Garmin Montana 700i

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by monkd, Jul 30, 2020.

  1. Fiddish

    Fiddish Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    13
    Just Red and Black to the battery will power the cradle. (I bundled up the headphone jack and serial wires in case I ever change my mind) If you plan on shortening the cable between Garmin's Voltage converter and the cradle, you'll need Red, Black and Grey wires reconnected.
    Hubilado, you used just the Red and Black wires to the cradle straight from your 5V converter, yes? (Not your converter output to the rugged mount input Red & Black)
    mbabc likes this.
  2. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,956
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    Customer comment on DC to DC converter: "Draws around 14-15 mA when there's no load."

    So one should have it on a switch (on the battery side) or you'll lose your battery.

    :ricky
    phreakingeek and empedrado like this.
  3. CavReconSGT

    CavReconSGT Just the right amount of evil. Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,638
    Location:
    CT/NH
    I have mine wired, like all my accessories, to my PDM60 which is programmable and turns all my accessories off after a minute or so of the bike being turned off.

    KR
    offtheback and ramz like this.
  4. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,956
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    conrado and mbabc like this.
  5. Exurban

    Exurban Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Oddometer:
    952
    Location:
    Wilmington, DE
    There are reports that some have theirs bricked by this update and waiting for a new update fix. For others it went ok. Update at your peril.
  6. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,956
    Location:
    Salida, CO
    Change made from version 5.30 to 6.30:

    • Added wifi icon flash on status page/status bar when wifi on but not connected.
    • Added custom patterned lines for other road types.
    • Added the ability to lock/unlock the configurable fields on the corner data fields dashboard.
    • Added a lock icon on confirmation pages to clarify auto-lock status.
    • Added configurable fields on the corners of the map page.
    • Added a "note" option for logging geocaches.
    • Added the ability for the measure distance function to start at any point.
    • Added Rain mode to Touch Sensitivity settings.
    • Improved map drawing times.
    • Improved filename time formats.
    • Improved inReach activation prompts.
    • Improved swiping on the status page.
    • Fixed issue with lock icon not showing up on secure wifi networks in night mode.
    • Fixed issue with shutdown when sorting photos by date in photo viewer.
    • Fixed issue with geocache proximity alarm causing slow start up times with .ggz files loaded.
    • Fixed issue with slow start up after deleting .ggz files.
    • Fixed issue with font on corner data fields dashboard in night mode.
    • Fixed issue with the widget page indicators occasionally blinking on the status page.
    • Fixed issue with text alignment for inReach messages.
    • Fixed issue with flashing on the photo viewer.
    • Fixed issue with potential shutdowns when navigating tracks.
    • Fixed overlapping icons on the map page with corner data fields dashboard.
    • Fixed issue with the wifi status not updating.
    • Fixed issue with "track up" and "north up" map orientations.
    • Fixed issue with manual route transitions.
    • Fixed issue with the tabs/status bar flashing on the geocache page.
    • Fixed issue with zoom levels on round trip routing pages.
    • Fixed issue with getting a false max number of photos exceeded message.
    • Fixed issue with Explore sync and map settings.
    • Fixed issue with CIQ apps and widgets in landscape orientation.
    • Fixed issue with auto-zoom on the weather map.
    • Fixed issue with copy-as-reversed fit activity stats.
    • Fixed issue with truncation of a data field on the trip computer page.
    • Fixed issue with mounting SD cards formatted on Mac computers.
    • Fixed possible shutdowns when using Birdseye imagery.
    • Fixed Express sync errors due to empty current activity file.
    • Fixed "off road" label for routes that were not off road.
    • Fixed issues with geocaches not showing up when attempting to program a chirp.
    • Fixed issues with truncated translations.
    • Fixed issue with overlapping text in the geocache info box.
    • Fixed issue with the "Go" button not appearing on some routes.
    • Fixed issue with geocache filters turning back on automatically.
    • Fixed a potential for a shutdown on the map page.
    • Fixed issue with adding via points.

    There may be additional unpublished changes included in this update.

    :ricky
  7. hubilado

    hubilado Motoquiero Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Oddometer:
    823
    Location:
    New Mexico
    Sorry, not exactly sure what you're asking, but I trimmed the wire to the GPS mount, added a quick connector and plugged it into a paired connector on the output from the voltage regulator using red/blk wires only.
  8. Fiddish

    Fiddish Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    13
    Yes, as I thought, thanks.
    mbabc had asked about chopping off the headphone jack and serial wires and just using the red (fused) and black wires that hook to the battery (then into Garmin’s voltage converter), as I understood it. NOT the red and black wires inside the cable from Garmin’s converter to the mount (cradle)
  9. mbabc

    mbabc Curmudgeon trainee

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,414
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I ended up just coiling up the excess data wires/audio cable and connecting the red and black to my fuse box.
    In looking at my old Montana 600 rugged mount, that's exactly what I did 8 years ago.
  10. krussell

    krussell Gravel Warrior Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,384
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Picked up a 700i with the hope of replacing a Zumo XT and a 66i with a single unit. I love the 700i, but ended up returning it and listing the powered mount in the flea market. I just can’t give up the XT display, the Montana doesn’t compare. I get that it’s a handheld and there are power concerns. I was just hoping it might be brighter when using the powered mount.

    I guess what I really want is a Zumo XTi as I’m happy with the XT, I just want integrated inreach.

    The 700 powered mount is a step back from the 600 too. Putting a small brick in the center of the cable makes it really hard to get a decent install without hacking up the cable. At least with the XT mount you can remove the cable and thread the mount end then reattach

    If the display and cable work for I was happy with everything else.
    CavReconSGT and hubilado like this.
  11. hubilado

    hubilado Motoquiero Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Oddometer:
    823
    Location:
    New Mexico

    It has been the same for me....although I haven't returned the unit. The display (brightness) has been the biggest disappointment. I can live with it, but it's clearly a step backward for Garmin. The external voltage step-down circuit was a surprise as I've not dealt with that on any of the other Garmin units I've had; it's a fairly easy workaround, but, nevertheless, a PIA and it seems Garmin wasn't thinking of the motorbike consumer when they OK'd this design.
  12. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    Does anyone has a good picture for brightness for 276Cx vs 700i? I am really thinking about replacing my 276Cx with an 700i. But that doesn't sound good :/
  13. hubilado

    hubilado Motoquiero Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Oddometer:
    823
    Location:
    New Mexico
    I don't have a picture of the two that is of decent quality, but I can ASSURE YOUT THAT THERE IS NO COMPARISON; the screen on the 276CX is MUCH BRIGHTER and can be seen in all lighting conditions MUCH BETTER than the 700. I cannot recommend exchanging the the 276CX with the 700.
  14. readonly24

    readonly24 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    472
    Location:
    In the dirt
    There's a thread in the Garmin Forums: Increase brightness in AMPS.
    STLR likes this.
  15. empedrado

    empedrado Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Oddometer:
    699
    Location:
    Central NM
    I posted a comparison picture earlier in this series. The 276cx is far and away my favorite for off road use. I also have the XT, which I use primarily for my big dual sport and when I am exploring also add the 276cx. The Montana is now a back up secondary gps and my inReach device. If you can't find it I can repost but have deleted the picture from my camera
  16. conrado

    conrado Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Oddometer:
    451
    Location:
    Berlin (Germany)
    I find brightness a non-issue, but it obviously depends on your reference.
    Exurban and krussell like this.
  17. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,178
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    ??? The XT's got one too...

    I do wish Garmin would put the brick closer to the mount so it's easier to shorten the cable, but...

    Garmin actually did do this intentionally, because the idea is that you permanently mount it to your bike, run the cable under the tank, and hide the step-down box near the battery. So it does make sense, it just doesn't work out great for those of us who want to put a plug on the end of the cable and move the mount from bike to bike. I have a zip-tied bundle between the mount and the step-down box.

    As for screen brightness, yeah, the Montana could definitely be better, though it's fantastic in direct sunlight. But I'm finding myself using my XT less and less because I like the Montana's interface and features a lot better, and the XT's waypoint handling actively pisses me off.

    --mark
    mbabc and Grinnin like this.
  18. krussell

    krussell Gravel Warrior Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,384
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    The XT step down box is about a third of the size. It's much less of an issue for cable routing IMHO because it's closer to the battery end of the cable. The mount allows the cable to be easily removed and threaded without having to take the bike apart to find a way to lay a brick in the middle of the cable somewhere nice. Why even have a freakin' brick on the 700 or the XT. 600 series didn't have one, BMW NAV doesn't have them. The 700 has a lot more room inside in theory Not only is it a hassle, the mount is now twice the price it was on the 600 series.

    It's good to have choices.
  19. Ken in Regina

    Ken in Regina Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,260
    Location:
    Regina, SK, Canada
    ??? I have a Montana 600 and the cable for my powered mount has one. I have no idea what it's for ... never analyzed it ... don't care. But I had exactly the same problem that's being described above. I wanted to be able to swap the mount and all necessary parts of the cable between two bikes by putting a two prong trailer connector at the handlebars with a simple two-wire cable running under the tank to the battery. Rather than mess with anything between the box and the mount I just wrapped the excess cable around the stem for the mount. It's an ugly mess but it works and I didn't have to worry about screwing anything up.

    ...ken...
    mbabc likes this.
  20. ConiKost

    ConiKost Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2020
    Oddometer:
    94
    Location:
    World
    The Montana 600 series AMPS mount doesn't have a 5V converter box. It only has a tiny surge protection near end. I am also really disappointed, that the Montana 700 AMPS mount uses a 5V converter, same as the XT does. It would be better, if they handled that the way as the old zumo 590/595, which had the 5v converter build into the mount itself.
    hubilado likes this.