Import Google Map into Basecamp

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by bobframe, Jul 18, 2017.

  1. boney

    boney Ride > Post Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,781
    Location:
    Sonoma CA
    Nobody really cares about your computer and the smug feeling it gives you.
    #21
  2. boney

    boney Ride > Post Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Oddometer:
    1,781
    Location:
    Sonoma CA
    Doesn't gpsbabel handle this?

    https://www.gpsbabel.org/
    #22
  3. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,082
    Location:
    alabama
    you post was marked "unsafe" by three different anti virus labs.

    I gotta dozen popups telling me so, on winders







    ;-)
    #23
  4. chornbe

    chornbe The monkey's football Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    260
    Location:
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Meh. I've had more than one occasion where the GPS (Zumo) is more than happy to aggressively reformulate the route and I'm standing there looking at it like "well, you dumbass, you completely cut off the one road in this part of the state that matters." :(

    Or it gets confused and wants you to make turns to go straight and gets a little hung up on things like that.

    If basecamp wasn't such a colossally, embarrassingly, pathetically bad piece of software, and kept up with some modern paradigms of UI/UX, this might just be a non-issue.
    #24
  5. cpallen

    cpallen Nearly Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,905
    Location:
    Panora, IA
    this is why you use tracks and/or waypoints and not straight routes. Routes are really just for getting from point A to B when you don’t really care how. Setting avoidances or ‘curvy road’ preferences help auto routing but nothing beats reviewing every turn in satellite view.
    #25
    wbbnm, EmmEff and dtaylor like this.
  6. chornbe

    chornbe The monkey's football Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    260
    Location:
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Yeah, 'cause I've got that kind of time.

    Yeah, as you say, I just set all the avoidances and look for the twisty, curvy stuff. But in this case I was putting something together for my wife who was doing a weekend with her son and wanted some "off the beaten path" stuff, too. It was an asinine attempt.

    To quote that guy in the Oval Office... "Sad!"
    #26
  7. pepebayeta

    pepebayeta Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Oddometer:
    637
    Location:
    Spain

    Maybe this is not what you are looking for, but if you look for the option "automatically recalculate route" (or something like that) and disable it. The device will follow the route you planned on basecamp.
    #27
  8. chornbe

    chornbe The monkey's football Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Oddometer:
    260
    Location:
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Yeah, fooled about with that on a couple of different imports; it's almost like the actual position (of waypoints and/or along-the-road anchors to keep the route intact) exported from google and imported to Garmin don't make sense to each other.

    In any case, I just suffered through working solely in Basecamp. It's pretty terrible. And slow. And clunky. But it worked. :\
    #28
  9. cpallen

    cpallen Nearly Adventurer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    1,905
    Location:
    Panora, IA
    There are other programs (Like Revver and CoPilot) that can output GPX files that will load right in to the Nav V/VI. Basecamp not required. The basic problem with Google My Maps is that the KML files need to be converted.
    #29