1. eNewsletter Sign Up

Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx - As good for road use as "the others"?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by LasseNC, Mar 23, 2010.

1. LasseNC

LasseNC XSessive!

Oddometer:
    Hello

I am a GPS newbie. I have been searching for a gps for a little while and came across a Garmin Quest2, but unfortunately it was discontinued.

Today I then found the Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx, which looks like a hiking/marine GPS.

Is it still a viable option for motorcyclists? Now on the garmin site it says it comes with a map for America, but I am more interested in Europe. Does that exist?

Mounts available?
  2. Joerg

Joerg Long timer

Oddometer:
    Hi,
    Did you use the search function? I bet you will get hundreds of hits for that unit :evil

If you look for a "motorcycle-only" GPSr, there are better units available, but the 60/76 Cxx series are among the most versatile GPSr on the market - I use my 60CS for hiking, outdoor, motorcycling, car.

Then buy from a reseller in Europe. Or buy the USA version and use OSM (OpenStreetMap).

Of course. Personally I favor the unit from bikertech.de.

[​IMG]
  3. JMo (& piglet)

JMo (& piglet) Unicorn breeder

Oddometer:
    Joerg has pretty much said it all again x

But to add: I just bought a 60Cx recently to replace my GPSII+, and not least so that it can display map data. I like the compass display, and the programable data fields for information (altitude, long/lat location etc.)

It's true it can route along highways in the same way as a 'car' type unit can, find points of interest (fuel, hotels, banks etc), and that you can upload other maps (you can buy City Navigator Europe on a SD card or CD and upload it to the card in the GPS60). The 60 series is also waterproof, and has dedicated buttons which you can use in gloves - all good for motorcycle use.