Home and back again - NY to OR, a couple BDRs and back

Discussion in 'Ride Reports - Epic Rides' started by LazerDanger, Aug 21, 2019.

1. LazerDanger

LazerDanger Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I just defended my dissertation on Monday, finishing my PhD studies. My advisor has given me the go-ahead to take an extended leave, but I'll be returning as a postdoc to finish a few projects. I'm still in a state of disbelief that I'm done and that he is letting me check-out for a whole month. I plan on making the most of it.

I really debated whether to try to write a ride report for the trip, but I've never been good at documenting my previous adventures. I hate social media (don't have Twitter, FaceBook, etc.) and closely guard my online anonymity, but I'm hoping that starting this will inspire me to keep a running log. Also, I need motivation for documenting and photographing the trip.

As for background I've been riding for 16 years on and off, almost entirely road bikes. Four years ago my dad, a family friend and I rode from my home in Portland, OR out to Ithaca, NY. I did it on a 1978 Triumph Bonneville. The bike broke down constantly, but we made it and had a great time. I was nearly run over by a buffalo, had to do wheel bearings in Marquette, MI, and came home with more stories than anyone I know wants to hear. After making the trip the bike needed a ground-up rebuild, which I promptly started and am about 1/2 through (grad student hours don't leave time for wrenching). Two years ago I bought an Africa Twin and promptly started riding dirt roads and Jeep trails in the area. Since then I've been itching for another epic adventure. Two years ago I did a big loop around the coast through the Maritime Provinces to Quebec then back through Maine, NH, and VT. Last summer I went through MI to see family then up through the UP and TCH around to thousand islands and down through the Adirondacks. This trip will dwarf them.