How I removed servo iabs brakes on my 05 :clap

Discussion in 'GS Boxers' started by drdata, Jul 13, 2014.

1. drdata

drdata R1200GS

Oddometer:
    Hey all, see below for context:
    http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=975707
    http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?p=24555835

The purpose of this thread is to document the removal of servo iabs from my 05 gs to convert to regular brakes.

First, the legal stuff.

You should not attempt this. I am no expert. ABS brakes can save your life. You will loose abs and brake linking as well as power assist. You will have to attend Harley training so as to be able to "lay 'er down" in the event you need to stop at over .25 Gs. ;)

If you do this, you will mostly likely die. This is for information only.

Now for the how to. I plan to break (pun intended) this down into three parts:

1. Rear brake
    2. Font brake
    3. servo-ectmy and whatever fallout ensues, such as broken speedo.

Edit: now complete except for final speedo test. So far the brakes feel fine and blinkers/brake light is working.
  2. drdata

drdata R1200GS

Oddometer:
    In this part I detail re-plumbing the rear brake line direct to the master cylinder to bypass the servo unit.

I believe the right way is to get part number ! and 4 as shown in:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?p=24554537&postcount=17

I chose to do this with minimal cost, and so simply rerouted the brake line to the MC. The downside is choosing the ideal routing was the hardest part of the job, and in the end I would be worried that jumping/maximum suspension travel may stress the line leading to failure and loss of rear break.

That said, in my current servo fail mode rear brake is gone. Could not lock in residual. After direct MC connection and bleed, the rear wheel locks quite easily, with ignition off!

1. Tools and materials.