Helmet science nerds: Why is crash.org.au ignored?

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by ukAdventurer, Feb 14, 2020.

1. ukAdventurer

ukAdventurer Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I’m no expert but I’m fascinated by PPE science. Particularly related to helmet testing.

My question is why is the Australian helmet testing called crash.org.au never mentioned?

https://crash.org.au/

I only recently sort of stumbled upon it. Everybody talks about ECE, DOT, Snell and Sharp. But I can’t remember ever seeing Aussie “crash” mentioned. It’s odd because they test in ways that others don’t and give scores not pass/fail. Which I love. Uniquely, they test oblique impacts on a moving road surface with a head form with a flexible “neck”. This seems much more realistic than a vertical drop. They also test quite a lot of “dual-purpose” helmets which Sharp ignores.

worth a look? Or don’t care?

my helmet scored well (in the top 4)

CFA98342-10C4-4E5B-8149-0EC36E2DC067.jpeg
  2. JimVonBaden

JimVonBaden "Cool" Aid! Supporter

Oddometer:
    Well, if you want opinions on this, how about a link?
    Peltsi likes this.
  3. ukAdventurer

Oddometer:
    fair enough. I added a hyperlink and a sample of the test on my current lid.
  4. C/1/509

C/1/509 Now with more sarcasm

Oddometer:
    Interesting
  5. rider1150gsadv

rider1150gsadv Long timer

Oddometer:
    Interesting indeed. With so many countries having their own standards, who is to say which are/is the definitive one(s)? All I can conclude out of any test results is that it is best to buy the lid that fits the best and has the highest ratings over a broad range. YMMV
    SmittyBlackstone and JimVonBaden like this.
  6. JimVonBaden

Oddometer: