JacO's 04 KTM 950 Build

Discussion in 'Some Assembly Required' started by JacoBeRacing, Jan 19, 2019.

1. JacoBeRacing

JacoBeRacing Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Hello!

My name is Jacob and I am new to the whole adventure riding thing but I am very excited to get out there and experience it. Back in August sometime I purchased this 2004 KTM 950 Adventure from a good buddy of mine for a whopping $2,400. It has 50,000 miles but runs well. I knew when I bought it that it needed some work, but I am finding out that practically nothing was done to this bike since the day he started riding it outside of overdue oil changes now and then. Also, this bike is quite the handful when it comes to access for regular maintenance items. Anyways, on to some pictures.

Here are a few of the bike in the state that I got it:
    lA2iYcB.jpg PPALiJ2.jpg rfH0x4r.jpg 8TqSS9W - Imgur.jpg

It has your usual modes like crash bars, luggage rack, Richs seat (PO took out a bunch of foam), throttle lock cruise control, 12V aux port, bark busters, hand warmers, and a touring windscreen. My buddy also tossed in an OEM tank bag and the grey KTM hard side bags along with the stock windscreen and tool kit.

As you can more than likely see, the tread on the rear tire was practically non existent. Some things that aren't very visible is the leaking fork seals, leaking clutch master cylinder, leaking slave cylinder, and bad battery. The bike also has a few electrical gremlins like a flickering oil light when cold and a temperamental neutral safety switch that will kill the bike when you put the kick stand down even though your in neutral. The last thing that really bothered me was the valve tick and the overall filthiness.

Honestly, I could have probably just gotten new tires, slapped in a new battery, resealed the forks, and replaced the clutch master/slave cylinder and been on my merry way, but I tend to overdue things...

My plans for this bike are as follows:
    - Deep clean the entire bike