iPhone XR as GPS Questions

Discussion in 'Mapping & Navigation' started by Dave in Wi, Jun 13, 2020.

  1. Dave in Wi

    Dave in Wi Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,625
    Location:
    Madison WI (40 Square Miles Surrounded By Reality)
    I’ve been considering getting a mount to use my iPhone XR as a GPS for a while now.

    One thing has been holding me back. I’ve heard vibration can damage the camera image stabilization. But I’m not sure how much of a concern this really is.

    My bike is a Kawasaki RZX 1200, 4-cylinder so it’s not a paint-shaker, but it does have buzzy handlebars at certain RPMs. Street riding only, except for an occasional gravel road.

    Do you use an iPhone XR as a GPS, and how has it worked for you?
    #1
  2. DRTBYK

    DRTBYK All Things GPS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Oddometer:
    8,211
    Location:
    +47.839921, -120.019112
    Don't have an iPhone XR but I used my iPhone XS for over 6K miles, of both on- & off-road, on my rig (see below). In addition, I've been using my iPhone 11Pro Max now for about 800mi and I have had no camera stabilization issues on either iPhone. My mount is NOT on the handlebars, as you can see, it is up higher and is a bit more isolated from high-frequency vibrations - which are the ones that can adversely effect the mechanical stabilization hardware in these iPhones. My iPhone is mounted using a Quad Lock Case and Mirror Clamp Mount with a Motorcycle Wireless Charger also from Quad Lock. Never had any issues with iPhone or Mount and I've been on some rather ruff Forest Roads.

    But, just one data point...YMMV. Apparently, some folks have not had the same luck mounting their phone on Dual Sport handlebars.

    720897AC-7B57-478A-B259-6B4068C5E1E2.jpeg

    9D24355B-E4E7-4933-8A12-01EEE50193A8.jpeg
    #2
    CaseyB, Traxx and ohgood like this.
  3. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,005
    Location:
    alabama
    holy crap that's cool !


    mannnnnnnn
    #3
  4. turtlespeed

    turtlespeed Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Oddometer:
    382
    Location:
    NJ
    My friends iPhone camera went crazy and he rides a cruiser... the probability is always there.

    The question you need to ask yourself is "are you ok with the probability of the expensive phone getting screwed..."

    Me: My S10e rides in my chest pocket, and there is a TomTom550 on the bars...
    #4
  5. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,005
    Location:
    alabama

    if the phone has optical image stabilization, that's what breaks

    all phones, tablets, etc that don't use it are fine
    #5
  6. Dave in Wi

    Dave in Wi Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,625
    Location:
    Madison WI (40 Square Miles Surrounded By Reality)
    So it’s my birthday month and I am about to pull the trigger on buying a phone mount for my bike. Doing a little more research, I see that Quad Lock has an anti-vibration mount in production to solve just this issue. It’s not shipping yet, but it should be soon.

    I’m going to go ahead and pick up a mount and give it a shot without it for the time being. I do have a protection plan on my phone, so if the image stabilization does crap out it’s not going to break the bank. I will report back with my findings.
    #6
  7. EmmEff

    EmmEff Long timer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,300
    Location:
    Innisfil, Ontario, Canada
    Where can I find more info about the Quad Lock anti-vibration mount you speak of? I’m about to replace my RAM X-Grip in hopes of not killing my phone’s camera.
    #7
  8. Dave in Wi

    Dave in Wi Long timer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,625
    Location:
    Madison WI (40 Square Miles Surrounded By Reality)
  9. ohgood

    ohgood Just givver tha berries !!!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Oddometer:
    10,005
    Location:
    alabama
    these don't need extra pieces added for vibration damping, because they're not rigid mounts...

    Screenshot_20200802-034929.png

    all the rigid mounts need extra non rigid pieces added to prevent vibration transfer... I just skip the rigid mounts
    #9