Husqvarna 701 Super Moto and Enduro!

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by Dozer720, Aug 13, 2015.

  1. DirtJack

    DirtJack Adventurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Oddometer:
    3,326
    Location:
    395 miles South East of Orla, Texas
  2. krussell

    krussell Gravel Warrior Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Oddometer:
    4,284
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    It's 300W total, less what the bike uses, is what you can use before you go into debt. I don't know what the bike uses. My Warm N Safe was 90w AFAIK.
    CardiffKook likes this.
  3. CardiffKook

    CardiffKook Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Oddometer:
    112
    Location:
    San Diego
    Thanks, Krussel.

    So you are running gloves and jacket and it has been fine?

    Anyone know what the excess electical capacity is on the 701. The alternator puts out 300W per manual. I added up all the stuff in the manual under technical data-->electic but it only adds 75W- which seems low. That leaves excess electical capacity of 225. Seems high.
  4. MotoMinded

    MotoMinded Rally On Super Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Oddometer:
    5,456
    Location:
    COS
    We've calculated the math as well. Roughly the same conclusion. **Keep in mind that is peak power rating. Idle and low rpm it is not outputting 300w. What, we have not tested yet. We assume worst case 25% less.
    xsrdx and Blakebird like this.
  5. Norty01

    Norty01 Occupant

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Oddometer:
    2,723
    Location:
    CARLSBAD, CA, USA
    You're correct, the ignition is going to use about 95-120W by itself.
    Fuel Injection? Add another 45W-50W
    Lights/horn/turn sigs? Add 'em up.
    Plan on being left with 25-35% to due what you want.

    Oh yeah, if you have the alternator pumping out at 100%, you can expect a reduced life of the alternator...

    It's just the way it is...
    MotoMinded likes this.
  6. dirtystevedirt

    dirtystevedirt Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,022
    Location:
    Cheney,Wa
    I have run my heated liner (90 watts) Oxford heated grips (30-50) and had my phone charger going at the same time for many a miles. Never an issue.
    Yukon Ho!, NSFW and Bayner like this.
  7. Panders

    Panders Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    159
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, USA
    Rade has updated his fairing kit:
    https://www.radegarage.com/parts/ktm-701-fairing-kit-stary/

    It now has a shader around the headlight to help with reflections on the windshield, improved CNC machined side panels and windshield, a brake hose routing bracket, and the addition of a USB charging port and Garmin GPS cradle.
    moosehog likes this.
  8. ShawnKTM530EXC

    ShawnKTM530EXC Long timer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Oddometer:
    1,127
    Location:
    Ventura County, CA
    You're right! If I can do mountain bike disc brakes, I can do this.
  9. Panders

    Panders Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    159
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, USA
    A 701 rider on Facebook shared this new steering damper from a Polish company called Enduro Parts:
    http://enduroparts.com.pl/husqvarna-701/
    https://www.facebook.com/partsenduro/

    Obviously it's a Scotts look-alike. The guy on Facebook installed it recently on his bike and says it feels and works just like the Scotts on his friend's 701.

    The price is attractive: about $260 USD for the damper plus 701 mounting kit, plus shipping (I sent a message to find out shipping to the USA).

    I've never had a steering damper. After riding sand dunes, rocky terrain, and some river crossings with big rocks last year, it's been on my list for my next big ride but the $750 for a Scotts, GPR, Rallye, etc. has kept it a low priority. At 1/3 the price, though...

    Anyone seen or tried an Enduro Parts damper? Thoughts or experience?
  10. Panders

    Panders Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    159
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, USA
  11. krgr_910

    krgr_910 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Oddometer:
    39
    Location:
    Secunda ZA
    I Experienced some weird behavior yesterday. Bike was fine in the morning and then in the afternoon I noticed the engine light stayed lit after starting the bike. It then cut out when putting the bike in gear. So I checked the side stand switch, which was still intact and aligned. It did the same thing about three times, cutting out when I put the bike in gear. I switched off the ignition and on again and it started and did not cut out again when putting it in gear. However, the engine light was still lit when the bike was started. This morning I disconnected the computer and plugged it in again. Engine light is off and no signs of any issues... Any thoughts? I am planning on taping the side stand magnet and relocating it under the seat as suggested. The getting a OCB? reader to figure out why the engine light was on... I need to take it to the dealer for the "software update" any way.
  12. Didado

    Didado Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,329
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    You are oversimplifying changing the slave for some one that may not be mechanically inclined. You forget to mention the bleeding which though simple does require a bit of knowledge as in how to do it, which oil to use, mineral or DOT 4 or DOT 5 and how you don't want that stuff in your eyes and how you don't want that stuff dripping all over stuff because it is aggressive etc.
    Magile, Tired Oil and KiwiPewe like this.
  13. Didado

    Didado Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,329
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    It happened to me a few times over the years on my 2016 and 2017. I also solved it by rebooting the ecu and have never worried about it. My mechanic says if it starts blinking then I should worry.
  14. krgr_910

    krgr_910 Adventurer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2018
    Oddometer:
    39
    Location:
    Secunda ZA
    Thanks, I think I will try and get a reader to figure out the reason for the engine light. Do the normal readers show error history? Can they clear errors as well?
  15. dirtbikekid

    dirtbikekid Adventurer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Oddometer:
    39

    could it be same as this

    Also this
  16. Didado

    Didado Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,329
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I remember my mechanic saying something about the electronics working on microvolt changes and how once in a while the tiniest bit of moisture can cause the error light to come on for a short while. However, I'm famous for my shitty memory. :imaposer
    PYG RYDR, Kiwirich and a2zworks like this.
  17. coq

    coq Adventurer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Oddometer:
    11
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    I'm looking for a tank bag for my 701 and are deciding between GL fandango and diablo.

    As I understand it from other threads they are the same size except for height, which gives 4 or 8L making the only difference how much you are able to pack.

    I'm thinking of combining it with Mosko Reckless 80.

    It's so hard to determin just from pictures. I want it slim but if I take only the tankbag for a day trip I want to be able to pack enough.

    Anyone with a 701 who can share their experience with either bag?
  18. mtntrails

    mtntrails Life is Short... Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Oddometer:
    1,034
    Location:
    Mount Airy, MD
  19. Didado

    Didado Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,329
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Yes, I have both the Fandago and the Diablo. And I also have the mm R40 and R80. I used the 4l at first but for my purposes it is too small. I use the 8 L one and never looked back because I charge a large powerbank, gopro batteries, sometimes drone batteries, spare glasses, wallet etc etc. I never notice it riding but many riders hate tankbags. In other words both volume and placement is so incredibly personal that there's only one true answer... It all depends on you. For me the tankbag is generally not enough for a day ride. I bring tools, spare tube and first aid kit and more which wouldn't fit with all the other crap I already have in the 8 liter. However, you can add the two 2 liter panniers to the tankbag on each side for an additional 4 liters total. One carries my tools.

    IMG_1174.jpg
    PYG RYDR likes this.
  20. Didado

    Didado Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    1,329
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Weird I didn't know the forum automatically does product placements? The GoPro in the above post is linked to ebay and I didn't do that.

    Update: and this post also!