Hey Creeper - New BST

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by accadacca, Feb 7, 2005.

1. accadacca

accadacca Hard Rocker

Oddometer:
    Hey Creeper,

I know that you are still running the BST 40. I decided to put this post on ADVrider instead of the other forum, because there are probably more over here that are running it. Anyhow I have read quite a bit on the carb but I am just beginning to get my feet wet. I have a 96 620 RXC. Right now it has a Dellorto. Which has worked pretty good, except it coughs at low revs and when the bike gets hot it likes to stall at low revs.

<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    I bought a brand new BST with throttle, cables, etc. It came off of a 03 625 SXC unused. My Dad is running this same carb on his 625. He had some initial problems with it. Then he went to the local KTM shop to buy an extended fuel mixture screw. They gave him a Zip Ty Racing FMS-01 screw. (http://ziptyracing.com/display/eCommerce/Products.asp?CategoryID=110&order=) Which is made for the FCR. However it fits and works really well for the BST. Some have complained about its venerability, because it protrudes below the bottom of the carb. Well the idle screw does the same thing and is the same distance.

<o:p></o:p>
    Anyway I am thinking of buying this same screw. When my Dad bought this screw and adjusted it, he has been really happy with the bike. Although I think he is probably running a little bit on the lean side. Well before I ramble any longer I am looking for some settings from someone who is using this carb. The carb is coming to me untouched and with the stock jets. It is supposed to come today. I live at 4500ft and ride up to 10,000ft. I am running the stock UGS Supertrapp exhaust.

Thanks in advance for any input,

Accadacca