Garmin Montana

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by AugustFalcon, May 18, 2011.

  1. MJS

    MJS Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Oddometer:
    2,522
    Location:
    Off the grid in San Felipe, Baja
    Pull the SD card and try again. Doing the reset will enable all of the maps by default.

    My Montana will hang sometimes while loading maps. OSM maps make this worse since they seem to have more detail in them. I always try and run the minimum number of maps and disable any that are not necessary for my current trip. BWOE, on my current ride (Germany, Czech, Poland, Ukraine, Russia, Kazakhstan, Mongolia) I started with a separate map for each country and only enable the map for our current destination. Once done with a country I deleted that map from the SD card.

    Also, you can / should check your maps with JaVaWa for issues.
  2. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,343
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    It only screws up profiles if you modify the originals. You're better off creating copies of a profile and working on the copies. That way a reset will not affect your customised profile.
    JMartin likes this.
  3. AppliedMotion

    AppliedMotion Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013
    Oddometer:
    15
    Location:
    Chanhassen, Minnesota
    Third time is a charm. That got me back to familiar territory. Thanks for the advice everyone!
  4. jof062

    jof062 n00b

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Oddometer:
    4
    Has anyone worked out how to turn off the annoying red pin drop when scrolling maps?
  5. baiku

    baiku Manaical Engineer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,518
    Location:
    NH
    When the pin is dropped, there's an entry bar at the top of the screen. You can tap the bar to navigate to the pin, or press the gray "X" at the right to delete the pin. Using a deliberate finger swipe when scrolling can prevent the pin drop. Touch-drag-release. I found that rushing it often drops the pin.
  6. ADW

    ADW 'tard bike restos

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    752
    Location:
    Rochester MI
    You need to push harder onto the screen to have it "know" that you're pressing and going to drag. Just tapping the screen generates the pin.
    Szepy and wbbnm like this.
  7. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,539
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    +1 As you start to scroll keep your finger on the screen for about a second before removing it. I think the trick is duration rather than hardness.
  8. Szepy

    Szepy Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    43
    Location:
    Hungary
    Yes, don't forget Montana displays are not capacitive like the phones nowadays. More pressure is needed for proper operation. On the other hand they're working in every condition and regardless whether you are using any kind of gloves, etc.
  9. jof062

    jof062 n00b

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Oddometer:
    4
    Thanks guys will change my technique and see how i go.
  10. BergDonk

    BergDonk Old Enough to Know Better

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Oddometer:
    8,708
    Location:
    Snowy Mountains Oz
    I find my Montanas need less pressure than my phones, Apple and Samsung.
    wbbnm likes this.
  11. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,376
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    So here's a weird one: my Montana hates Pennsylvania.

    It's usually trouble-free. But for some reason, every time I ride through Pennsylvania, it freezes up at least once or twice a day. To revive it I have to pull it out of the powered mount and pull the battery, then as soon as it's finished rebooting, stop navigation on the current route.

    This hardly ever happens anywhere else, but it happens pretty much daily if I'm in Pennsylvania. And it's happened with several different versions of City Navigator, so if it's a data error, it's a pervasive one.

    :dunno

    --mark
    Yinzer Moto likes this.
  12. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,343
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Not sure what's causing your lockups but you should rarely need to pull the battery out on a Montana to recover from a lockup. Just hold the power button in for 10-15 seconds. If the first long push doesn't restart it, try again. Back when lockups were fairly common, I was convinced that pulling the battery left something that made lockups more likely, like a corrupt file or something else.
  13. I82l8

    I82l8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Oddometer:
    478
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON
    I have a Montana for the motorcycle and a Nuvi with lifetime maps for the car.
    Is there a way I can put the latest Nuvi maps on my Montana?
    Thanks.
  14. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,343
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada

    Nope. They are locked to your Nuvi.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  15. I82l8

    I82l8 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Oddometer:
    478
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON
    Damn, thanks, thought so. Any way around that? I installed the map on my HD to use in Basecamp.
  16. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,343
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Yeah, buy a set for the Montana. They're not expensive.
    Timmer likes this.
  17. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,376
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    I'll give that a try, but the freezes I'm experiencing aren't complete lockups, the map screen just freezes and track stops recording. I can still go back to the main menu, turn the Montana on and off, etc, but going back to the map screen just brings me back to the frozen screen. Also, stopping the route doesn't have any effect; if I shut off and pull battery, the route is still being navigated when the unit boots back up.

    I haven't tried doing a proper reset when this happens, though I probably should. I'll try the long power button push sometime to see if that does the trick.

    On another topic... has anyone heard any news or rumors of a new Montana model to bring it up to date with the Oregon 700 series? The 600/610 platform is getting pretty long in the tooth; it would be really nice to have the feature set of the Oregon 700 series, particularly weather radar overlay. I've been tempted to just get a 276Cx, but if Garmin comes out with a Montana 700 soon, I'd prefer to keep the touch screen interface...

    --mark
  18. CavReconSGT

    CavReconSGT Just the right amount of evil.

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    1,115
    Location:
    CT/NH
    That is nice feature but that type of thing is only useful, the radar overlay, if you have some kind of wifi/data signal I assume? From your phone?

    That isn't of much use where I ride.

    KR
  19. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,376
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    Yeah, GPS connects to phone via Bluetooth and downloads weather radar data through the phone's data connection. Obviously relies on cell service, so it won't do me any good if I'm riding in Canada, but it'll work in most of the US.

    --mark
    CavReconSGT likes this.
  20. Emmbeedee

    Emmbeedee Procrastinators

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Oddometer:
    11,343
    Location:
    Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Even if they did nothing but add Bluetooth to the Montana, I'd update mine. That wouldn't necessarily give me weather, but it would be useful.