Garmin Zumo XT

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by VCheng, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. FearFas

    FearFas Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    11
    I answer myself.. Just finished talking with Garmin support, and the map "editing" option is not longer valid, as this device has enought memory to handle various maps + SD card . The map will be "married to a single device", if i wanted to use in a secondary device, i have to call them to move the subscription from one device to another..
    AliveDK likes this.
  2. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    185
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    Have you looked at the free of charge open street maps OSM, their level of detail is very good.
  3. turtlespeed

    turtlespeed Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Oddometer:
    311
    Location:
    NJ

    PFA the link to the OSM Maps for Garmin.

    http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl/
  4. Specularius

    Specularius Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Oddometer:
    336
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Has anyone received their replacement mount yet? I got a notification a little over a week ago to login in and place an order at zero cost, which I did, but am still waiting for it.
  5. TripleThreat719

    TripleThreat719 Track Addict ADV Wannabe

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    511
    Location:
    Trafalgar, Indiana
    Mine were both delivered today.
  6. Specularius

    Specularius Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2017
    Oddometer:
    336
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Did they fix the looseness issue?
  7. michaeln

    michaeln What're YOU lookin' at? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,985
    Location:
    Avery, State of Jefferson
    Mine must be a late production one, no cut-outs on it yet.
  8. infinityzg

    infinityzg Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Oddometer:
    14
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    I got mine a week ago (Germany) and yes it fixed the looseness.It's actually gotten a lot sturdier. I wonder each time if it sits correctly :-)
  9. boulet_boulet

    boulet_boulet Long timer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    1,244
    Location:
    Maine
    I got a shipping notification last Weds, but DHL tracking still shows that it has not received the item. Seems like there are some fulfillment delays, unfortunately. It's a bummer too, because I have had a lot of trouble keeping the Zumo on while riding. It just keeps cutting out and does not charge in the mount and eventually dies completely (full reboot) every time the power has a blip.

    For those who have gotten the replacement mount, does it come with a new wire, or just the Ram mount piece?
  10. TripleThreat719

    TripleThreat719 Track Addict ADV Wannabe

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Oddometer:
    511
    Location:
    Trafalgar, Indiana
    Haven't even taken them out of the packing yet. I am assuming that they did, or Garmin wouldn't have sent them to me as replacements... Without me even asking for them...

    Also, It's just the mount and associated screws/nuts, no power cable.
  11. dunc

    dunc Coddiwompler Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    4,141
    Location:
    NSW
    thats what i was asking in another post about the fit
    never seems to do a definite click in the mount but seems to lock it in
    MTBRALPH likes this.
  12. TheNetworker

    TheNetworker Been here awhile Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Oddometer:
    305
    Location:
    Germany, Lower Saxony
    Please show the GPS detail screen....
    There is still a signal - but the accuracy is down. This would be first non Triumph data... Thanks
  13. FearFas

    FearFas Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Oddometer:
    11
    Hi
    Yes I have been using OSM for a few years now, specially northern africa.
    Most of the times they are very detailed, but sometimes they arent. Here is the difference between the Garmin Topo España V7 (Green one) and the latest version of OSM downloaded today.
    I am quite unhappy with this garmin policy, specially considering the fact, that i have both devices and the map registered on my garmin account.
    Thanks.

    Attached Files:

    tsak8 likes this.
  14. kreativ

    kreativ OFFROADer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    26
    Location:
    Wroclaw, Poland
    I checked gpsmap 64. Can't send waypoint to XT :(
  15. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    185
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    I see what you are referring to. Do OSM offfer I higher detail/topo version of their maps?
    With regards the Garmin Topo maps (i do not have any) I assumed if you purchased them on a card, & they are not locked to a unit as a download, I thought you could swap them from one unit to another. If that is not the case it does not show Garmin in a very good light.
  16. Moto Mikey

    Moto Mikey Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Oddometer:
    503
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I installed Garmin's replacement mount today and can confirm it's now very secure. No wobbling at all.
    JS_racer likes this.
  17. Barak

    Barak adventure photographer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    248
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    I would recommend NOT using the mini USB to power the GPS on a bike. I powered my Montana that way for a long time until the USB port became loose and broke on the GPS side of things rendering it practically unusable for data transfer and charging.
    It's pretty easy to make the included mount cord generic like with an SAE plug, that way you can move it from bike to bike.
    Barak
    schnabba likes this.
  18. Barak

    Barak adventure photographer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    248
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    For those of you who received the replacement mount from Garmin, does it come with the wire/converter as well as the contact point with the pins? Or just a new mounting bracket?
    I ask because the little pins on the contact piece that connects behind the unit are the culprit to mine loosing power as riding with it loose for so long wore them down.
    Can anyone confirm what they have been sent from Garmin?
    Thanks,
    Barak
  19. boulet_boulet

    boulet_boulet Long timer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2018
    Oddometer:
    1,244
    Location:
    Maine
  20. empedrado

    empedrado Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Oddometer:
    648
    Location:
    Central NM
    Just the mount and a few replacement screws, no wire/converter