Has anyone used the Zoleo satellite communicator?

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by MotorcycleWriter, Oct 19, 2020.

1. MotorcycleWriter

MotorcycleWriter Vis ad locum

Oddometer:
    I have no experience with this but ran across it looking at various options for something like Garmin InReach or equivalent for motorcycling and back country skiing.

https://www.zoleo.com/en-us/
  2. seasdes

seasdes Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I purchased a Zoleo two months ago. Haven't used it on a trip yet. I have tested it rigorously at home. Easy enough to use. Works well. Cant see why it wouldn't work as well on a trip.
  3. gpsdualsport

gpsdualsport former mid life crisis motorcycle owner

Oddometer:
    Just did a quick read on Zoleo's website. I did not seen anything about live tracking capability.
    This is a deal breaker for me.
  4. seasdes

seasdes Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Its not a tracker. However, you can send your location manually at any time.
    If you want a tracker use YBTracking.
    I have both.
  5. SK_in_AB

SK_in_AB LOOKin to GS

Oddometer:
    Can you help me understand what you use tracking for? I have a spot 3 but am looking to have 2-way text capability out of cell range and I think the zoleo may be better priced than the new SPOT. I haven't used spot tracking and think my new Garmin XT can store routes I travel for as much as i need them. Not a huge long distance off the grid ADV guy so I'm just interested to know what your use tracking for.
  6. 250senuf

250senuf Long timer

Oddometer:
    If one suffers a serious crash and can't activate SOS, having tracking on narrows the search area.
    peterhively and ohgood like this.
  7. SK_in_AB

SK_in_AB LOOKin to GS

Oddometer: