1. eNewsletter Sign Up

How to replace starter sprag on KTM 950/990 (LC8) - write up

Discussion in 'Dakar champion (950/990)' started by keener, Apr 5, 2014.

  1. Motomedic

    Motomedic Over-caffeinated Raconteur Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Oddometer:
    3,805
    Location:
    Spokane
    FWIW, I used the same method to repair my bike, with one difference- I never transferred the "beans" to the old housing. While the new housing looked different than the old, it measured the same, so on a whim, I dropped it in and bolted it up.

    Been starting my bike for a couple years now...:evil
    #21
  2. Powerbandy

    Powerbandy Just got here

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Oddometer:
    3
    Just pulled my rotor using the KTM bolts, locked the rotor with the same spanner, tight but it went in the end :-)
    And the sprag is shot, all the beans fell out and the springs in bits, so ordering up the 640 sprag and "the jobs a good'un" as we say round here.
    #22
  3. Chuckracer

    Chuckracer Jerkus Maximus

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,503
    Location:
    Dexter, NY
    Excellent info!! Job just got a smidge easier. :freaky
    #23
  4. gefr

    gefr Life is a trip

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,047
    Location:
    East Med, Greece
    Cheers.
    #24
  5. Powerbandy

    Powerbandy Just got here

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Oddometer:
    3
    Thanks for all the info, job done for a fraction of the cost of a main dealer fix, get to spend my money on riding instead :clap
    #25
  6. Chuckracer

    Chuckracer Jerkus Maximus

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Oddometer:
    10,503
    Location:
    Dexter, NY
    This should be in the H.O.W.
    #26
    outbacktm likes this.
  7. dirtybikefrank

    dirtybikefrank Beast wrestler

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    695
    Location:
    Senoia GA
    Great timing on this post!

    Mine stranded me last weekend with the eternally spinning starter.

    This site and it's members rock.

    Cheers!
    #27
  8. Bowber

    Bowber Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Oddometer:
    555
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    What sort of mileage are you at when it's gone?

    Also FYI the spring gets slack and can be tightened up to get the beans gripping again, this is also a problem on the LC4 so gets mentioned a lot.
    Obviously not as good as a new set of parts but handy to know if your stuck with tools but no access to parts.

    Steve
    #28
  9. dirtybikefrank

    dirtybikefrank Beast wrestler

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Oddometer:
    695
    Location:
    Senoia GA
    Mine is almost at 40k and snapped 3 bolts in the process of crapping out.
    #29
  10. gefr

    gefr Life is a trip

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,047
    Location:
    East Med, Greece
    and continued to have problems?
    #30
  11. rumpel

    rumpel Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Oddometer:
    145
    Location:
    POLSKA
    950 adv 2003y 36000km

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #31
  12. TheYeti

    TheYeti Hard to be Humble

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,673
    Location:
    North Carolina, a little left of center
    I'm about to do this job: 2 questions 1. The little bolts that hold the sprag to the flywheel ( the Lotited 648 ones) .The Picture of the service manual says to replace bolts with new ones? Do you have to? 2. Someone posted about just putting in the 640 sprag, not transfering the Spring & Beans? did this work with no problems? It seems easier to me>
    #32
  13. keener

    keener Speed changes you.

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,251
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    1 - I didn't change the bolts. They didn't look stretched to me. I inspected and reused them.

    2 - 640's sprag has a different housing, it won't fit. That would have been nice. But beans and spring are the same and transferring them over is easy.
    #33
  14. TheYeti

    TheYeti Hard to be Humble

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,673
    Location:
    North Carolina, a little left of center
    Thanks For the info. I'll be posting up my adventures with this project.
    #34
  15. gefr

    gefr Life is a trip

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Oddometer:
    5,047
    Location:
    East Med, Greece
    So who is next? could we have a verdict please?
    Cheers
    #35
  16. Motomedic

    Motomedic Over-caffeinated Raconteur Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Oddometer:
    3,805
    Location:
    Spokane
    All I can say is I didn't change the housing and my bike starts....
    #36
  17. keener

    keener Speed changes you.

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,251
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    it's news to me that 640 sprag will work in 9x0 as is. It's good to now! I'm sure their housings looked different:

    [​IMG]
    #37
  18. keener

    keener Speed changes you.

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Oddometer:
    2,251
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I opened a 990 motor last night. I can see that bent lip on housing of 9x0 starter sprag is needed to keep it in place.

    I don't see how if a 640's sprag is used, how it wouldn't fall off. Granted it should stay in place once flywheel is installed. May be ktm chnaged it for 9x0 to make installation easier.
    [​IMG]
    #38
  19. Bonnie & Clyde

    Bonnie & Clyde Wishing I was riding RTW

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Oddometer:
    3,938
    Location:
    Gardnerville NV
    :lurk
    #39
  20. KMS6

    KMS6 Mountains and Motorcycles ...... and Hockey Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Oddometer:
    144
    Location:
    Washington the State
    Just completed my own sprag clutch replacement. This thread made the job much easier - thanks to all who contributed. And I used the 640 sprag as-is, no transfer of beans to the 950 housing - bike starts perfectly now.
    #40