Garmin Nuvi car gps as a budget >$250 adv setup

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by B1, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. bouldergeek

    bouldergeek Filthy, poor KLR dweeb

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,073
    Location:
    Palmer Station, Antarctica
    I have a 2455WT and a 285W.

    Are both of these useless for third party maps of South America?

    Garmin won't sell me Chile or SA maps on their website.

    Anyone with a 24xx that is useful out of the US?
    #61
  2. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    I took an old 1450 to Costa Rica that I loaded maps from here...

    http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=677587
    #62
  3. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    a pile of the garmin 1490t units are being sold by an australian ebay seller here for AUD$88 but not selling to overseas buyers.

    he says in the ad they are brand new and have the full garmin warranty which is good value if all legit. i just bought one as a backup as garmin seems to be preventing the upload of custom routes to most of the new garmin nuvi models.
    #63
  4. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    The 2595 works well with routes and has the manual fixed but switchable orientation, vs some of the newer models have an auto orientation which doesn't work on a bike.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    #64
  5. ktmgeoff

    ktmgeoff Remember it's not a race!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,162
    Location:
    Western Creek Tasmania ( sold the farmand moved)
    I wonder what the waterproof cases on ebay work like, says it takes 1450 and up to 2460, priced at $14, only thing is the handlebar mount looks a bit dodgy.
    #65
  6. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    i'd call them more dust proof really. the moment water gets on the screen, it runs down to the lower ridge then seeps inside and eventually it gets wet enough inside to make the gps go crazy. it might work okay if the gps was underneath a fairing enough to not get any rain on it directly?

    yes the handlebar mount is useless, except possibly for cruising highways. the only decent waterproofing is the RAM case and ball mount for around $70.
    #66
  7. atomicalex

    atomicalex silly aluminium boxes Super Moderator Supporter

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Oddometer:
    12,918
    Location:
    Detroit mostly
    Yes, this is possible.

    You have to manually open up the gpx file and excise them from the code. It's far less bad than it sounds....

    In the following code below, the red text refers to the displayed symbol, in this case a small square - remove that wherever you find it. The blue text creats the waypoint, so if you remove that, you won't get the stupid alerts.

    This is on a nĂ¼vi 1490LMT and the route was created in BaseCamp. Honestly, what is the point of a navi if you can't do the routes in BaseCamp and upload them? Totally defeats the purpose, IMO!

    Code:
    <rtept lat="46.473191985860467" lon="11.777131017297506">
          <time>2013-08-17T19:55:07Z</time>
    [COLOR="Red"]      <name>Canazei</name>
          <sym>City (Small)</sym>[/COLOR]
          <extensions>
           [COLOR="RoyalBlue"] <trp:ViaPoint>
              <trp:CalculationMode>FasterTime</trp:CalculationMode>
              <trp:ElevationMode>Standard</trp:ElevationMode>
            </trp:ViaPoint>[/COLOR]
            <gpxx:RoutePointExtension>
              <gpxx:Subclass>000000000000FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF</gpxx:Subclass>
              <gpxx:rpt lat="46.473191231489182" lon="11.777108134701848">
                <gpxx:Subclass>02000F9F13011D8C0D00211600001C001200</gpxx:Subclass>
              </gpxx:rpt>
              <gpxx:rpt lat="46.473584175109863" lon="11.77708625793457">
                <gpxx:Subclass>02000F9F13011D8C0D001F00160091530500</gpxx:Subclass>
              </gpxx:rpt>
    #67
  8. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    thanks, that is a true geek response and i love it. :clap

    but it does reinforce my opinion that while most of garmin's products are pretty good they have no idea on making anything user-friendly. there should be some way to turn off those flags and alerts on the gps. in fact the gps should should probably default to having them turned off, but allowing you to turn them on if needed.

    i don't use basecamp as i personally think it could be the most counter-intuitive user-hating piece of software every invented. do you open the gpx file in basecamp and somehow access the coding directly? or did you use an external program?
    #68
  9. bross

    bross Where we riding to? Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,072
    Location:
    Osoyoos, BC
    You'd need to just use a text editor like Notepad to do that kind of editting.
    #69
  10. Ridin'nFishin

    Ridin'nFishin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    792
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    I read all the above, thanks to everyone input.

    I also was comparing Nuvi's on gpscity and they have more detail than Garmin's website.

    GPSCity has a lot of nuvi's with 100 routes on them. I am thing wow this is cool, routable GPS at a low price. Not waterproof thou. After reading this thread I realize that it does not mean you can draw on the computer and download to your gps, that just sucks big time.

    I want to explore and draw my routes on the computer, download them to the GPS and go ride that route, come home download my tracks back to my computer. This is what I do with my Nuvi 500, waterproof, 10 routes max with 3.5 screen. Nice little GPS.

    How do you find out which units can do this without calling Garmin, waiting for 10 to 30 minutes, then getting someone who doesn't know what you are talking about and then gives you the wrong answer so you will not know that they don't know the real answer. They sent me a email with the units that have routes on them and the info is wrong also. I noticed the Nuvi 500 shows it has 50 routes, wrong. This gives me no confidence in the email list I was sent. Here is the list. DO NOT BELIEVE THIS LIST WITHOUT CHECKING IT OUT SOMEHOW.

    "Thank you for contacting Garmin International.


    Garmin automotive devices that are compatible with multiple stop routing allow you to save a certain number of routes for easy access in the future.1 Each compatible device may only store up to a certain number of routes. Please review the list below to determine how many routes your device can store:
    The following devices can hold up to 10 routes

    • nuvi 700 series
    • nuvi 705 series
    • nuvi 800 series
    • nuvi 805 series
    • nuvi 1400 series
    • nuvi 1690
    • nuvi 5000
    • nuvi 295W
    • zumo 220
    The following devices can hold up to 15 routes

    • Camper 760
    • nuvi 465
    • RV 760
    • dezl series
    The following devices can hold up to 20 routes

    • GPS V
    • StreetPilot
    • StreetPilot Colormap
    • zumo 660
    • zumo 665
    The following devices can hold up to 50 routes

    • nuvi 500 series
    • Quest
    • Quest 2
    • StreetPilot III
    • StreetPilot 2600 series
    • StreetPilot 2700 series
    • StreetPilot 2800 series
    • StreetPilot 7000 series
    • zumo 400 series
    • zumo 500 series
    The following devices can hold up to 100 routes

    • nuvi 55
    • nuvi 56
    • nuvi 65
    • nuvi 66
    • nuvi 2200 series
    • nuvi 2300 series
    • nuvi 2400 series
    • nuvi 2405 series
    • nuvi 2407 series
    • nuvi 2408 series
    • nuvi 2505 series
    • nuvi 2507 series
    • nuvi 2508 series
    • nuvi 2707 series
    • nuvi 2708 series
    • nuvi 3400 series
    • nuvi 3500 series
    • nuvi 3507 series
    • nuvi 3508 series
    • nuvi 3700 series
    • LIVE 1695
    • LIVE 2300 series
    • zumo 350
    • zumo 390
    If your automotive device series is not listed above, it does not support multiple stop routing.

    With Best Regards,
    Kristi
    Customer Care - Automotive Team

    Garmin International
    913-397-8200
    800-800-1020
    913-440-8280 (fax) Att: Kristi 5677"
    #70
  11. mtaylor

    mtaylor n00b

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Oddometer:
    7
    Now when you say " can hold up to 10 routes"

    Does that mean only 10 waypoints?
    By which I mean, I plan a trip from New york to Florida, and draw a route with many points that is not direct. Doing this can generate 100s of waypoint / coordinate points.

    Or does 10 routes mean I can have 10 full custom routes like the NY to FL one mentioned above?
    #71
  12. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    generally speaking, it seems you can have 100 routes stored on the gps for use once you actually import them on the gps.

    i'll call this working memory for want of a better term. you can import up to 10 of these routes into working memory so that are accessible quickly. hope that makes sense? in reality, i never have many in the gps as it takes a while to scroll through....

    UPDATE ON GARMIN NUVIS YOU CAN UPLOAD A CUSTOM ROUTE FROM YOUR COMPUTER
    got the latest from a garmin shop yesterday. after the popular 1450 and 1490 nuvis were phased out, for a year or so garmin ensured that none of the nuvis could accept a custom route uploaded from your computer (although you could knock up a custom route on the gps itself with some models - tedious and not very useful).

    i don''t know if they got a lot of backlash from this, but they have since changed their mind. this garmin retailer told me that many of the models will now accept routes from a computer. how can you tell?

    go under apps and look for trip planner. he reckons that if the "trip planner" app is there, then you can upload custom routes. if you want this feature, i would still suggest telling the retailer this, and asking if you can return or exchange the gps if you can't upload a file from a PC. keen to hear how people go with this.

    the salesman is sure that these are the models that will work: 2457, 2497, 2557, 2597, 2797 and 3597.
    #72
  13. mtaylor

    mtaylor n00b

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Oddometer:
    7
    Ok so is a route, a custom path, with many points from start to finish.

    Or is it basically 2 points (start + finish) saved and the GPS will do the routing between those points on the fly? Based on shortest time/distance..
    #73
  14. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    either. it depends whether you tell the gps to use direct routing or auto routing in the navigation preferences. i don't the gps making decisions for me or getting hung up on occasional glitches in the mapping, so i use direct routing. this means you need to put a lot of points into the route as it is just composed of straight lines.

    generally the auto routing works fine if you are on public roads. once you start to get off the beaten track, it will bugger up once you get on to tracks that the gps won't auto route along. then you need direct routing and lots of straight lines making up the route.
    #74
  15. NorthernTraveler

    NorthernTraveler Long time Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Oddometer:
    805
    Location:
    The Big Mitten
    If you want to ride a pre-planned route that you build ahead of time on your computer there is another method that you can use that will work on any Nuvi that has a memory card slot.

    1. Build the route in Basecamp or Mapsource, save it.

    2. Copy it over to a piece of software called IMGfromGPX which is found here -
    http://www.javawa.nl/imgfromgpx_en.html
    Your file can be either a GPX file or a standard Garmin GDB file.

    3. Give it a unique name and Map ID number (look up list of Map ID numbers currently used)
    A good list is found here - http://www.javawa.nl/mapids.html
    You can use a number somebody else is using, just can't have both maps loaded at the same time.

    4. Create the Overlay map. The TYP file will tell how your track lines will look, NT means No Text.

    5. Install the overlay map into Basecamp or MapSource (go to the directory where you created it, go to the .reg directory for Mapsource and run install)
    (in basecamp, go to the directory where you created it, go to the .gmap (I think) directory to associate it (Sorry, I don't use Basecamp!)

    6. Go into Basecamp or Mapsource, select the overlay map to be displayed, select the overlay map to be downloaded to the unit, (if you want to download more overlay maps, select them now), download it to an SD or microSD card.

    7. Put the memory card into the Nuvi, go to utilities/configuration/maps/information (based upon a Spanish language unit - I'm in Costa Rica on vacation and don't have any units with me!) and turn on/off the overlay map. It will show your route as a colored line on top of the existing map in the unit. The color of the line is one of the 8 base colors available when you create the route. Some colors show better at lower zoom levels - I think off hand yellow, red, green.

    I did some testing on what colors show at what zoom levels on what units -
    NUVI 50LM, 1490 - Grey, Cyan, Magenta and Blue show to .8 mile, Yellow and Green show to 5 miles, Red shows to 20 miles, Black to 50 miles+
    NUVI 255W, GPSMAP 76cx, GPSMAP 78 - all colors show at all zoom levels

    You can have MANY overlay maps loaded at the same time as long as they each have unique names/numbers and the map set to be loaded onto the memory card is created at the same time.

    Also note that IMGfromGPX talks about converting tracks - it originally needed tracks to convert - but it has been updated to convert routes to tracks automatically before it builds the overlay map.

    You can also tell it to label the tracks/routes in the overlay map with the track/route name - this is what it's talking about when says text/no text.

    You can build an overlay map with a mix of tracks/routes, even waypoints.

    Waypoints gets harder - each set of waypoints with a different symbol has to be in a separate file before being loaded into IMGfromGPX. You get waypoint symbol, name, and telephone number if it's in the right waypoint field for telephone. Waypoints are searchable.

    An overlay map doesn't take ANY routes/tracks/waypoints if your unit supports it - it's a map, remember?
    #75
  16. Ridin'nFishin

    Ridin'nFishin Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Oddometer:
    792
    Location:
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    The more I learn about these GPS's makes me realize the little I really know.:huh
    #76
  17. Bigdog54

    Bigdog54 MX X-Over Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Oddometer:
    351
    Location:
    Jacksonville Florida
    I'm so glad a ran across this thread. Lets see.....Under $200 for an Aquabox and new "automotive" GPS of $800 for one that can get wet (without mounts and locks).

    Question.

    I'm currently running a Garmin 60csx that is wired directly to the battery on my 2011 1200GS via a 3BR Baryl weatherproof power cable (http://www.3brpowersports.com/products_barylcables.php). I disconnect power at the Baryl plug junction when I stop the bike for long periods.

    Does anyone know if this same method will work for a Nuvi 2555 in a Ram Mount Aqua Box?
    #77
  18. B1

    B1 Carbon-based bipedal

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,971
    Location:
    Arse-trailer
    not sure what a Baryl plug junction is but i think the key would be to make sure you use the garmin power cord... it ensures the voltage drops to what is needed for the gps (3 or 6v, not sure) and also has the electronic wizardry in it to ensure it doesn't put the gps into data mode.
    #78
  19. 250senuf

    250senuf Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    4,128
    Location:
    Nelson area, Kootenai, BC, Canada
    The 60csx has the GOOD power connector that takes 12V.
    #79
  20. oldirtyrider

    oldirtyrider Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,524
    Location:
    stale flat boring florida
    I have a garmin nuvi 205 on mine. It's barebones gps . I wouldnt get it too wet but it works . And will atleast tell me which direction I need to go if I get lost in the woods. It's no zumo but it gets the job done.
    #80