How do you bypass a waypoint using the Zumo 660?

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by Mastery, Apr 2, 2016.

  1. Mastery

    Mastery Mr. Funny Man

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,435
    Location:
    Hoosier Daddy?
    On the Garmin Zumo 660, how do you bypass a way-point on a route and get the device to forget about it and direct you to the next way-point that is programmed so it doesn't keep trying to make you turn around and visit the one you intentionally passed?

    If I plan a day long route between points A and B, I may have 5 way-points a few miles off the main route to go look at something. By the middle of the day, I'm usually behind schedule and need to skip a way-point. Problem is when I drive by the shown turn, the 660 keeps trying to get me to turn around until I go visit the missed way-point.

    My workaround has been reloading the route into the Zumo as I ride and when it asks me if I want to navigate to the start of the route, I pick no. Only then does it track to the next way-point coming up.

    I figure there is an easy way to bypass it when it tries to start turning me around, but I'm either missing it in the menu or don't have something set up right.

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. boney

    boney Ride > Post Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,680
    Location:
    Sonoma CA
    I don't know how the 660 does it but I'll include how the 595 does it just in case yous works the same or other people read through...

    When navigating the next turn is indicated at the top of the screen. If you touch the distance it gives you the next turn information. Not very useful if you ask me.... If you touch the street name though, it shows you the turn-by-turn directions for the route. The 595 has the route broken down by sections, from one waypoint to the next. At the top of each section, there is a "go to RV123" button while the rest of the section shows you how it's actually going to get there according to the current route. If one were to scroll down to a random waypoint on the route and hit the "go to" button, it re-routes you to that waypoint with the rest of the route to follow.
    #2
  3. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    7,956
    Location:
    47°50′15.8″N, 119°56′21.9″W
    The zumo 660/665 do not have a "Skip" Waypoint feature. The process you are using is about all you can do with that device.
    #3
  4. Mastery

    Mastery Mr. Funny Man

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Oddometer:
    2,435
    Location:
    Hoosier Daddy?
    Thanks for the reply, DRTBYK. I figured that was it...just wanted to confirm with somebody else in case I was missing the obvious. Much appreciate the response.
    #4
  5. ontrip

    ontrip Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Oddometer:
    620
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Actually you can modify the route by using the add or remove feature and delete the way point (s)
    #5
  6. Simple_One

    Simple_One Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Oddometer:
    55
    So, once you have your route calculated with some waypoints (or stops added as 'via'), go to:

    Menu >
    Tools >
    Custom Routes >
    Current Route >
    Add or Remove Points

    Under this menu you can also reorder points and re calc etc.
    #6
    Dan Diego likes this.
  7. wbbnm

    wbbnm Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    5,080
    Location:
    MN and NM
    Navigate with tracks, but still display waypoints. But no turn-by-turn information.
    #7
  8. wonderings

    wonderings Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    1,899
    Location:
    New Hamburg, Ontario
    Would be nice to have the option to skip. I have had a few weird routes because I placed a waypoint in BaseCamp without looking closely at where it actually landed (zoomed too far out). Would have me do this square in a downtown area. I learned to just follow it as it was easier then trying to sort it out on the nav itself. It has also caused me to look more closely when creating a route to avoid this situation. Have not had it in a while and my 660 is now a backup nav while I use the BMW Nav V. Not sure if that Nav V is any different in this regard and allows me to skip a waypoint, will definitely be trying it out.
    #8