How to Modify H4 LED to reduce glare -- This is the one you want.

Discussion in 'Vendors' started by spiderman302, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. spiderman302

    spiderman302 Recalculating

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    391
    Location:
    Ventura County
    It is the same bulb. We were getting it direct for $39.xx per pair.

    Ebay is more because of the extra (middlemen) transaction fees. They upgraded the chip to a higher powered chip. I will be getting some in a few days. I will measure the differences. Now everyone can find it.
  2. Dirtwannabe

    Dirtwannabe Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Oddometer:
    724
    Location:
    N.E. Indiana, flat & straight, ugh
    Oops, I stand corrected. I thought the original source was $39 for ONE bulb.

    .......Wow, $39/pair.......that's REALLY reasonable. :super:thumb
  3. Shigeta

    Shigeta Much too curious

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Oddometer:
    91
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Oops. There must have been something missed in translation. I think I just ordered 4 pairs...
  4. spiderman302

    spiderman302 Recalculating

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    391
    Location:
    Ventura County
    I bet you have friends with motorcycles who will buy the extras off of you.

    I created a new thread and someone moved it to the trash can.... Somebody, is not happy...
  5. JensEskildsen

    JensEskildsen Long timer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Oddometer:
    2,231
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sucks, just purchased one for around 50 shipped :( Oeh well...
  6. Maoule

    Maoule Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,668
    Location:
    KCMO
    Easy there, Spidey...you're doing a great job; don't start making aluminum foil hats.
  7. spiderman302

    spiderman302 Recalculating

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    391
    Location:
    Ventura County
    I think they over compensated on the twist. The ST has slop so I was able to make it level without any effort. If the twist is at the stops you can bend the driver side shield up and the passenger side shield down a few degrees to make it level. I am having the same issue with the DRZ housing. Or if you over torque the bulb, It will push past the stop (with out breaking anything) and you can get it level. I tried this on three bulbs with out breaking the plastic nubs. The mounting ring is flexible enough that there is no damage.

    If you twist the fan 1/8 a turn CCW and pull, it will come out of the mount. You can adjust the two wings that are under the low beam element. You only need to move them 5 degrees to level out the beam. It is just a nudge to get this change. if you do not want to move the wings. Reinsert the light into the mount and turn it 1/8 turn CW till it stops. Then continue twisting the fan housing just past the stop another 5 degrees to get it level. It will work. You do not have to do anything to your light housing or bike.

    I gave feed back to the manufacture about this inconvenience. They will look into it. I also heard back that they are working on a "yellow" version. I asked what they meant by "yellow" since I know that some are still looking for a lower color temp.
  8. spiderman302

    spiderman302 Recalculating

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    391
    Location:
    Ventura County
    Here is a Third way to fix the level issue with the G6. I suggested that they just move the pin locations by a few degrees. In the mean time a few of you got these lights. So if you are careful with an small sharp knife you can trim the small plastic pins in the mounting ring. The two pins are different sizes to prevent you from mount the light upside down. I split each pin in half. See photos. I marked the side to remove in red (center photo). I did the same on both sides. The picture on the left is the original. the picture on the right is after it was trimmed. This was enough to get it level.


    mountTrimG6.jpg
  9. spiderman302

    spiderman302 Recalculating

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Oddometer:
    391
    Location:
    Ventura County
    below is the DRZ low beam pattern G3 on top and G6 on the bottom.

    DRZ_G3_G6.jpg
  10. jjxtrider

    jjxtrider questionable

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Oddometer:
    4,303
    Location:
    Halfway to hell (WI.)
    Wow nice sharp cutoff . Just for some more info ,the DRZ headlight is the same as the the '96 -n-up DR650's also so this covers those as well .
  11. biker128pedal

    biker128pedal Super Lurker

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Oddometer:
    6,321
    Location:
    Eastern, VA
    Tempted to try a pair in the Vstrom. It already has owsome lights.
  12. 16VGTIDave

    16VGTIDave Reaver made me do it...

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Oddometer:
    1,407
    Location:
    Drumbo, Ontario, Canada
    Any idea if these lights be made available on Amazon.ca and eBay.ca?
  13. worwig

    worwig Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Hog Mountain
    I stole your picture spiderman..... :wave

    Could someone let me know how much space is needed in the headlight bucket? I would like a rough measurement from the mounting plate, to the back of the heatsink. I have a limited depth in my headlight shell on one bike.


    G6_mounting.jpg
  14. The Letter J

    The Letter J Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,745
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
    Ordered a pair last night, one is going in a te630 and the other in a dr350. I received a pair of the latest Cyclops "convertible" bulbs (the ones with a small shield under the low beam emitters) for Christmas and installed them in my van, they do have a cutoff, but it's pretty fuzzy. Curious to see how these compare (for 1/3 the price!)
  15. Brun

    Brun Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    822
    Location:
    BorderBurg, South East Oz.
    Mine arrived yesterday. Here you go, Worwig - it's 1.75 inches or 44mm:

    [​IMG]

    The fan sucks air from the rear, by the way.
  16. Mikie1

    Mikie1 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Oddometer:
    16
    What headlight is THAT?!? How many watts, lumens, etc?
  17. BobPS

    BobPS Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    599
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    So, The Letter J, how is this bulb in TE 630? Can you please share your experience...like how much better is it compared to the stock bulb? I need better light on my TE 630 and plan to buy aux led lights in the future, but if this bulb works in TE 630 headlight then I may not need to buy aux led lights.
  18. Baroquenride

    Baroquenride Everyone dies, but not everyone truly lives.

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Oddometer:
    4,139
    Location:
    Clark Co, Wa
    FWIW, I have a halogen bulb in my TE610 housing and if I keep it on high while not moving very fast, it'll melt the top of the reflector after awhile. I'm guessing that an led isn't much better in there as I've heard they put out a lot of heat also.
  19. BobPS

    BobPS Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Oddometer:
    599
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Thanks Baroquenride. I have to keep that in mind, especialy since I spend a lot of time riding at slow speed in traffic jam.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  20. worwig

    worwig Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Oddometer:
    1,964
    Location:
    Hog Mountain
    I suspect the LED system would prevent this. They operate at a lower wattage, plus that have the aluminum heat sink to pull the heat out of the reflector to the back of the unit, where a fan blows on it. They get warm, maybe VERY warm, but nothing like a halogen bulb.