Garmin Nuvi car gps as a budget >$250 adv setup

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by B1, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. simbaboy

    simbaboy Lansing MBS Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,953
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    Thank you for letting me know--I went and reordered this cable/charger for my Burgman scooter. The scooter cannot accomodate a regular length Garmin charger (the door to the outlet will not close--so a shorter one is needed). Apparently this combo here will not put the GPS in a computer mode but will actually allow GPS use while charging it as well.
    Simba

    [​IMG]
  2. simbaboy

    simbaboy Lansing MBS Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Oddometer:
    4,953
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    So my first effort at Basecamp with new 2598 GPS was a total failure.

    So I went home and created a new Route and also changed a few settings on the Basecamp program and on the GPS itself. I will let you know how well this worked and will also post the 'new settings' screen shots from my MAC.

    I miss my 2595--the Dashboard and the 'Speed Alert' were great features that are missing on the 2598. I really thought that a higher number model (2598 vs. 2595) would maintain previous features and add more. Garmin sucks in so many ways, but for some reason I keep buying their products. Go figure!

    My needs for the Basecamp are simple:
    1. Create a Route.
    2. Send it to the GPS.
    3. Have the GPS guide me (voice turn by turn) exactly the way I created the Route. I don't want the GPS to recalculate and decide for me.

    Simba
  3. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,616
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    Basecamp tutorial should get you up to speed...

    http://advrider.com/index.php?threads/basecamp-tutorial.1054359/

    Basecamp is actually pretty good, once you get over the hump. Try Delorme Topo if you want a steep learning curve.

    I never had any trouble with my 2595 following my Basecamp created routes, but I'm pretty particular about making sure I use enough waypoints to force a route to go where I want. Not all Garmins units support "shaping points", so if you use the Motorcycling profile in basecamp with routing set for "curvy roads", your Nuvi won't use those shaping points and just recalculate using it's own routing profile, so that's where you need to add your own waypoints to force your route.

    I've used my 2595 for a few years now but it just started to act up, I should have bought a spare one but finally bit the bullet and bought a Zumo 660 instead, I figured at $320 they were cheap enough to justify vs buying 1 or 2 Nuvi's and the cludges and work arounds for water proofing and trying to provide reliable power. So far liking the Zumo, it's kinda out dated and old school but I like my gps to be simple and just be a gps, I don't want it play music, or answer my phone etc., just show me where I am in the world and follow my routes that I've created. The Zumo 660 does that well.
    EmmEff and simbaboy like this.
  4. jes126

    jes126 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Oddometer:
    18
    Location:
    Western PA
    I see that a lot of you have purchased the Zumo 660. I'd like to tell you of my experience with the 660. I have an old Nuvi 500 that works well, but I was looking to add a newer unit that had lifetime maps, etc. I liked the Zumo 390LM, but it's expensive. Since the 660 was discontinued, the price was much more reasonable and since it was designed for motorcycles, it should work well.

    I want to add that I lead backroad/dirt road single and multi-day adventure rides with my buddies. I spend a great deal of time planning routes on the computer, using Basecamp, then downloading them into the GPS. I used to use Mapsource, but decided to force myself to learn Bacecamp when it was introduced - and I now find that I like Basecamp better.

    Anyway, this is what happened. After downloading my route into the 660, as I followed the route, the 660 would periodically stop navigating and say that it was "unable to calculate the route". The only thing I could do was press the "OK" and go back to the Main Menu and start over by pressing the "Where To", "Custom Routes", etc. The 660 would repeat this 10 or more times on a days ride, and other times it would only do it once or twice. I finally decided that I must have a defective unit, so I called Garmin Tech Support. The Tech Support guy didn't know why it was happening, so he sent me to a software engineer. They told me that the problem was that the 660 was developed over 10 years ago, before Basecamp was invented, and was developed to be used with Mapsource. The catch 22 here is that Mapsource is no longer supported by Garmin. I asked if there was a software download for the 660 that would make it compatible with Basecamp and they said since the 660 was discontinued, they would not be coming out with one. I didn't want to use Mapsource for the 660 and Basecamp for the 500, so I sold the 660 on eBay and bit the bullet and bought the Zumo 390LM. I might add that I like the 390 very much. I know that many owners of the 660 use Mapsource and will continue to do so, but if you buy a 660 or have one and find that while using Basecamp you have strange things happening, you now know why. Don't ya just love Garmin?
  5. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,616
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    I was aware of the routing incompatibility between Basecamp and the 660 when I bought it. I usually make sure I have enough waypoints to force a road route where I want to go so don't expect problems but have also installed Mapsource and if needed I can just import my route to Mapsource, verify it and then send to the 660 from Mapsource.
  6. Ogre_fl

    Ogre_fl Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Oddometer:
    4,304
    Location:
    Cook Bayou, FL
    I have wondered why the Zumo 660/665's have issue with basecamp when the Nuvi 500/550's dont.
    I was under the impression they both came out about the same time, with the Nuvi possibly being older.
  7. Countdown

    Countdown Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Oddometer:
    6,933
    Location:
    Carson City/Ridgecrest
    If you are giving out GPS info for a bunch of people to follow, you are 1,000 times safer giving out Tracks not Routes. I am a Dual Sport ride promoter and I don't know of any promoter who give out anything but Tracks. Routes can be a disaster but Tracks are cast in concrete and will not change PERIOD.
  8. jes126

    jes126 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Oddometer:
    18
    Location:
    Western PA
    I'm the "Adventure ride leader" for my group only because none of my buddies use a GPS, so I have no one to give my info to. Most of us are in our 60's and I'm the only one who takes the time to sit at the computer and plan trips. I talked one of my buddies into getting a Nuvi 500 like mine, but he couldn't see the screen so I had to sell it for him. Another rider is talking about getting one, but he's over 70 and wants me to teach him how to use it. He's so bad with computers he can't find porn... I told him to save his money. In Garmin Basecamp, planning a Route is easy. I've never tried laying a trip out with Tracks, but I'll give it a try sometime. Thanks for the tip.
  9. scootertrog

    scootertrog Jedi Fart Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Oddometer:
    864
    Location:
    Missouri USA
    Now that ....... is sad, considering porn has a way of finding you, lol.
  10. kabulpostie

    kabulpostie Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Oddometer:
    130
    I'm having difficulty with mu Nuvi 885T. It doesn't seem to recognize the removable memory. I've tried the tutorials for Using IMG.from GPX but no matter which files I choose (usually IMG) nothing shows up on the Garmin itself. Also, When I click on the IMG files they want to burn to a disk. I must be doing something wrong, but I am clueless-BTW gpx files are for WABDR.

    Edit: I have a 64 gig card could that have anything to do with it?
  11. Grinnin

    Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,855
    Location:
    Maine
    Did you put the file in a directory called "Garmin"?

    When you click on the IMG files, it's not the files that want to burn to a disk, but the operating system or program that you're using that wants to burn the image files to a disk. What OS or programs are you using?

    I've read that a 64g card must be formatted in FAT32. I've not used cards that large in my Garmins so I can't confirm.
  12. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,616
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    GPSCity recommend only an 8Gig card for most of the non current gps's.
  13. kabulpostie

    kabulpostie Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Oddometer:
    130
    I went to the Garmin site and as you mentioned they specified an 8gig card so I got one. The curious thing as that with the card inserted into the Nuvi basecamp sees it and will allow the transfer of maps-though when I put the WABDR file in basecamp it showns points but no actual map. When I disconnect the garmin from the computer it doesn't show the other maps or anything indicating that it recognizes the SD card.
    mwolf likes this.