Garmin Montana

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by AugustFalcon, May 18, 2011.

  1. ramz

    ramz Professional Trail Rider Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Oddometer:
    2,927
    Location:
    Salida, CO
  2. Specularius

    Specularius Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Oddometer:
    349
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Garmin has missed the mark on their pricing of this thing. Don't forget to add the $100+ powered mount, pushing the base model to over $700. They must want to sell more Zumo XT's. The XT comes with the powered mount for $500.
    EmmEff likes this.
  3. EmmEff

    EmmEff Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,306
    Location:
    Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
    IMO, it's priced more than double it should be...
    oldbiker83 and I82l8 like this.
  4. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,252
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    The mount is $70.

    https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/pn/010-12881-08

    Not cheap, but also not $100+
  5. Specularius

    Specularius Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Oddometer:
    349
    Location:
    Louisiana
  6. guavadude

    guavadude Dirt Nap Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,727
    Location:
    Grapevine, TX
    I always get the feeling the Garmin developers have never even seen an iPhone. Like they live in a cave somewhere with no knowledge of the outside world and it’s wonderous devices.
    BlueFargo, EmmEff and ramz like this.
  7. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,139
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    True, the XT comes with the mount itself plus a RAM base and arm. It also has a spectacular screen, with much higher resolution than the Montana 700. All told, it is a pretty good deal.

    But the drawback is that it's a whole lot less customizable than the Montana, and has a few annoying UI quirks that tend to get under my skin. Its handling of waypoints and POIs for example...

    --mark
  8. 250senuf

    250senuf Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,954
    Location:
    Nelson area, Kootenai, BC, Canada
    The Canadian Montana 7xx prices:
    Monata 7XXs.jpg
    from a retailers site
  9. Yossarian™

    Yossarian™ Deputy Cultural Attaché

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    12,769
    Location:
    the 'Ha
    Maybe, if Garmin offered a method of transferring purchased maps from one device to another. But my 650t has CNNA and CNEU tied to it with lifetime updates, and I'm not really keen on having to repurchase mapsets that I already "own".
  10. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,232
    Location:
    +47.839921, -120.019112
    @Yossarian™ have you called Garmin Support and nicely asked them if they would transfer your currently active Maps to a new device? They did this once for me but it was a few years ago. They walked me through a processes where I had to Register the new device and de-Register the existing device at which point they reassigned the maps products and I could then download the maps to the newly registered device via Garmin Express.
  11. Ken in Regina

    Ken in Regina Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,116
    Location:
    Regina, SK, Canada
    Does that mean you think the iPhone has a good and usable user interface? :hmmmmm

    ...ken...
    CavReconSGT and BergDonk like this.
  12. Ken in Regina

    Ken in Regina Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,116
    Location:
    Regina, SK, Canada
    My 395 is sitting on a bench in my shop, collecting dust. The screen is pretty, but pretty much unusable for me. It starts with the pastel default colours on the maps with very minimal contrast. And it's not TFT so in the bright sun it washes out badly. These old eyes have great difficulty reading it.

    I use the dashboard a lot of the time and, as you pointed out, there's no customization for it. You can't select which items you want displayed. And you can't even select which order they display so you can't get your most used items up to the top.

    I've had my Montana 600 for quite a few years and it was a refurbished unit when I bought it. So it's nice to have the 395 around as a spare. But if the Montana ever dies and I need to put the 395 into service it would only be until I could find another Montana.

    ...ken...
    CavReconSGT likes this.
  13. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,139
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    They do -- but only if you purchase it on an SD card. Then it's locked to that SD card instead of to the device you put it in.

    --mark
  14. I82l8

    I82l8 Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Oddometer:
    708
    Location:
    Stouffville, ON
    There are ways to get your maps for free....just need to search a bit :evil
  15. EmmEff

    EmmEff Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,306
    Location:
    Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
    Yeah, it’s called OpenStreetMaps which I’ve found are as good as City Navigator and a free download. I would not and do not condone software piracy.
    I82l8 likes this.
  16. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    274
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
  17. eduro

    eduro Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Oddometer:
    775
    Location:
    North On-tar-i-o-i-o
    My Montana 610 won't charge or stay powered on with a dead battery while hooked up to a Garmin USB power cable, or Garmin USB cable connected to a USB 12V cig adapter on my bike. It'll stay powered on if I remove the dead battery while hooked up to the above two methods.
    I can charge the unit from a Garmin mini USB wall jack, or Garmin USB cable connected to my laptop at home. The unit is less than a year old, any ideas?
  18. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,252
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    How many amps does the "USB 12V cig adapter" on your bike put out? My idea being that charging the battery plus running the GPS uses more amperage than your adapter can provide.
    eduro likes this.
  19. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,894
    Location:
    MN and NM
    It sounds like the dead battery is just not putting out enough voltage and thus current to run the 12V to USB converter. I am a little surprised at this. But if the battery is really dead, I guess it could happen.
    It would be interesting to see what the dead battery voltage is when connected to the USB converter.

    I assume the converter works fine with a well-charged battery.
    eduro and Grinnin like this.
  20. eduro

    eduro Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Oddometer:
    775
    Location:
    North On-tar-i-o-i-o
    The 12V power socket puts out 15 Amps but is only a backup. I usually run it off the Garmin 010-11131-10 USB Power Cable that has an input voltage of 8 V to 58 V and an output of 5 V at 500 mA.

    Yes, both the 12V power socket and Garmin USB Power Cable work fine when the unit is charged, but there have been times when I've had the unit plugged into the Garmin USB Power Cable with the battery indicator icon showing as charging, and then an hour later the unit would shut off with a dead battery.