Just moved to WA

Discussion in 'Pacific Northwet - Where it's green. And wet.' started by csmoore, Jun 10, 2021.

1. csmoore

csmoore Adventurer

Oddometer:
    Another east coast transplant. Living in the Mount Vernon Area, Walker Valley ORV is basically my backyard. Zero experience on dirt and no friends that ride out here, not super interested in getting stuck out there alone. Anyone in the area that would maybe want to go on a ride? I'm on a cb500x, not the nimblest but not the worst for some moderate trails.

I know things are super crowded so people don't want to give up their spots, but would also be appreciative for any hints on good rides/views for day trips and camping. I'm a photographer, so the reward for showing my noob ass around could be some cool photos.

Thanks!
    Netsum, dammitdave, ADV206 and 2 others like this.
  2. PNWet

PNWet Long timer

Oddometer:
    Welcome!

Walker Valley is no joke. I've ridden there once and I found the trails rideable on a small bike. They can be very rutted with hidden roots sticking out that'll rip your foot off if you're not careful.

I talked with one former pro MXer (raced out of Washougal in the early 80's) who said it's the only place he had to be taken out of by ambulance... A root grabbed his foot peg and flipped him over, the one and only time he rode there.

I would not ride trails there if new to dirt. I also would not take a street oriented bike on the trails there.

If you do ride there, stick to the gravel roads.
    csmoore, WolfNman and One Fat Roach like this.
  3. chopyourown

chopyourown Adventurer

Oddometer:
    I'm a fairly new rider, but would be happy to join you for some forest road exploring - there's supposedly some good roads up off 530 near Swede Heaven. I'm also on a CB500x.
    ADV206, csmoore and One Fat Roach like this.
  4. BobcatSig

BobcatSig Fresh Off The Couch Racing

Oddometer: