KLR 650 rod knock - engine swap/new bike?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by charliefirpo, Jul 4, 2019.

1. charliefirpo

charliefirpo Adventurer

Oddometer:
    My 2008 KLR 650 with 32k miles had the pleasure of experiencing Rod Knock because of lack of oil. I haven't looked into the engine yet but its so messed up inside that the engine wont even turn over anymore. Now my question is what do? I am not a mechanic but like to work on the bike and am quite handy. Shall I buy a new engine an swap the whole thing? The engine alone would costs USD 1000 (1500 CAD up here). Is it worth it? Is it viable for a non mechanic? How long a job would it be for me? I have an apartment complex garage and would have to rent power tools if more than a drill is required. I have most other hand tools. Getting it professionally repaired would cost USD 1600 in labor alone according to a mechanic who heard the story. Or should I just buy a new bike (second hand that is) and sell this one for parts? A new one (used) would also cost x2.5 the cost of a new engine.
  2. vagueout

vagueout Long timer

Oddometer:
    Buy another bike . Buy a 5 litre container of the correct oil and a funnel.:*sip*
    Flap Jack and charliefirpo like this.
  3. Grinnin

Grinnin Forever N00b Supporter

Oddometer:
    Changing the engine shouldn't require any power tools unless you mangle a bolt or screw head and have to drill it out.

The math depends on 1) how much the bike is worth to you and 2) if you think you can get an engine that's in good condition.

Then again, I bought my KLR for $1200USD but I wouldn't count on it today.
    REALGRAVEROBBER and charliefirpo like this.
  4. Johann

Johann Long timer

Oddometer: