GoPro HD Hero Camera

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Wesley J, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. Dualthing

    Dualthing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Oddometer:
    932
    Location:
    Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
    So the Gopro remote is always a hassle to have it close by to activate camera
    Where does one fit it
    It must come off quite easy to charge and to take it along when not on bike
    Don't know
    So I made this plate, attached it to the GPS RAM mount, some velcro, and there you have it, close by, and easy to put on and take off

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  2. Dualthing

    Dualthing Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Oddometer:
    932
    Location:
    Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
    While you're recording video, you can just press the mode button, that will take a picture then
  3. BobPS

    BobPS Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    599
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    I use a velcro strap and strap the remote to the handlebar. I do this on my monster and TE630.
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    Strapped to the monster's handlebar
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Strapped to the TE630 handlebar
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]





    [​IMG]
  4. Stalky Tracker

    Stalky Tracker Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Oddometer:
    187
    Location:
    Here
    Yes. :wink:

    Not an expert but here's what I have done to accomplish it with my 3.

    You can set it to take still pictures in Time Lapse mode; with intervals of 0.5, 1, 2, 5, 10, 30, and 60 seconds.

    Or you can record video and then on your computer using Gopro Studio select individual frames and convert to a still photos. Other software may do the same but no experience.

    You can also use the Wi-Fi Remote to turn on and off, as needed. Probably to switch between the two modes but I haven't tried that.
  5. PFFOG

    PFFOG Richard Alps-aholic Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Oddometer:
    6,620
    Location:
    Western NY, further from NYC than 6 entire states
    I use the wrist strap and wrap it 2 or 3 times around the handlebars, just inside the LH switch gear, I can use my thump just like depressing the horn button. Easy, and don't really have to look at it or remove my hands from the bars.
  6. TRZ Charlie

    TRZ Charlie That's MR. Asshole

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    20,447
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    My iteration of mounting the remote.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. Da Potentate

    Da Potentate Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    V'burg, MS
    Where is the best place to mount the camera?
  8. klinquist

    klinquist ├╝bergeek

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,373
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    What's the best kind of motorcycle?

    Serious answer: it depends on what kind of videos you want!
    On your helmet will give the most stabilized video, but it won't look like you're going as fast.
  9. RAZR

    RAZR u may run the risks my friend but I do the cutting

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Oddometer:
    11,783
    Location:
    L.A.
    new GoPro 3+ is great!:clap

    some things I like...

    --iPhone app.
    --smaller size.
    --crisp pics/videos.
    --iPhone app.
    --1080 and 720 Super View!

    some things I like less...

    --4K is huge and my computer (mid-2010 MacBook Pro 2.66 GHz i7 NVIDIA GT 330M 512mb OS X 10.9.2) isn't up to what GoPro says I'll need to play the large video. :cry so watching from the camera plugged into my computer playing on QuickTime the 4K and 1440 was jittery. 1080 Super View and 720 Super View look amazing.
    --with the large video, you need more space. (I could record in lower res. but I was looking forward to larger crisper format)
    --the 64 gb micro SD was just over $100 at Best Buy (yeah yeah, I could've found a deal online)
    --the light sensor on the 4K and 1440 seemed to be too bright and wouldn't darken fast enough when in low light areas while riding fast. (shade under trees, behind the hillside, etc)


    I'm waiting on my computer to import into iMovie then I'll get to editing and I'll post up my results.

    I recorded in each res so I'll be able to compare them when it's on YouTube. (that's where I share my vids)
  10. RAZR

    RAZR u may run the risks my friend but I do the cutting

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Oddometer:
    11,783
    Location:
    L.A.
    time lapse test

    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/4xKRLrwvtfk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
  11. SikDMAX

    SikDMAX Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    723
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo - 58 229 & 1
    CooL! What did you use for the rotation?
  12. TRZ Charlie

    TRZ Charlie That's MR. Asshole

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    20,447
    Location:
    Fayetteville, AR
    Here ya go...

    <iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/BpMvIu4U3Tk?feature=player_detailpage" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
  13. Lion BR

    Lion BR I'd rather be riding

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,168
    Location:
    Oregon
    Looking good!
  14. RAZR

    RAZR u may run the risks my friend but I do the cutting

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Oddometer:
    11,783
    Location:
    L.A.
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/wYi7UnAlFZw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
  15. Bowhunter

    Bowhunter Single Trackin' & Stick & Stringin'

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,427
    Location:
    Van Etten, NY
    What is everyone using for editing software using a 120 fps frame rate? I haven't had any luck finding any software that will export anything higher than 60 fps using IMovie, Wondershare, and Moviemaker.
  16. Mastery

    Mastery Mr. Funny Man

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,435
    Location:
    Hoosier Daddy?
    I used the IKEA Ordning as shown at 2:12 in this video. Did my tripod insert a little different, but it works very well for time lapse scans with my Ghost-S camera.
  17. Pottz

    Pottz Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Oddometer:
    85
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Queensland Australia
    We have a nice bright moon rising over the ocean at the moment - thinking perfect for a time lapse sequence whilst I am learning the ropes with the GP - any thoughts on best time delay? Any expertise would be welcome!
  18. ride2live

    ride2live Just ride

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    92
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Just got my black 3+. I intend to do some 4K work, I recently bought a 4K TV. I am looking right now on Amazon, Kingston 64GB class 10 for $39. Yes or keep looking? Thanks in advance.
  19. klinquist

    klinquist ├╝bergeek

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,373
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    If you plan on 4k work, I recommend you pay more and get the Sandisk Extreme Plus card ($79-99 for 64gb). Twice as fast as normal class 10 incl. Sandisk Ultra.
  20. ride2live

    ride2live Just ride

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    92
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    Thank you - amazon has it, it's on the way. $75