How Install A KLR250 Fairing On Your '87-'07 KLR650 Using Stock Klr650 Gauges

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Dez, Apr 21, 2010.

1. Dez

Dez Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Alright, so this is my first attempt at a &#8220;HOW-TO&#8221; so, not that you need any encouragement, but criticize away :evil . If you need a better picture or explanation on something, let me know. So without further adieu, here we go&#8230;<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" /><o:p></o:p>
    <o:p></o:p>
    *HOW TO INSTALL A KLR250 FAIRING ON YOUR 1987-2007 KLR650 USING STOCK KLR650 GAUGES*<o:p></o:p>
    TOOLS REQUIRED:<o:p></o:p>
    -Hack Saw (purchased cheapo one from Home Depot and worked fine)<o:p></o:p>
    -Drill w/ assorted bits<o:p></o:p>
    -Metric wrenches<o:p></o:p>
    -Philips Screwdriver<o:p></o:p>
    That&#8217;s it! If you have these tools, you too can have a KLR250 headlight/fairing on your KLR650 with the stock gauges. You will also have the ability to go back to the stock fairing without any hassle.<o:p></o:p>
    PARTS REQUIRED:<o:p></o:p>
    -KLR250 Fairing<o:p></o:p>
    -KLR250 Headlight Frame, Bracket and associated hardware<o:p></o:p>
    -(4) 6mm Bolts and Nuts (I used zinc coated hardware from Home Depot)<o:p></o:p>
    OK so now that you have all of your tools and parts together, let&#8217;s get started. This whole process probably took me a total of a few hours to get everything mounted and working. That is taking my time and not including taking everything back apart to repaint the parts I cut. This is so easy, just about anybody could do it.<o:p></o:p>
    STEP 1 &#8211; TEAR IT DOWN: <o:p></o:p>