High Tech Fuse Block

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by craftycoder, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. DRjoe

    DRjoe Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,181
    Location:
    Sunshine coast qld
    That is very cool.
    How hard would it be for you to make it so engine sensors can be plumed directly into it for non fuel injected and non standard obd systems?
    Things like oil pressure, water temp, fuel flow, fuel level.

    I could see this replacing boat guages with one tablet with a dash display.
    It would make for very clean installs.

    Switches and dash display all in one tablet that you can remove from the boat whilst its not in use.
  2. craftycoder

    craftycoder Motobrain PDU

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,361
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Anything that has an analog signal will work with the current version of the hardware.

  3. DRjoe

    DRjoe Long timer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Oddometer:
    7,181
    Location:
    Sunshine coast qld
    Awesome
  4. AteamNM

    AteamNM Wonna Be ADVrider

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,093
    Location:
    Sandia Mountains New Mexico
    I have a very simple question, coming from a guy who is electrically challenged not charged. I have Klein stripper/cutter pliers, assortment of heat shrink and connectors. My issue is I have 4 connectors into my battery. Main bike power, GPS, plug adapter/cig outlet and Oxford heated grips. What would be a very simple relay that I can mount in one place and eliminate a lot of wires? Small and simple works best for me. Rat nest mess above the battery.

    https://ateamnm.smugmug.com/Bike-Pics-Stuff/i-HDJP669/0/L/DSCF6998-L.jpg
    [​IMG]
  5. craftycoder

    craftycoder Motobrain PDU

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,361
    Location:
    Atlanta
    You could try a Motobrain. It will allow you to move to one pair of wires to the battery and then route you other wires to the motobrain placed someplace else more convenient. No more relays and your switches and dimmers can use small wire instead of heavy wire. Makes for a rather neat install.
    AteamNM likes this.
  6. Texcollect

    Texcollect Adventurer wannabe

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    246
    Any update on the availability of the next batch of Motobrains?
  7. dwoodward

    dwoodward Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Oddometer:
    7,443
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWet, Napa Valley North
    KLR, isn't it...
  8. AteamNM

    AteamNM Wonna Be ADVrider

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Oddometer:
    5,093
    Location:
    Sandia Mountains New Mexico
    :nod
  9. alpi

    alpi Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Oddometer:
    82
    Location:
    N of Toronto, S of Algonquin
    Also interested in the availability of the next batch of Motobrains... any ETA ?
  10. draco_1967

    draco_1967 Spoon!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    493
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    I finally got my Motobrain installed this winter. Luckily, there is ample space under the plastics on the NC700X. This picture isn't the completed wiring, so it is still a little messy in the photo. I took a picture of the completed wiring, but it was a out of focus :dirtdog

    [​IMG]

    I also made an auxiliary dash panel for the inputs with status LEDs.

    [​IMG]

    I'm really pleased with how easy it is to program everything. I know I'm not using it to the fullest of it's capabilities, but I am using it exactly how I need it. If I were to get another bike and need to farkle a lot of electronic goodies, I would get another Motobrain. :clap
  11. Luckycharms

    Luckycharms Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Oddometer:
    220
    Location:
    Southeast Pa
    Wow. That is first class right there. You should do a full write up on the creation and wiring of this. I know I would be interested.
  12. Bad Wolf

    Bad Wolf High functioning sociopath

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Oddometer:
    19,795
    Location:
    Galactic sector zz9 plural z Alpha
    eject....:lol3
    tommu56 likes this.
  13. draco_1967

    draco_1967 Spoon!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Oddometer:
    493
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    I'm working on that. I'll post a link when I get it finished.

    My wife wants me to change it to "Banana," but I'm using that to trigger an actuator that pops up the rear seat for the fuel tank :ear
  14. Texcollect

    Texcollect Adventurer wannabe

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Oddometer:
    246
    It figures. When these were available I had no money and now when I have some spare cash they are out of stock !!
  15. nvklr

    nvklr Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Oddometer:
    607
    Location:
    Carson City
    I could probably part with mine, it's been out of the box and connected to a artery to check it out but never installed. I'd sell it for what I paid if I can figure that out. Lol
  16. beechum1

    beechum1 Dandole Gas al Burro

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,580
    Location:
    Your mother's
    I bet Crafty is in talks with either a licensing, partnering, or selling deal. I haven't seen much on the FB page either....
  17. igormortis

    igormortis Cafe Reise

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,671
    Location:
    Wellington, NZ
    Any news? I hope so, because there aren't really any alternatives that I can see!
  18. dnrobertson

    dnrobertson Big Bike, Slow Rider

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,394
    Location:
    Frankston, Australia
    I posted the same question on the Facebook page a week ago and was told: "not yet!"
  19. igormortis

    igormortis Cafe Reise

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,671
    Location:
    Wellington, NZ
    There is a competitor, but I think I like this one better...
    EUBikeDude likes this.
  20. srob3

    srob3 Grasshopper

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Oddometer:
    50
    Location:
    East Tn