1. ADVRIDER Print Magazine!
    We're doing two more print magazines year. July & November. 144 pages of high quality adventure riding stories, photography and interviews!

    Click here to purchase both for $35.
    Dismiss Notice

I stupidly erased my OS on Garmin Montana 610

Discussion in 'GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me' started by JoshinBham, May 14, 2021.

  1. JoshinBham

    JoshinBham fail

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    739
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    I did a search, googled, and finally am waving the white flag. I have fought this since yesterday.

    So here it goes, I have had my 610 for about 4-5 years, mostly spent in a case in my office. I used it on my Super Tenere for a while before I got a TomTom about 2 years ago. I decided to take it hiking last week to see if I could get some use out of it. Meh, kinda heavy, but worked fine.

    So yesterday I decided to just wipe it and put it up for sale. I followed Garmin's details on formatting the card. The detail that was left out is that was that you shouldn't format it WHEN ITS IN THE MONTANA. When I formatted it as a separate card on my Mac, it somehow deleted most of the OS off the damn 610's internal memory. So now the Mac nor a PC will recognize it. All of the profiles are gone except Recreational now.

    I have tried gpsrchive.com to reflash it, but it won't work. I contacted Garmin and they said I would just have to buy a new unit.

    Any ideas before I just toss this thing in the trash and start drinking? I have a decent amount of money tied up in Topo maps and City navigator maps.

    Sorry for rambling. I am a god awful writer.
    #1
  2. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,237
    Location:
    alabama
    that's awesome customer service right there !
    #2
  3. rexbro

    rexbro Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    602
    Location:
    SE PA
    Seems like you accidentally tried to format the usb mass storage device. On my pc Windows 10 sees a A mass storage device and an Sd card. If they are named similar it’s easy to select the wrong one.

    Try a different mini usb cable if you haven’t yet. You might have to go back to 2001 to get one though.
    When you plug it in does anything happen at all - anything new show up in the device manager?

    Long shot but you could try hooking it up to a Linux machine. If you can get any computer to recognize it at least it’s not fried and there may be some hope. It sucks that Garmin won’t help you. I’m a bit surprised though because as as much as others report bad experience with Garmins customer service, I have been fortunate and had good results.

    Try calling them again and maybe a different person is what you need. Try repackaging your description of the problem and how it came to be that your device stopped working. :deal
    Pretending to be Johnny Dumbbell can get you far sometimes. :augie
    #3
    JoshinBham likes this.
  4. JoshinBham

    JoshinBham fail

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    739
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    I’ve tried a few different cables, no dice. When I plug it up it just shows the USB symbol. If I hold down the power button when I first plug it in, eventually it will show the Garmin name and USB symbol and Base Camp will show it as a SD card. I can add and remove files onto it, but it does nothing for the software.

    I might try them again on Monday, loosing hope though. Kinda bummed about this. I’m pretty tech savvy and feel like a dunce for this happing.
    #4
  5. rexbro

    rexbro Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Oddometer:
    602
    Location:
    SE PA
    Mac or pc? If pc does it show up in the device manager? If so does it show that it’s supposed to be working? Maybe try and reinstall the device drivers.
    Is the SD card a preloaded Garmin card or one you downloaded specific to the Montana? If I’m understanding this correctly the SD card is showing up but the internal drive is not showing up as a mass storage device.
    #5
  6. Dracula

    Dracula Moto Guzzi jockey Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Oddometer:
    25,347
    Location:
    Dixie
    I would remove the SD card and just deal with the Montana alone. See what shows up when plugged in a pc, like that.
    I reckon it's a mini OS that has a bootable image, just like any other linux based appliance. Therefore, a way to re image it ought to exist. It might involve some 'out of the box' thinking and procedures, and maybe they are already out there...
    #6
    JoshinBham and scottdc like this.
  7. lkraus

    lkraus Long timer

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Oddometer:
    2,092
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Since Garmin will not help, I think the only thing that might work is to find someone with a working 610, ask them to use a utility like USB image Tool to make an image of their unit, and then use that image to restore your 610.
    #7
  8. Skootz Kabootz

    Skootz Kabootz Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Oddometer:
    258
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Depending on which Mac OS version you are running, with the device wiped clean you might need to give it "security permission" to be recognized by your Mac again. This is a long shot but, for example, my SENA 20s is not recognized by my Mac and Sena Bluetooth Device Manager App until under System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Privacy I grant the App "input monitoring" permission. There may be some similar relevant permission that needs to be granted for your Montana device to be recognized, even without its Garmin OS.

    Like I said, it's a long shot, but it might be worth exploring. Good luck!!!
    #8
    JoshinBham likes this.