ADVmonster, CFL, WNC
    Couldn't of happened to a better company. They've been holding several of my gps's hostage for years.
    #7
    Albie, Exurban, Reddog* and 3 others like this.
  8. kwthom

    kwthom NOT CV-19 infected! >:0

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,474
    Location:
    Jaynes Station, AZ
    From what I read, they're thinking days.
    #8
  9. spangle

    spangle Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2020
    Oddometer:
    51
    Location:
    London/Cheshire
    I was unable to load a route from MRA to my XT via Garmin Drive earlier. Is this the cause?
    #9
  10. Ohio_Danimal

    Ohio_Danimal If I die trying, at least I tried Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,289
    Location:
    Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio (The Crooked River)
    #10
  11. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,992
    Location:
    alabama
    everyone told my my cheap Android phone was a huge security risk.

    hmmmmm
    #11
  12. Addapost

    Addapost Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Oddometer:
    534
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    My inReach mini seems to be working fine. It is sending and receiving texts as normal and the device "Test" works normal.
    #12
  13. Gerg

    Gerg The Destroyer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    Oddometer:
    13,211
    Location:
    Left Coast
    We're small potatoes. Their Avionic business is down, that's HUGE! No filing a flight plan with your very expensive Garmin Glass.

    Gotta remember, the InReach stuff was all Delorme until Garmin bought them out. That infrastructure is probably homed somewhere else.
    #13
    kraven likes this.
  14. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,179
    Location:
    +47.839921, -120.019112
    As of this post...

    D80E8C99-5E29-4856-9351-ACB6C950F07A.jpeg
    #14
    Fosters likes this.
  15. AlH

    AlH Long timer

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Oddometer:
    3,700
    Location:
    SC/NC
    I get the InReach emails announcing when they have issues- way too frequently I might add.
    I've often wondered what their problem is- why so many outages?
    Is it their equipment? Their people? Something has been wrong at Garmin for a long time.
    The explore maps for InReach absolutely suck- my tracks are often corrupted by the 10minute dots being overlayed on the 5 second tracking dots I run*- for 2 years they told me this was normal. It was not normal. Hint- it didn't do this when Delorme owned the InReach rights.
    Then they "fixed" it - partially- still isn't right. Still sometimes does it- often in the middle of a longer track.
    Now this hacked issue?
    Hmmm....they really need to step up their game.

    *example shown below- one continuous track. Start was heading north to Grand Junction then looping around back to where we started - 5.5 hour track.
    Notice near Reeder Mesa it suddenly started working right.

    garmin10min2sec example.JPG

    Point is this malfunction started after Garmin took over.
    #15
  16. 51%

    51% ReadyToRide

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Oddometer:
    540
    Location:
    Somewhere in North America. Probably.
    I just checked in this thread to see if the InReach messaging system was down, glad to see that survived the attack. My unit is on suspension so I can’t test for myself or take it off suspension until their systems are restored.

    My experience with Garmin over the long haul has been positive. It’s not perfect, but what technology ever is? Their road maps have fewer issues than other brands I’ve used, and I’ve had better than expected outcomes from sending damaged units for repairs, well out of warranty.
    #16
  17. jonz

    jonz Miles are my mantra Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Oddometer:
    5,500
    Location:
    CA dez (it's a dry heat)/West Yellowstone,MT
    My prior inReach Explorer + failed and wouldn't send satellite messages. It took a few tries to figure out the send command wasn't working and my wife was chastising me for not sending out location texts. Luckily it was under warranty and Garmin quickly replaced it. The very first time I took it out and tried the satellite send message was the day it was taken down by ransomware. As soon as I walked in the door, my wife (who was NOT amused) "look at your 'here i am' text." I forget the exact text but it was pretty dramatic. On the plus side, everything worked as designed a couple days later.
    #17
    Kinsman likes this.
  18. flybigjet

    flybigjet Remove Before Flight Supporter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,334
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Still down as of Monday-- I picked up in Inreach Mini this winter for rides and since I'm starting a ride from Denver to Tacoma tomorrow (four days, not a single interstate) I tried to Activate it so my wife could track me in the backcountry.

    No joy.

    Sigh.

    You'd think they could've reloaded their servers from a backup over the weekend.
    #18
  19. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    9,722
    Location:
    NH
    Going to guess they might not have had a backup available easily.
    #19
    flamingm0e likes this.
  20. flybigjet

    flybigjet Remove Before Flight Supporter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Oddometer:
    1,334
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Up and operational- in the nick of time!
    #20