1. eNewsletter Sign Up

Intercontinental Rally 2019 (IR 1019)

Discussion in 'Racing' started by webnetxpress, Jun 10, 2018.

1. webnetxpress

webnetxpress Been here awhile

Oddometer:
    I am registered for this rally. Anyone else in the ADVRider forums going to be there too?

www.intercontinentalrally.com

Jan 21 to Feb 3. Spain to Dakkar. 6000km. 14 days.

Should be epic!

route.jpg
    BLucare, choutos and barrier like this.
  2. webnetxpress

Oddometer:
    A quick bio-

I'm a novice/rookie to offroad riding and racing. I have only been offroad riding for 2 years, prior to this I was strictly a street rider and track days. I currently race in the Senegalese Rally federation. The longest rally so far has been a 3 day 900km rally, made up of 5 special sections over 3 days. About 85% of all the riding we do in Dakar is sand, deep sand.

For the IR 2019 I will be racing with Club Aventura Touareg out of Spain. The bike is a 2018 KTM 450. I wanted to use my own bike but the logistics and costs of shipping, spare parts, mechanic rental, bivouac support etc quickly added up and it became obvious that my best chance for completing the race was to go with a race team.

Now I am in full training mode. Every spare minute over the next 6 months will be spent riding. This last month I have been taking it easy and recovering from my last mx race. This older body doesn't recover from sprains like it did a few years ago!

I have a 2 day rally I will compete in at the end of June. That will be the final race of the season here in Senegal. Then in October I will travel to Morocco for an 8 day 3500km training week on the race bike. The time in Morocco will be spent dialing in the bike for me, familiarizIng myself with it, learning navigation and practicing desert and dune riding.