KTM 690 Enduro tire recommendations?

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by dbrum, Nov 9, 2016.

1. dbrum

dbrum canuckInCali

Oddometer:
    Have a 2016 690 which came with MT-21's. It's time to change them. I was set on getting K60 Scout's but heard from another 690 owner that this was not recommended as these tires "weren't so great for lighter enduro bikes" like the 690. Being a relative newbie on Enduro's - my previous bikes were all the heavier 1200GS variety for a long time, I am not sure now what tire set to go with.

My riding is about 50/50 split... I use the bike for 30 miles round trip commuting to work along Bay Area roads. Weekends i'm up on the trails or goat roads and stuff like that. Have a few trips planned to DV etc this spring, but I am not riding hard core single-track on a regular basis.

What would you guys suggest and why? Advice appreciated.
  2. OM

OM Owners Manual

Oddometer:
    I have been using metzeler sahara III for about 4 years straight. Best true 50-50 tire IMO. I had a 690 as well, on which they lasted about 7.000 kms (rear).
  3. renogeorge

renogeorge Let's ride!! Supporter

Oddometer:
    Mitas E 07 rear and Conti TKC 80 front for me. Worked well on and off road on both my 990 and 690. Current rear right at 6000 miles. Good for another 2k. Heidi rear is a little less aggressive off road and wears a little better. Hard compound!
    Night Falcon likes this.
  4. Jabba

Jabba "HOLD THE LIGHT!!!"

Oddometer:
    Just east of the Pine Beatle- Evergreen, CO
    Motoz Mountain Hybrid is my next rear tire for my TE630- Haven't settled on a front yet, but the MT21 gets good reviews, no?

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
  5. Bitingdog

Bitingdog That's not my dog

Oddometer:
    Mitas E-07 rear, E-09 front. Great longevity, great all around 50/50 setup.

For more dirt bias, you can't beat the Michelin Desert Race tire
    Night Falcon likes this.
  6. fseybert

fseybert Adventurer

Oddometer: