Got a GPS on your F800GS Let's See it

Discussion in 'Parallel Universe' started by f800guy, Mar 23, 2009.

  1. bbenn75820

    bbenn75820 Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,308
    They have worldwide shipping. Or look up Techmount products on ebay.
  2. Canada Mike

    Canada Mike Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    470
    Location:
    Langley BC
  3. Canada Mike

    Canada Mike Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Oddometer:
    470
    Location:
    Langley BC
    Wunderlich screen with a little welding.
  4. KTM Deano

    KTM Deano Adventurer

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Oddometer:
    84
    Just fitted the Burak Tavil mount. Wanted my GPS at eye level rather than mounted down on the handlebars. Perfect fit
    BygDaddee likes this.
  5. PatrickM

    PatrickM Been here awhile

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Oddometer:
    449
    Location:
    Zephyr Cove, NV
    Had the Garmin Montana (650T) for a few years until the screen died on me. Even with a screen protector, the display (primarily the plastic part covering the glass touchscreen) disintegrated due to exposure.

    Picked up a replacement touchscreen for $20, but it's simply not salvageable. The touchscreen connector is a ribbon cable soldered to another ribbon cable. Free if anyone wants it as I'm simply not going to fix it (message me with your address).

    Though I did pick up a nice replacement Garmin 680 from GPS city though, along with another screen protector. When I'm on the road, I'll fire up the cell phone (Samsung Galaxy S5 ... waterproof) for Waze. The Garmin's are a lot more sturdy though!
  6. supasonic

    supasonic Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Oddometer:
    317
    Location:
    Germany
    Heya, that kind of mount is this? Where did you get it from? I don´t see any of this on the TT pages.
  7. Trekka273

    Trekka273 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Oddometer:
    224
    Location:
    Sunbury, Victoria, Australia
    supasonic likes this.
  8. supasonic

    supasonic Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Oddometer:
    317
    Location:
    Germany
    Thx a lot!
  9. RvGS

    RvGS Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
    TWC4, BMWPE and N4pSt3R like this.
  10. Timinator999

    Timinator999 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Oddometer:
    45
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Hey AFdude, how much do you trust the X-grip?
    Do you use the rubber "bra" that comes with it or do you let your phone ride naked?
    Anybody have issues with phones coming loose using this?
  11. SONICJK

    SONICJK Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Oddometer:
    75
    Location:
    Bell Buckle, TN
    I run my phone in one without the little rubber guy with no issue. I've even dumped it a few times and the phone stays stuck in there.
  12. Timinator999

    Timinator999 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Oddometer:
    45
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Thanks for the info SONICJK. Good to know.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
  13. TanBerk

    TanBerk Riding a 2016 F800GSA

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    13
    Location:
    Istanbul and Sydney
    The four button cradle comes without the necessary hardware to mount it on the bar, I think the best option is to go with the Touratech lockable mount, in the meantime I used the good old RAM mount to hold the cradle for the Nav V.

    IMG_7994.JPG

    Attached Files:

  14. CobraSnakeNecktie

    CobraSnakeNecktie Coachella Valley SoCal 2014 F800gs

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Oddometer:
    72
    Location:
    Rancho Mirage California
    Anybody try using an App like Scenic with offline maps and Iphone etc? Shouldn't the GPS chip still tell a rider location? Sure no glove friendly buttons and could shutoff from heat.
  15. Sjones423

    Sjones423 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Hey all, is the BMW Nav V compatible with the F800GSA? If so, is there any special cradle you need for it? A friend is trading in his ‘15 1200GSA and is letting me have the sat nav from it for a great price.

    I’ve heard the standard cradle has too short of a lead for it. Anyone tried?

    Thanks!
  16. TanBerk

    TanBerk Riding a 2016 F800GSA

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    13
    Location:
    Istanbul and Sydney
    Hello I am using Nav5 on my 2016 F800GSA. It does not show fuel consumptions, gears and tire pressures and all other bike info as it does on a 1200 but who needs them :) I separately bought a 4 button cradle and it is super easy to use the Nav whilst riding with that. I used a short arm RAM mount to attach the cradle to the stock navigation bar. The wiring was not as long as I hoped but it was spot on, no worries. I hope the photos help.

    Attached Files:

  17. Sjones423

    Sjones423 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Sweet, thanks. What are your thoughts on the sat nav?
  18. TanBerk

    TanBerk Riding a 2016 F800GSA

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    13
    Location:
    Istanbul and Sydney
    Well, it works great when you ride on paved roads, I just updated the full European map and it is brilliant. When I do ride off road which I often do, it is worthless but there are some apps for that.
  19. Sjones423

    Sjones423 Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Oddometer:
    118
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Thanks, did you just use the standard R1200GS mount for it?
  20. TanBerk

    TanBerk Riding a 2016 F800GSA

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Oddometer:
    13
    Location:
    Istanbul and Sydney