Got a GPS on your F800GS Let's See it

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by f800guy, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. HighTechCoonass

    HighTechCoonass Living the Dream....

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Oddometer:
    3,205
    Location:
    land of the swamps!, Cajun Country LA
    [​IMG]

    I bought one of these for my Iphone (gps)... works fantastic for every day running around.... should work great with the ever changing GPS...
  2. poppy510

    poppy510 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Oddometer:
    31
  3. slowpoke

    slowpoke Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    108
    Location:
    415
    How the hell can you even see your instrument gauges?:huh
  4. poppy510

    poppy510 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Oddometer:
    31
    It looks a little exaggerated in the first photo. Truth is, the real problem is seeing the GPS...even with the sunshade you can't really see the damn thing. :baldy
    [​IMG]
  5. Yip

    Yip Dirtlover

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    32
    Location:
    Saigon, Vietnam
    [​IMG]
    This is mine. :)
  6. OZZY-DUCK

    OZZY-DUCK Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    540
    Location:
    Curled up in the corner
    hi ,

    This is my setup.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Works well and its were it needs to be.:clap
  7. thleon

    thleon Theo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Is it stable enough? Are there any vibrations on the GPS?
  8. OZZY-DUCK

    OZZY-DUCK Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    540
    Location:
    Curled up in the corner
    There are some as the hole instrument cluster moves also . The Touratech mount has rubber mounts. Have not done a lot with this setup but so far so good.
  9. Calgary06

    Calgary06 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Calgary
    That's where I have my montana. I is ok on the highway but once offroad it bounces quite badly. I've mounted it using a ram mount and a new hole drilled in the metal frame. I was thinking of attempting something similar to what Mike.C did one for extra support. There is a lot of stuff to bend around down by the triple clamps though...

    (can't seem to paste the link from my phone. Post 388 from the D3 who's got one thread.)

    http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?p=20145289
  10. OZZY-DUCK

    OZZY-DUCK Been here awhile Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Oddometer:
    540
    Location:
    Curled up in the corner
    Yeah I saw that post but he had a 650 which has a lot more room around the triples.
  11. pilesofmiles

    pilesofmiles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,017
    Location:
    Western NC
  12. Calgary06

    Calgary06 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    Oddometer:
    186
    Location:
    Calgary
    Do you know which Montana BMW is using? Camera or no camera?
  13. pilesofmiles

    pilesofmiles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,017
    Location:
    Western NC
    Not sure, but will post up after install.
  14. 73datsun

    73datsun Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Oddometer:
    271
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Garmin 660
    Expensive Touratech GPS Bracket Adapter (connects to the handle bar clamps)
    Expensive locking Touratech GPS holder thingy (while expensive, it is well made)
    Touratech sun shield, certainly not worth the dough, hardly effective

    [​IMG]
  15. pilesofmiles

    pilesofmiles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,017
    Location:
    Western NC
    Here is the GPS I ordered and hope to have installed this Saturday. I think heads up display of GPS info
    so that the rider (me) is not looking down at his handle bars even for a second is the way to go. I had this set up on my R1200 ADV and it worked great. Just my experience.

    Edit; Dealer called and told me that the new GPS is not in the US yet, but my order is in. I told him
    no worries.


    [​IMG]
  16. thleon

    thleon Theo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    I am wondering if this screen bar fits on the old f800gs
  17. dannyboydesigns

    dannyboydesigns Adventurer

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Oddometer:
    11
    Location:
    Butte Montana
    where did you get your bar and what gps do you have?
  18. ADV-Rob

    ADV-Rob Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Oddometer:
    41
    Location:
    Rainy Washington
    Any idea if there is a part no. for that hoop that the GPS is sitting on yet? I'd be curious as to the price and if it works with other bikes before I start fabricating something.
  19. thleon

    thleon Theo

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    Athens, Greece
    Seems that it will work with the other models, but we need to see the part and the installation on the bike to be sure.
  20. pilesofmiles

    pilesofmiles Long timer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,017
    Location:
    Western NC
    The w/s bar is standard on the 2014 ADV package. The GPS is an option can be ordered through BMW.
    As for a part number, my dealer just received the fiche cd for this new model and is updating his computers. My GPS has been ordered from BMW in Germany so I suspect it may be a few weeks before I see it. Everything else I ordered panniers, top case, bash plate, will be added this Saturday.

    Side note, the ADV model does have self canceling turn signals which I thought was pretty decent of BMW.