Heat troller with neutral lockout

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by Louge, Mar 27, 2006.

  1. Louge

    Louge silence of the limbs

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,554
    Location:
    yellow house 25 miles NW of the white house
    I installed a Powerlet and Heat Troller in the left panel. The Heat Troller LED is below the panel surface.
    #1
  2. Louge

    Louge silence of the limbs

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,554
    Location:
    yellow house 25 miles NW of the white house
    Heat Troller resident in right panel. The relay removes power when the engine is in neutral.
    #2
  3. Louge

    Louge silence of the limbs

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,554
    Location:
    yellow house 25 miles NW of the white house
    Interconnecting cable.
    #3
  4. Louge

    Louge silence of the limbs

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,554
    Location:
    yellow house 25 miles NW of the white house
    Power tapped from ACC2. The carb heaters are on this same circuit which probably derates it to 7A when under the heater temp sensor threshold.
    #4
  5. Pointman0853

    Pointman0853 Unregistered Gun Owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,552
    Location:
    Douglas County, Nevada
    So, it looks like you went from 16-18ga wire from the Acc2 up to 12-14ga to the heat troller? Mighta' been safer pulling this from the battery direct via a fuse.

    Do you carry a fire extinguisher on your nine-fiddy? It could get :grim.

    Pointman
    #5
  6. Louge

    Louge silence of the limbs

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,554
    Location:
    yellow house 25 miles NW of the white house
    Why?
    #6
  7. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,540
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Because the load carrying ability of 12-14 gauge wire exceeds that of the 16-18 gauge. So, you potentially can overload the smaller diameter wire and cause a meltdown, or worse, a fire.

    That supposes that the fuse won't blow first if the load exceeds the circuit's limits. Wouldn't count on it myself.

    If you ran a wire to the battery with the proper fuse in line, you could carry the maximum amperage for the larger diameter wire. You can always use a relay in the circuit to switch things on if you want to use the other circuit for control purposes.

    Dave
    #7
  8. Orangetwin411

    Orangetwin411 Katoom Rider

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Oddometer:
    292
    Location:
    Vernon, NJ
    Nice. clean install Louge :uhhuh
    #8
  9. Pointman0853

    Pointman0853 Unregistered Gun Owner

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,552
    Location:
    Douglas County, Nevada
    #9
  10. Foto Veloce

    Foto Veloce The Free Radical

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Oddometer:
    375
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #10
  11. Louge

    Louge silence of the limbs

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Oddometer:
    1,554
    Location:
    yellow house 25 miles NW of the white house
    Relax fellas, 18AWG load carrying capacity with any of the common jacket materials is comfortably beyond the circuit's 10A rating. My Gerbing's jacket liner has a 77W draw of which I'm typically using 30-40W or less than 4A via the Heat Troller.

    Hooking the circuit directly to the battery would invariably result in a no-go situation.

    The relay takes my Gerbings jacket liner offline at idle when the bike's charging system is in the most compromised position to support it. My sensitivity to this comes from running an Evoluzione ignition amp on the Mille. At idle it ran a charging deficit.

    After doing load analysis / wiring Iron Butt winners this is small potatoes.
    #11
  12. 9Dave

    9Dave Bazinga!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Oddometer:
    13,540
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Errrr, OK. But, I don't get your point.

    Mine was not to downgrade wire gauge and fuse for the heavier gauge as this could cause serious problems. And if you want to put in some kind of shutoff, you can do that with a relay.

    Dave
    #12