Garmin Nuvi car gps as a budget >$250 adv setup

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by B1, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    no, which is a bugger. it would be great to have an adv riding IT geek who could crack the gps and provide firmware to fix some of these things.

    i get rid of the approaching message by using direct routing and doing the route in reverse (just click on "inverse" under properties in mapsource).
    #41
  2. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,617
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    i gave garmin a prod about their advertising...saying i wanted to use "routes" and they advertise their receivers to have the ability to use routes.I asked why i couldnt find a routes on my 2350,This was their answer

    "Question: Why can’t I find the route I sent from MapSource or BaseCamp on my nuvi 30, 40, 50, 200, 205, 300, 600, 1100, 1200, 1300, 2200, 2300, or 3700 series device?

    Answer:

    The nuvi 30, 40, 50, 200, 205, 300, 600, 1100, 1200, or 1300 series do not support multiple stop routing. Although MapSource or BaseCamp will indicate that a route has been sent to the device successfully, these devices are unable to read the file since they do not support that feature. MapSource and BaseCamp can still be used to transfer maps and waypoints to the devices.

    Although the nuvi 2200 and 2300 series do support multiple stop routing, they will not display routes sent from MapSource or BaseCamp. These devices use Trip Planner and do not currently have a way to import the transferred routes into Trip Planner.

    The nuvi 3700 series will support multiple stop routing from MapSource or BaseCamp providing the device has software version 4.50 or newer. For information on how to update the unit's software, visit https://buy.garmin.com/support/searchSupport/case.faces?caseId={8576ba20-e948-11dc-d6fc-000000000000}
    #42
  3. BigShooter

    BigShooter Head Flunky

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    republic of Texas
    Did I understand it correctly when I read earlier that using a cord other than Garmin's will harm the unit or make it go in to mass storage? Is that in regards to use in general, or rather just when uploading maps, etc.? The reason this caught my attention is that I just received one of the Nuvi 2555s from my brother-in-law that was originally given to him by someone else. He didn't ever have a mount, or a Garmin power cord. He never used it much, and when he did, he just used a generic cigarette adapter. It seems to work with it fine, so far. But, I haven't tried to load a map yet either.
    #43
  4. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    the garmin cord has a little diode or something or other that stops the gps going into mass storage mode. problem is if you need a replacement chord, garmin charge ridiculous amounts and it's cheaper to just go on ebay and get a garmin-compliant power cord (with the necessary inbuilt diode thingy) on ebay for around $15.

    any generic cord will make it go into mass storage mode but far as i know cant hurt the gps. strange that the nuvi 2555 seems to be an exception?
    #44
  5. BigShooter

    BigShooter Head Flunky

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    republic of Texas
    I tried the unit out the other day in the car as I did a few errans around town. It was powered up for at least an hour or so with a run-of-the-mill cigarette adapter that I had that happen to fit the plug on back. I fooled around with it a lil while my daughter was at guitar lessons and all the features seemed to work. However, like I said, I haven't tried loading any data onto it yet, though I do have a USB cord that will fit. I might get daring later and try it.
    #45
  6. hugemoth

    hugemoth Big Brother is watching you!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,767
    Location:
    RESIST!
    I've been using a cheap USB cig lighter adapter to power my Garmin GPSs for years. They do go into data transfer mode for 30 seconds or so when first plugged in but then they load the maps and work normally. The only downside I've seen to using the generic USB adapter is the additional time it takes to boot up into driving mode.
    #46
  7. BigShooter

    BigShooter Head Flunky

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    republic of Texas
    Now that you mention that; I did think it took a bit to load the map. although I was basing this solely on comparison to the factory installed one in my Jeep.
    Is your generic cord working for data upload, too?
    #47
  8. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    Yes it will. I've got half a dozen generic USB cables and I don't even know which one is my original Garmin cable and every one of those cables works fine to connect the gps for map updates, downloading routes with BaseCamp etc. I had been using one of those cheap little cigarette lighter usb chargers on the bike, then plugged into a cigaretter to powerlet adapter because I have a powerlet port right there at the handlebars. I had them all taped together but would have to wiggle them occasionally while on our last week long ride.

    I have since installed a 3BR USB outlet direct from the battery so I can lose all those connectors. Now it's just a simple usb cable to the gps.
    #48
  9. BigShooter

    BigShooter Head Flunky

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    republic of Texas
    Well, thats good to hear. I dint want to have to fool with some propriatory cable just to use it. I dont like it when companies dont want you to use their product unless every accessory for it is their's, too. The very reason I dont own any Sony or Apple products
    #49
  10. BigShooter

    BigShooter Head Flunky

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Oddometer:
    211
    Location:
    republic of Texas
    Well, thats good to hear. I dint want to have to fool with some propriatory cable just to use it. I dont like it when companies dont want you to use their product unless every accessory for it is their's, too. The very reason I dont own any Sony or Apple products
    #50
  11. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,617
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    i predict you will be able to send routes to it but you wont find them on the unit.You can plug in the garmin to a computer and with a little download(garmin connect or similar) you will be able to send single waypoints from google maps.
    This is how my 2350 behaves,You can however get tracks back of the gps
    #51
  12. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    I've settled on my 2595 for my moto gps. Supports routes from Basecamp with multiple waypoints etc. I gave up on my 3550 on the bike because it always tilts due to a stupid gyro automatic screen flipping. The 2595 can flip the screen but it's a manual setting, perfect for the bike. Another bonus of the 2595 is that it works with gloves on. The 3550 would not work with gloves, I had to remove a glove and use a finger.
    #52
  13. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,617
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    hmmm 2595 eh thats good to know
    #53
  14. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    After I realized the 3550 wouldn't work on the bike I did a bunch of research to find out why it flipped the screen. I liked all the routing features and compatibility with Basecamp so I did a bunch more research to see what models had the features but not the new fangled gyro thing. Having the 2595 work with gloves was just an added bonus. I think I'll grab a second one to just keep as a spare because if the 3550 is any indication of newer models, then I'll stick with the 2595.
    #54
  15. advNZer?

    advNZer? Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,617
    Location:
    Wellington,New Zealand
    the real trick here is that you have found a nuvi that will accpet multi stop routes from basecamp.By far the most nuvi s dont,even if the specs say they support routes
    #55
  16. Boianovich

    Boianovich Old and Cautious

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,526
    Location:
    The 8th Dimension
    +1
    You can't beat the 2595 for a low cost GPS.
    Although it can't take tracks and gets confused on dirt roads at times, the Bluetooth works with the Sensa Com's, it takes a beating an is easy to use no matter what gloves I'm wearing.

    http://www.costco.com/.product.1000...rypageHorizontalTop|PopularProductsInCategory
    #56
  17. Twohondas

    Twohondas Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,285
    Location:
    San Diego
    What do you folks use for a mounting setup on the 2595?
    #57
  18. KoolBreeze

    KoolBreeze Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Oddometer:
    608
    Location:
    lower west side USofA
    anybody know of any issues with the 2597?

    looked at gpscompared and gpscity but I expect they're not going to consider much in the adv/motorcycle use area.
    #58
  19. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    I have a ram ball mount and then just bought the specific bracket for the 2595

    1ea RAM Mount Garmin nuvi 2555 2595 Series Cradle RAM-HOL-GA52U 1ea $11.95ea
    http://www.gpscity.ca/search/q=ram-hol-ga52u

    Here it is with my Delorme PN-60 mounted for off road trips, I just swap out the cradle for the 2595.
    [​IMG]

    With the above cradle you'll need the ram ball mount and an arm of whatever length you need/want.

    Here's the complete mount package...
    http://www.gpscity.ca/ram-mount-garmin-nuvi-2555-2595-motorcycle-mount-steel-u-bolt-ram-b-149-ga52u.html
    #59
  20. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    It looks like to me it should be OK for bike use, it has the same screen type as the 2595. It was the manual dual orientation that was key for mounting on a bike, you just set it for landscape and forget it.

    "Display type: manual dual-orientation, WQVGA color TFT with white backlight "


    The 3595 had a newer fancier screen that didn't work with gloves and would auto rotate from leaning.

    "multi-touch, glass, dual-orientation, WVGA color TFT with white backlight"
    ^^^^ stay away from these ^^^^
    #60