Garmin Zumo 390/590 Power Connection

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by wal916, May 22, 2015.

1. wal916

wal916 n00b

Oddometer:
    I've been using a Garmin 390 for a couple of years now and, generally speaking, it's been really great and very reliable. However, just recently its started to lose power intermittently. A quick press or re-seating of the unit in the cradle usually fixes it, but only for a while. This leads me to think that the cradle contacts are not connecting reliably with the contacts on the back of the Zumo unit. As any 390/590 owners will know the cradle and unit contacts are not exactly large or substantial which is probably not helping.

I've tried re-seating the unit, cleaning the contacts with switch cleaner and re-positioning the contact power lead in the cradle, all to no avail.

Has anyone else experienced this issue and have you managed to fix it?
  2. Hikertrash

Hikertrash Wasted Rock Ranger

Oddometer:
    Have you tried contacting Garmin? Theyll get back to you in a day or 2 with troubleshooting tips or a request for cradle replacement. I would try a total reboot if you haven't done so already.
    slime likes this.
  3. g®eg

g®eg Canadian living in exile

Oddometer:
    sort of a power question thing... I just got a 390 for my b-day.
    I used to use a Nuvi 550 (still have it actually) and I like it because it's USB power cord plugs right in to my USB plug on the powerlet socket. Easy to transport from bike to bike w/o hardwiring the cradle in.

so my question is:

has anyone ever tried to wire the Garmin plug end that goes to the cradle (top right) to a USB male end that goes to a power source (bottom left)?

[​IMG]

for the Nuvi I use a #BR powersports charge only cable & it works a treat...
    https://www.3brpowersports.com/products_Red_Band_USB.php
    slime likes this.
  4. PnD

PnD Adventurer

Oddometer: