GoPro HD Hero Camera

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by Wesley J, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. nomad_games

    nomad_games Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Oddometer:
    2,371
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Daily commute.

    <iframe src="//www.youtube.com/embed/DxFdrXSBCIs?rel=0" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="480" width="853"></iframe>

    just to entertain myself, I included a little Ministry and 90s style editing.
  2. indypup

    indypup ╭∩╮( º.º )╭∩╮

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    3,764
    Location:
    Troy, OHIO
    Another gopro mount that I want...lol

    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/-VBKUMNcmWU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
  3. duffs

    duffs I have a beard

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,224
    Location:
    Battersea (London) UK
    The ripples occur when the hertz of the engine vibrations approach a multiple of the frame rate (29.97 fps for standard NTSC, for example).

    It&#8217;s a similar principle to the reason LED lights flicker on camera when they are at reduced intensivity via pulse-width modulation (turning on and off rapidly to simulate dimming, such as tail lamps compared to brake lamps).
  4. Prime Mover

    Prime Mover Always hopeful, yet discontent

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Oddometer:
    6,128
    Location:
    NorEast Ohio
    Without trying to read nearly 3,000 posts.... any thoughts on the Hero3 White? They are $199 right now. I only need a simple and easy GoPro for routine video and basic editing. Playback will be on a regular TV or web. I need nothing fancy and I'm thinking the $199 Hero3 White is a good deal.

    Thoughts?
  5. simonpig

    simonpig droppin' jewels

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,434
    Location:
    NYC
    Save your money and get the New Hero lowest model (attached to waterproof case) for $129. It'll do superview in 720, something the white 3 won't. The only thing is that it has a built in battery which kinda sucks if you're gonna do any long rides.

    If you're handy, you could hardwire it to your battery and run a cord from your helmet down to a harness to the bikes battery. It no different than wearing heated gear.

  6. Prime Mover

    Prime Mover Always hopeful, yet discontent

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Oddometer:
    6,128
    Location:
    NorEast Ohio

    Thanks. I've heard bad things about the built-in battery and it also doesn't allow for a remote. The no remote is a deal breaker fo rme. Thanks again for the comments.
  7. TavisB

    TavisB @TavisB

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Oddometer:
    481
    Location:
    PGH

    Go for it. That's what I'm still using for my videos. I'm enjoying making 60fps vids now that YouTube supports it.
  8. simonpig

    simonpig droppin' jewels

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,434
    Location:
    NYC
    Youtube does 60fps now. Nice. I did not know that.

  9. TavisB

    TavisB @TavisB

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Oddometer:
    481
    Location:
    PGH
    Yep. Works really well for stuff on the dirt bike.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zMld0jFuEN8

    <iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/zMld0jFuEN8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
  10. Bobk0

    Bobk0 MacGyver Minded.

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Oddometer:
    1,018
    Location:
    Around that over there.
    Anyone else have a Gopro die of unnatural causes? My Hero 2 decided to just fry itself. I never abused it or anything and one day it stopped working. I bought a new battery and nothing changed...still dead. Called gopro and they told me to press a series of button combinations.....when I did the camera blinked the front LED a couple of times.....Gopro then confirmed it was dead . I have no clue why it died and they did not elaborate on why...They offered me 20% off of a new one....I would love to have the 3 black or 4....but can they guarantee it is not gonna fry itself! :dunno
  11. simonpig

    simonpig droppin' jewels

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,434
    Location:
    NYC
    Thanks for that. What a snot fest. Track looks funs though. I see some 60 fps in my future.

  12. tmgs

    tmgs ...Trailers are for Boats

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,010
    Location:
    N. E. Georgia, Space Coast FL.(sometimes)

    we bought a hero black a year ago and really do not use it at all, its just again to try and upload videos they are so big, and when I try to use a smaller resolution the video is horrible

    heck I dont even know where my hero 3 + black edition is right now :(
  13. TavisB

    TavisB @TavisB

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Oddometer:
    481
    Location:
    PGH
    Try using the GoPro editing software to create a short clip to try. Edit it up and then upload to YouTube. Short clips are better than long and low quality IMO.
  14. Rider

    Rider Spectacularly Correct

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Oddometer:
    26,953
    Location:
    Real America
    It's the same route I went.
    I got the Hero3 White through Amazon. A buddy had given me an Original Hero (which actually seems to work fairly well), with lots of accessories (for helmet, suction cup, etc.) but I wanted something with better video quality and the WiFi feature for the GoPro app.
    The app is a nice touch. I won't use it a lot, I suspect, but it's a good way to frame things since the less expensive GoPros don't feature any kind of screen preview. The menu isn't the world's most intuitive but it works. I've done a couple of quick vids just for testing purposes and am very impressed.
    I also downloaded the GoPro Studio program and really like it. Hey, I'm not a videographer or film maker. I just want something that shoots nice video on the fly on the bike, some decent still pics here and there and the ability to edit the vids so they don't show five minutes of me staring at the lens, trying to figure out if the thing is on. :lol3
    To me, it's all about memories; making and keeping them. Everything else is icing on the cake.
  15. Zanotti

    Zanotti Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Oddometer:
    704
    Location:
    Philly
    Got a Hero4 Silver for Christmas. Still figuring the whole thing out, but some cool photos from a chest mount on time time lapse mode:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The snow/sleet/rain here in Philly is slowing me down!

    Z
  16. StuartV

    StuartV Motorcyclist Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,934
    Location:
    Manassas, VA
    When I got my Hero 3, I opted for the Black because of the better low light performance, compared to the white(?) and silver(?). I figured, even if I only shoot 720p/30, better low light performance will make, for example, rides through shaded foresty areas look better. Just something to consider when you're shopping....
  17. philth

    philth www.motorbikin.com.au

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Oddometer:
    7,407
    Location:
    bald knob
    anyone tried the new hero hd with no wifi, for half the price?
  18. Rider

    Rider Spectacularly Correct

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Oddometer:
    26,953
    Location:
    Real America
    Just returned from a Caribbean cruise and I took my GoPro Hero3 White Edition with me about everywhere. Very impressed with both video quality (I shot in 1080p/30) and battery life. Can't wait for spring to get here so I can shoot some motorcycle stuff. :clap
  19. CraigBKK

    CraigBKK I ride to both find and forget myself...

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Oddometer:
    415
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    Yes I have one along with a few other models. For the relatively cheap price I thought it's worth a try.

    For basic use it's a great choice. I mostly use it for low shots attached to the rear of the bike, both video and time-lapse stills like the attached pic. Highlights are blown but it was a bright day. I wouldn't want to use my Hero 4 in that position in case I came off and damaged it.

    [​IMG]