1. Adventure Rider Print Magazine!
    We're doing a print magazine this November - 128 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

    Click here to purchase a copy for $9. Limited copies still available.
    Dismiss Notice

Garmin Montana

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by AugustFalcon, May 18, 2011.

  1. Ken in Regina

    Ken in Regina Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,208
    Location:
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Mine has my email but I should probably add my phone, too.

    ...ken...
  2. MadM

    MadM Dreamer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,170
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Montana start up time.

    Any ideas why my friends 600 loads and starts faster than my 610? I have them setup identically, same maps, waypoints,.... Both devices use 32gb class 10

    600 needs 10s to be ready for use, while my 610 is at around 35s.


    Thanks!
  3. kave

    kave Gravel rules

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Oddometer:
    664
    Location:
    Sweden
    More maps, poi and routes etc?
  4. MadM

    MadM Dreamer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,170
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Read my friend, read! They were setup identically from hard reset... same map, waypoints,...
  5. TinMan207

    TinMan207 Most often a lurker... Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,755
    Location:
    Southern Maine -- most days
    There is a text document in the root directory of your Montana called "Owner_information.txt" that can say pretty much whatever you want I believe.

    Additionally there is a text document in the Garmin folder called "startup.txt" Mine starts out like this...

    <!-- Edit this file to display a message while your unit is powering on -->
    <!-- Allow one full power cycle after editing for your message to be updated -->
    <!-- Set the display number to the minimum number of seconds your message is displayed -->
    <display=5>
    <!-- Type your message on the next line -->

    Whatever you type below this line displays on the screen as it boots (for the time specified in the <display= > line).

    ALTERNATIVELY
    You can use JaVaWa Device Manager to access this (and much else) information.
    MasterMarine, BergDonk and guavadude like this.
  6. TinMan207

    TinMan207 Most often a lurker... Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,755
    Location:
    Southern Maine -- most days
    Well, not set up EXACTLY identically... One is setup in English, the other Slavic (just guessing here, but not English) and one has a generic background and the other has a KTM logo (again that's a guess, but it is not the same as the 600) - which is an image file somewhere on the unit and needs to be loaded in order to be displayed. I can't tell what the "loading" messages are actually saying but it seems to be moving though things at a reasonable pace.

    The other thing that I noticed is that the 600 seems to think that it has good satellite coverage while the 610 does not (kind of hard to see, but I think that I'm right). I don't know if this would slow the startup - I almost think that it won't, but who knows what changes Garmin made to the boot process between the two units.

    I don't think that I actually answered your question directly, but I think that your assumption that they are "Identical" is not quite correct (no flame here, none intended). please remember that your Montana is a small, not very powerful, computer. Just loading the custom background and language files COULD take longer than you might think. BTW there are a LOT of data files in the file structure on the Montana internal storage that could be cleaned up to give you more working room. LOTS of language files and on mine, I found a PDF user manual for many - if not all - of the languages. Deleting these can only help you in the long run, and since I can't read, write, or speak french, for instance, can't hurt to get rid of. YMMV

    MY habit - largely because I am impatient - is to start my Montana (on its internal battery) and then go about putting my jacket and helmet on and probably start the bike before I look at the GPS. By the time I get the bike started the Montana is ready for me to load a route or track or waypoint, OR is ready to track my ride.

    I hope this helps... if only to alleviate any worries that something is obviously "wrong" with the 610.
    MadM and ramz like this.
  7. I82l8

    I82l8 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Oddometer:
    716
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON
    Thanks, yes I think in that instance I pushed the bike over while it was off...interesting...thanks
    CavReconSGT likes this.
  8. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,336
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    In addition to the things that @TinMan207 pointed out, they have different firmware. The 610 needs firmware for GLONASS at the least. I don't know what other changes there are.

    I really don't know if the .gcd file is an update to the firmware or if it is the complete firmware. Size difference for current .gcd files is only 2MB, but the difference could be what those 2MB are doing. The .gcd file for 600 is 18MB while the .gcd file for 610 is 20MB.
    MadM and TinMan207 like this.
  9. BergDonk

    BergDonk Old Enough to Know Better

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Oddometer:
    14,040
    Location:
    Snowy Mountains Oz
    FWIW I have an old 600 and a 2 yo 610, both setup identically, more or less. Subjectively the 610 boots faster than the 600, although not by much.
    MadM and CavReconSGT like this.
  10. MadM

    MadM Dreamer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,170
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Replys in orange ;)
    TinMan207 likes this.
  11. scottydawg

    scottydawg Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    362
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    You should be able to use your Montana with your gloves on.
    TwoUpTourer, wbbnm and CavReconSGT like this.
  12. Anders-

    Anders- 690R

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Oddometer:
    4,181
    Location:
    Швеция
    The advantages of using a good old resistive touchscreen instead of the fancy capacitive ones.
  13. TinMan207

    TinMan207 Most often a lurker... Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,755
    Location:
    Southern Maine -- most days
    A couple of things I would point out here, if I may.

    1) Perhaps your riding buddies are less worried about the "break" in the ride than you are. I know that I am often my worst critic with things like this. ALSO, and I am speaking as much for myself than anyone else, they may be grateful for the breather :D

    2) Are you aware that the Montana, and several other units out there, have a wireless transfer feature? I often transfer tracks, waypoints, and routes (routes less often because they are so map and unit settings dependent) to other riders/units as a backup and to have another set of eyes looking at things. I actually have a "spare" Map62 that I almost always carry and/or loan to others for this reason.

    3) I seldom use track-up. I have just trained myself to look at the screen "north-up" and use the arrow icon to know which way I need to turn. I think it's simpler for my brain not to have the screen jumping around as I travel. It's just how I roll YMMV.
    wbbnm, dmottv and Grinnin like this.
  14. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,336
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    I'll second this notion. A riding bud often apologizes for stopping to adjust things or getting the helmet on and forgetting hearing protection or whatever.

    It's just not a problem. It's not like I'm 100% efficient all the time and an extra minute is going to derail my enjoyment.

    Do what I do. Go riding up any of the available trails then say "Oops, wrong trail", get turned around, and go back to try again. After a few of those, they'll be begging you to stop to look at your GPS track more closely. :muutt
  15. TinMan207

    TinMan207 Most often a lurker... Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,755
    Location:
    Southern Maine -- most days
    Thanks. I just spit coffee all over the place. Wanker! :photog
  16. Yinzer Moto

    Yinzer Moto Sloppy 300 rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    39,132
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    The issue is have is one group that I ride with. If I pause and look at the GPS, I’ll turn around to go again, someone will have a helmet off already. Another will be off the bike and pissing in the weeds (I can’t fault him much, I think he has a health issue where he needs to piss every 30 min). People will be in the middle of a story about something. All this after I stopped for like 10 seconds. :imaposer
    EmmEff, wbbnm and I82l8 like this.
  17. TinMan207

    TinMan207 Most often a lurker... Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,755
    Location:
    Southern Maine -- most days
    Obviously, it was time for a break anyhow :lol3
    Ken in Regina and Yinzer Moto like this.
  18. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,159
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    I feel your pain!

    I was on a trip once with a guy who would pull out his stove and French press and start making coffee any time we stopped for a moment. :becca

    --mark
    EmmEff and Yinzer Moto like this.
  19. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,951
    Location:
    MN and NM
    I too am a big believer in navigation by trial and error. I don't do it as punishment. Sometimes if an intersection looks complicated either on the map or on the ground, I just pick a road and go up it a few hundred yards and see what happens on the screen. A lot of times what look like nice 90 degree turns on the map are anything but on the ground.
  20. SteveAZ

    SteveAZ Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Oddometer:
    2,448
    Location:
    AZ
    It's hard to use without gloves let alone with!

    Screwing around with it while in motion and gloves on is super difficult for this old guy...