i need some suggestions regarding a restoration i'm about to start ...

Discussion in 'Airheads' started by Shmerel, Jul 28, 2008.

1. Shmerel

Shmerel

Oddometer:
    so i got myself a bmw r 65, '82 model.

mechanically it's in pretty good dshape, but cosmetically it has surface rust abd looks tired.

this will be my first restoration and i'm determined to trade in my 10 unnecessary thunbs for 10 usable digits. i'm a novice (mechanic/restorer) is every sense.

i intend to bring the bike back to newish conditon. it's blue and i prefer it black with white pin stripes. i wantr to retain the bmw style of this bike, BUT, i also want to adorn it with functional modern bits (braded brake lines, handlebar mirrors etc) to make it a café racer-ish.

i don't want to end up with a mishmash and want it looking sexy and streamlined. my mind is open (more than my wallet).

anyone got some useful pics for me to look at as suggestions for this resto/café racer? also tips of parts and where to get them?

please, boys and gals, no silly pics or bullshit. i'm already sufficiently anxious here.

thanks in advance

Gad
  2. bpeckm

bpeckm Grin! Supporter

Oddometer:

Attached Files:

3. mutineer

mutineer pierpont lives

Oddometer:
    if you are looking to do this for less than it would cost to buy a similar bike in nice condition you are gonna be very unhappy with the numbers when you add them up

you did not mention how well stocked your tool box is, but you can pretty much take apart 90% of a BMW with a decent set of hand tools

if this is a labor of love you will never add the numbers up and you will be very happy with the final result

if you are tearing it down to the frame level be prepared to repalce all the seals

if you are only pulling bodywork and replacing the items you described you should have a nice runner for not a lot of coin

if the paint is in good shape I would do the paint dead last as that is a real budget buster