Garmin Zumo XT

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by VCheng, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. Ed

    Ed Shunpiking Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    803
    Location:
    Prineville, Oregon
    Quick update on the Zumo XT. I've been using it almost daily for a few weeks now. I find the audio control usable if a bit clunky. The screen is amazing. It's easily readable, even in direct sunlight. I have uploaded a couple of test routes to the unit from Basecamp and I haven't noticed any of the routing issues others have complained about. It has worked perfectly each time. I like the custom map layer capability, though there is an ongoing learning curve getting them right. I have had problems making and answering phone calls. There seems to be a priority conflict between my Cardo G9X headset and the Zumo. It could just be outdated firmware/software on the headset, though there hasn't been an update in years. Or, perhaps it's my Iphone 6, because I had similar problems with the Zumo 665. Both the headset and phone are due for updates. We'll see if either one or both solve the conflicts.
    CavReconSGT and dunc like this.
  2. blownalcohol

    blownalcohol n00b

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Oddometer:
    2
    Location:
    NC
    I am loving this gps

    It's 10% right now using code MFF10
    @ https://ascentoutdoors.com/

    I used the zumo40 off weeks ago, but now their website has code for $50 savings
    SoilSampleDave likes this.
  3. RTwo

    RTwo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Oddometer:
    544
    Location:
    UK
    Could anyone take the time to measure the back side of the mount bracket for me?
    I'm making a mount for it but haven't got hold of it yet, I want to make it exactly the same size as the reverse of the plate below.
    I know the hole centre dimensions and could have a good estimate but I'd rather be spot on - OCD :dunno

    TIA

    GarminXT.jpg
  4. jskene

    jskene Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    231
    I see that the unit has 5 contacts on the rear plate (see image below). Have Garmin published what the other 3 are used for?

    I was wondering if they can be used to connect to a CANBUS signal so the wonderwheel on my BMW bike can be used to control it, as on previous NAV units.

    Attached Files:

  5. mrmagloo

    mrmagloo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2020
    Oddometer:
    114
    Location:
    NW Chicago Burbs
    I asked pre-sale and that was 'proprietary information'. Ultimately meaning, the tech didn't have a clue and it wasn't in his handy-dandy tech flow chart.
  6. CPORet

    CPORet I Am Kirok!

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Oddometer:
    812
    Location:
    Eastern Panhandle, West Virginia
    I don't think that's outside the realm of possibilities. Seeing as how Garmin makes the NAV units for BMW, and the XT is the latest tech, I can see BMW/Garmin changing the
    GPS Prep Package mount to accept/control the XT. I can even see BMW naming it - wait for it - the NAV VII! I really wouldn't be surprised to see an updated mount on the
    2021 R1250GS's when they finally show up.
    rider1150gsadv likes this.
  7. dtaski

    dtaski Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Oddometer:
    147
    Location:
    Harrisburg , PA
  8. MUDHWY

    MUDHWY Simple Math

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    13,470
    Location:
    The Edge Of Town
    Has anyone installed an SD card, put MP3 music files on it, and then been able to get those songs to play through the XT? I'm finding that the device only recognizes files stored in the internal memory MP3 file folder. ???
  9. Clammy69

    Clammy69 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2020
    Oddometer:
    23
    Location:
    Canada
    Works fine on mine. What did you name the folder on the SD card? Mine is named "MP3".

    Cheers!
    :super:super:super
    AugustFalcon likes this.
  10. mrmagloo

    mrmagloo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2020
    Oddometer:
    114
    Location:
    NW Chicago Burbs
    I created a folder named MP3/ in the root of tne SD card and have it filled with an entire subdirectory system of artist/album/song for approx 4,000 320kb songs. Works great with the entire directory system.
    Clammy69 likes this.
  11. MUDHWY

    MUDHWY Simple Math

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    13,470
    Location:
    The Edge Of Town
    I just dropped files directly to the root of the SD. Sounds like the files need to be in a dedicated MP3 folder. I will try that. Thanks guys.
  12. StuartV

    StuartV Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,995
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    You barbarian!!

    LOL ;)
  13. MUDHWY

    MUDHWY Simple Math

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    13,470
    Location:
    The Edge Of Town
    How fancy do I need to get with subdirectories for the player to find and categorize artist, album, song info correctly?
  14. lkraus

    lkraus Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,704
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Usually, the folders do not matter. The categories are established by the metadata tags that are embedded in each song file. The folders, if any, are for your convenience.
    AugustFalcon and MUDHWY like this.
  15. rwiles

    rwiles Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Oddometer:
    536
    I think you have to format the card as a FAT 32 or similar. Ask the innertube.
  16. Ed

    Ed Shunpiking Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    803
    Location:
    Prineville, Oregon
    When I installed the SD Card the GPS formatted it for me. :D I haven't tried putting music on it yet.
    SoilSampleDave likes this.
  17. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,426
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    Rule #1 : Always let the device you are going to use the card in format it before downloading files onto it on your PC or whatever.
    StuartV and SION1771 like this.
  18. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,426
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    Thanks! Just used the code!
    offtheback likes this.
  19. MUDHWY

    MUDHWY Simple Math

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Oddometer:
    13,470
    Location:
    The Edge Of Town
    If it's working right would you expect to see any formatting happening on the device like you would doing it on a PC? When I inserted a new SD card into the XT it did nothing. I pulled the card and formatted FAT32 on the PC and it set it up fine and works great. ??
  20. SoilSampleDave

    SoilSampleDave Dr. Zaius was right!

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Oddometer:
    10,426
    Location:
    The Delta Ghetto, GA (aka PTC)
    You would need to go into the menu of whatever device and tell it to format the card. In an ideal world, it would all work the same. But I have owned a camera or two that were only happy when formatted by the camera. Takes just a few seconds and it’s like cheap insurance.
    250senuf likes this.