Garmin Zumo XT

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by VCheng, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. BronNowo

    BronNowo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Oddometer:
    561
    Location:
    Kraków
    damn, I was about to order one when I saw how it mounts, WTF ?
    it will fall off the bike when bumpy off-road....is it really marketed as all-terrain device??? deal breaker for me.
  2. Barak

    Barak adventure photographer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    255
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    The mount is solid. Have had it for 2 1/2 months and put around 2,000 miles with it, on mostly off road bumpy trails with no issues.
    But the electrical contact on the mount side is a weak point - not reliable.
    Schussboelie likes this.
  3. shearboy2004

    shearboy2004 KIWIINUSA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,922
    Location:
    Ft Collins ,Colorado
    I'm pretty sure I'm an idiot and each day seems to confirm this more and more but how do you get rid of the wee lock in Garmin Explore for the XT ?

    Attached Files:

  4. yoohah

    yoohah Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Oddometer:
    281
    Is the Zumo XT integrated with the BMW? The same functionality than Nav V?
  5. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    No, none of the Garmin units integrate with BMW software, only BMW branded units.
  6. BronNowo

    BronNowo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Oddometer:
    561
    Location:
    Kraków
    ok, so it won't come off? good to know but looks flimsy.
  7. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    I have seen this problem reported on other forums, you need to contact your supplier for a warranty replacement.
  8. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    I know what you mean about the mount, the 595 & Montana mount do look a lot sturdier. I suppose they have to save money somewhere!
    I have put a small stick on tether on the back of mine just in case. I would not normally bother, but when Touratech come out with a mount, I will be purchasing.

    I will be sticking with my Montana for off road use, as I feel it is a lot more robust in that type of environment. The XT has a speaker on the rear which I don't think will stand up well to mud & dust in the long term.
    BronNowo and Schussboelie like this.
  9. Schussboelie

    Schussboelie Kicking up dirt Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Oddometer:
    1,039
    Location:
    Belgium
    I guess we shouldn't judge a book by it's cover.
    I toppled over with my bike into a ditch last Saturday.
    The bike turned 360° laterally and the XT didn't move at all.
    The mount is more than sturdy enough.
    Maybe it doesn't have anything to do with "saving money" but more with new insights and developments.
    AugustFalcon, dunc and ADVer like this.
  10. third eye

    third eye back road loon Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    401
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    new to this thread, will this fit on the bmw gs cradle?
  11. DonM

    DonM Do-dah Do-dah Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    3,054
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Tiger is not FCC compliant?
  12. Barak

    Barak adventure photographer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Oddometer:
    255
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    Done, and done. A new cable will be sent when they become available July 9th.
    Thanks
    Barak
  13. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,004
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    It does not come with the cable. But my original cable also had the pins loose (one actually fell out), and I got a warranty replacement by calling Garmin support.

    That's interesting. I wonder if that delay means they're redesigning the cable as well.

    --mark
  14. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    If you mean a cradle for a BMW navigation unit - No.
    The only mount that fits the unit is the Garmin XT mount (at the moment).
  15. third eye

    third eye back road loon Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    401
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    thanks, next bad question:
    Can I adapt the Garmin mount to the GS bracketry?
  16. markbvt

    markbvt Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    4,004
    Location:
    Georgia, Vermont (that's one town, not two states)
    The Garmin mount is a RAM mount, so I guess it depends on what the GS bracketry is. If it's RAM-compatible, then yes. If not, just ditch it and use the supplied mount.

    --mark
  17. third eye

    third eye back road loon Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Oddometer:
    401
    Location:
    Concord, CA
    thanks, I'm a navigation mounting noob. just thinking of what to do with this fancy gs oem mount. I'm ordering one then
  18. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    It will probably fetch good money on ebay, if it is the version with buttons as I believe it may fit the Garmin 660 (or 590/595) - someone on here will probably confirm.
  19. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,163
    Location:
    48°58′18.9″N, 89°57′39.1″E
    The BMW Navigation Prep' Mount will hold a zumo 660/5 device but definitely not a zumo 590 series. If it has buttons (doubtful) they will not work with a zumo 660/5 - only BMW Navigators have the code for that.
  20. simon crewe

    simon crewe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Oddometer:
    193
    Location:
    Haslemere, UK
    Thanks for clarifying that.