Garmin Zumo 590 Cradle butchery - The How-To

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by blender, May 9, 2014.

  1. jahonen

    jahonen n00b

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Oddometer:
    1
    Location:
    Kuopio, Finland
    #81
  2. 1coolbanana

    1coolbanana Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    5,284
    Location:
    NW Sydney, Australia
    #82
  3. dpippin

    dpippin Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Oddometer:
    126
    Location:
    Hoopers Creek NC (Asheville)
    Using the KISS method I just cut the cable short, connected the 12 volt wires to a 2 pin SAE connector, then taped everything up.
    All the wires other than the 12 volt wires are still in the connector harness. They are dead headed and don't do anything.
    Easy Peazy
    Now I can use the cradle on each of my bikes as they are all wired with fused 12 volt powered SAE connectors
    Photo is a zumo 660 cradle. The zumo 590 looks the same.

    zumo 660 cradle connector.jpg

    Doug
    #83
  4. JayElDee

    JayElDee not saying what I mean

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    947
    Location:
    The City that Care Forgot
    now, if we can find a way to hack the UI to make the user hostile software design more logical in arrangement...
    #84
  5. MADSTROM

    MADSTROM Long timer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,764
    Location:
    Powhatan, Va
    I have followed a similar thread on StromTroopers with all the same issues and thought I would share my experience here as well.

    The short of it is after looking at all the various versions of surgery I was prepared to do the same until I discovered I didn't have a Torx T5 and didn't care to wait while ordering one or ride all over creation looking for one. So I had a good look at the Octopus and it was worth a try to install with the full harness attached. So plan 2. I took electrical tape and wrapped all the loose ends to the USB lead. I used a piece of coat hanger as an electrical fish and fed the USB receptacle from the center of the fairing nose. Amazingly it all pulled right through. So I coiled its tentacles and zip tied them in a nice neat slim oval package and flipped it over into the void between the headlights. Then I soldered the power leads to the same place/leads I had used for the Zumo 550. The cradle bolted right up to the 4 hole pattern of the SW Motech bracket I had the Zumo 550 bolted to for the last 8 years including on my 2006 Wee Strom. Performed some surgery on my steel fabricated bracket for my thermometer and the Zumo 590lm fit right in.

    In it's new home and working great.

    [​IMG]
    #85
  6. DRAK

    DRAK Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Oddometer:
    132
    Location:
    North East Adelaide
    Just did this on my M109R/ I opened up the mount and cut off the wires and removed the connector, apart from the power wires. Then I cut all the extra cable from the triangular joiner, apart from the power wires.

    Mounted the unit and then ran the cable (along the clutch cable into to the headlight nacelle where I picked up power from the previous GPS (Tom Tom).

    Now I can swap the unit between both Bikes.
    #86
  7. sudolea

    sudolea n00b

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Oddometer:
    7
    Of course, you can cut wires and so do it in a quicker way. But then again, by not cutting anything but instead removing the cable loom, I kept it in its original state, and complete. I've then been able to sell it second hand for (more than) the price of all the needed parts mentioned in the parts list :-)
    #87
    dad2bike likes this.
  8. Botrunner

    Botrunner Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Oddometer:
    47
    Location:
    NEK VT
    What size shrink tubing did you folks use for the tiny 26 gauge wires? I can't seem to find any that fit, let alone adhesive ones!

    Edit: Unless it is 28 gauge? I can't seem to figure out a great way to step it up to a 16 gauge SAE plug.
    #88
  9. sudolea

    sudolea n00b

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Oddometer:
    7
    I'm not sure if this question is related to that video of mine ? If it is, then you must mean the shrink tubing's size that's visible at 2:28 ?
    #89
  10. UFO

    UFO Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Oddometer:
    80
    Location:
    PNW
    2018-05-11 10.37.15.jpg 2018-05-11 11.03.11.jpg 2018-05-11 11.00.10.jpg Just want to post to this thread and thank everyone above (including the video). Garmin's wiring harness is ridiculously over engineered, unnecessary, and a blatant money grab to force people to buy multiple cradles/harnesses. In my case I just didn't want the harness and cradle always stuck on my bike. And like many have no need to all the archaic audio lines and basically non-functional USB port.

    This thread eased my decision to buy a 595. I have a 12v socket right in the front dash of my H2SX and here's my simple, clean final butchery and result. I mean, it's not that hard Garmin.

    So, thanks again!
    #90
    sudolea likes this.
  11. sudolea

    sudolea n00b

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Oddometer:
    7
    Glad it has been useful :-)
    #91
  12. Barry

    Barry Just Beastly

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2002
    Oddometer:
    8,518
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, Va.
    THANK YOU. I had no idea I could do this, and was afraid to attempt the original, but clean, method of removing all the unwanted wires. I just need power and a shorter cable. I'm gonna' do what you did!!!! Thanks again, I am risk averse and not savvy with electronics, so been wanting to do this for almost 2 years !

    Barry
    #92