How do I download OSM maps????

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Doogle, Jul 15, 2020.

Tags:
  1. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,215
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Is there some reason you have to stay under 4gb??

    Can't you just buy a larger SDCard?
    #21
  2. Doogle

    Doogle Do it while you can Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio and Surprise,Arizona
    The max SD card that can be used with Zumo 550 is 4Gb.
    #22
  3. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,215
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Oof. That stings. This is why I use a rugged cell phone as a dedicated GPS device. It's got 160gb available...
    #23
  4. Doogle

    Doogle Do it while you can Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio and Surprise,Arizona
    I have an old Samsung phone as a backup. My old eyes need a bigger screen. Phones also have an SD card size limit. That was an issue for my on previous phones.
    #24
  5. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,215
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Sure. The SDCard limit these days is 256gb or more....
    #25
  6. Doogle

    Doogle Do it while you can Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio and Surprise,Arizona
    Also, the GPS is more rugged and very waterproof.
    #26
  7. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,215
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Wait. Bigger screen?! What?

    The Zumo 550 is 3.5 inches..

    A Kyocera duraforce pro is 5 inches...

    The ulefone Armor X5 that I use is 5.5 inches.
    Lol. Ok. If you think so.
    #27
  8. Doogle

    Doogle Do it while you can Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio and Surprise,Arizona
    Of the dozen or so GPS's I have/had the only one I bought new was Garmin without roads displayed (early2000). Since then I have been given or bought used GPS's from friends.

    I would cry if I lost my smart phone. If I lost my GPS, I would buy another without too much pain. 3.5 inches is a good size. At least I have my wife thinking that.
    #28
  9. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,215
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    A Kyocera duraforce pro is less than $100 on eBay. I've gotten them for as little as $55 shipped.

    I'm not talking about using your everyday phone. A dedicated device.
    #29
  10. road_apple

    road_apple Hit the Trail

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Oddometer:
    656
    Location:
    Sometimes here, sometimes there
    Back in olden times there was a thread about using 8GB cards in Zumo 550 for music storage with no porblems.
    #30
    flamingm0e likes this.
  11. worwig

    worwig Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,018
    Location:
    Hog Mountain
    The power connector on my Garmin Street Pilot burned up when it got wet.
    The screen was not sealed well, and my Garmin 276C filled with water and was destroyed.

    My waterproof phones have never had a problem other than the touch screen acting up when wet.
    I can add hundreds of gig of storage. Install dozens of nav app.

    Sorry, I gave up on the overpriced and fragile Garmins years ago.
    #31
    flamingm0e likes this.
  12. Doogle

    Doogle Do it while you can Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio and Surprise,Arizona
    Flamingmoe got me reconsidering the phone option. I take my old Samsung phone as a backup. It has a 5" screen, takes up less space, longer battery life, and is waterproof. Maybe I'll try using it around home to get familiar with it again.
    #32
    flamingm0e likes this.
  13. flamingm0e

    flamingm0e Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Oddometer:
    2,215
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Once you figure it out, you will wonder why you were using anything else before.

    It DOES take a little time to set up and get used to though, I won't lie. But it is so worth it.

    If you want it to mimic a "traditional" GPS unit, you can try something like TomTom Go (yearly subscription). I'm on the fence about its value in my toolbox of apps, but it certainly is easy, and has a great web interface to create routes/upload tracks, that automatically sync to your device over WiFi.
    #33
  14. EmmEff

    EmmEff Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,336
    Location:
    Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
    My only major complaint about TomTom Go is the content of the maps. There’s a lot missing where I ride :(
    #34
    flamingm0e likes this.
  15. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,161
    Location:
    alabama
    the kyocera xd has a 5.7" screen, replaceable battery, 16gb on board + sdcard slot, loudspeaker, NFC for paying for gas touch free, real Bluetooth built in so you can transfer files to other modern devices, play music over Bluetooth, access wireless obd2 sensors etc, real wifi so you can download map updates in seconds, transfer HUGE files to other modern devices quickly,

    oh ya, it's rugged/waterproof too, buuuuuuut that's a given nowadays, for modern devices

    :-)
    #35
  16. Cataract2

    Cataract2 Where to?

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Oddometer:
    11,231
    Location:
    NH
    Screen dimming due to heat? What about wireless charging?
    #36
  17. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,161
    Location:
    alabama
    the pro Kyocera dims in heat, I haven't noticed it on the xd. no, wireless charging is not available on the xd, but it does have external charging points
    #37
    NxtGoRnd likes this.
  18. Doogle

    Doogle Do it while you can Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,211
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio and Surprise,Arizona
    Things have changed. My Zumo screen was having "Ghost touches." I ordered a new screen and tft. I installed but it was DOA. Decided not to bother trying another. Will circular file the old GPS. My old Samsung phone is now loaded and ready to go. Water proof and I have a spare battery. It is easier to remove and carry in my pocket.
    #38
  19. Stinky

    Stinky Team Hematoma

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Oddometer:
    566
    Location:
    NW WA
    Back to the original post- I’ve spent half the day trying to make sense of all this on a Mac to no avail. I am no stranger to tech, but this is an absolutely ridiculous process. I know you get what you pay for but it’s impossible for me to believe that in 2020 all this is necessary. It feels like 1995. Guess I’ll continue to live with the shitty Garmin maps. Rant off.
    #39
  20. Jamie Z

    Jamie Z I'm serious. Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Oddometer:
    10,998
    Location:
    Around Denver
    Hey Stinky,

    I'm no expert at this stuff, and I haven't used Garmin in quite a few years, but the OSM Garmin maps should be pretty straightforward. You select the area you're interested on the map, then tell the website to email you the map file. Depending on the area you've chosen, the wait could be instantaneous, or it could take a little bit. Once you get the link to the map, you should be able to download it, transfer it to your SD card or Garmin device, and it'll work. It's not a one-button operation, but it's pretty simple overall.

    I did notice that the openstreetmap website was telling me that there was some server issues at the moment, so I'm not sure if that's what is holding you back... but if you could be more descriptive on what problem you're having, perhaps someone here can nudge you along in the right direction.

    Jamie
    #40
    EmmEff likes this.