KTM 690 Fuel tank

Discussion in 'Thumpers' started by dandini, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. KC-10ENG

    KC-10ENG Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Oddometer:
    258
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Will some with the Rade tank with the foam filter measure the metal tube that came in the kit? I am swapping out the K&N and using a UNI Filter.

    Thanks in advance!!
  2. renogeorge

    renogeorge Let's ride!!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,467
    Location:
    Reno
    I'll measure mine. I don't use the metal piece. I have the longer UNI. Need the number for it?
  3. sprouty115

    sprouty115 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,937
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    Do you have some dyno runs and AF charts that show that? Because based on what I've experienced and read, after big changes to the intake and exhaust a re-map is recommended. The KTM EVO kits, Akrapovic, Wings, Rottweiler, etc. all suggest remap.
  4. renogeorge

    renogeorge Let's ride!!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,467
    Location:
    Reno
    The Rade metal piece is 62 mm long. I didn't use it. I use the UNI which is longer than the one Rade was providing with his kit for use with the metal sleeve. The number I have "UP-6245AST 2 Stage Pod (angled) 2.5" ID X 6" HGT". I am happy with it. Intake sensor is zip tied to frame next to air filter.

    FWIW
  5. christian

    christian Long timer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Oddometer:
    2,990
    Location:
    Redwood City, CA
    Thanks Rade for the support for the sonorarally.com
    Currently training in Parhump NV

    Attached Files:

  6. imaging

    imaging Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    12
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I just got Rear tank from rallyraid. I already have Touratech rack mounted and I ordered adapter for it as well. Does anybody have the same setup and can send me some pictures with everything mounted? Just want to install it right but I can't find any pictures on internet.
  7. jacbrown

    jacbrown As old as my tongue, a little older than my teeth

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Michigan
    I am in the process of installing the Rade tank. That made me curious about the fuel reserve light on the cluster. For those of you who have already used an auxiliary tank, does the reserve fuel light in the cluster come on at an appropriate time or has it become useless?

    If useless, can you reset the mode back to "trip 1" for example? As you may have guessed, I haven't ridden the bike enough to hit reserve. It's still pretty new to me.
  8. renogeorge

    renogeorge Let's ride!!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,467
    Location:
    Reno
    The fuel light is triggered by level in the main tank. The sender is below the level of the Rade. So with Rade petcock open you will hit reserve 1.5 gallons later than you would without the Rade. I leave Rade petcock normally closed using it as a reserve. That way I get the normal reserve light, open Rade petcock transferring 1.5 gallons to main tank, turning reserve light off.
  9. jacbrown

    jacbrown As old as my tongue, a little older than my teeth

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Oddometer:
    81
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thanks George. That's great news. My other bikes are so old that it's all mechanical. This fancy electronic stuff is new to me.
  10. Brown Dog

    Brown Dog North Georgia Dual Sportr

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,346
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA. USA
    I got a 2008 with stock tank 10k miles.
    It's running terrible & going dead just like its running out of fuel.
    Fuel Pump & Filter is OEM Stock.

    You guys think my filter is stopped up
    Inside tank ?

    Can I get filter out with tank on the bike ?
  11. renogeorge

    renogeorge Let's ride!!

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Oddometer:
    6,467
    Location:
    Reno
    Yep. It's easiest if you remove lower tank and swing tank up. But it can be done in place. NAPA for filter. Think about replacing pump and adding inlet Profill filter. Avoid kinking fuel lines when installing. Have you checked for a small trumpet filter at the injector? Problem could be there or at the injector too. I'd still replace in tank filter. FWIW
  12. Brown Dog

    Brown Dog North Georgia Dual Sportr

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,346
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA. USA
    I removed fuel tank from bike to access the pump & filter.
    I found the pump housing had came unsnapped & apart.
    This kinked hose was the problem :
    image.jpg

    Pickup filter & inline filter were not stopped up :clap

    I removed kinked hose & found tiny spring loaded check valve at pump connection, which I destroyed getting the hose off pump

    Is the check valve needed ?? :ear
  13. hansi

    hansi Teurer Abenteurer Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,235
    Location:
    State of Jefferson
    At how many gallon remaining does the low fuel light come on with just the stock tank?
  14. The Letter J

    The Letter J Long timer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Oddometer:
    1,794
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
    About .6 gallons remaining.
    hansi likes this.
  15. sprouty115

    sprouty115 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,937
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    I'm going with "yes". I assume it is there to prevent fuel from back-draining from the the line that runs to the pressure regulator.
    640 Armageddon likes this.
  16. imaging

    imaging Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Oddometer:
    12
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I wanted to replace the fuel filter in tank but i couldn't pull out the fuel pump. I tried to pull pretty hard but it looks like the fuel filter or hoses are hooked somewhere. Any ideas how to get it out without damage?
  17. sprouty115

    sprouty115 Long timer Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Oddometer:
    7,937
    Location:
    Providence, RI
    First, don't pull hard on anything. Second, try twisting the fuel pump assembly about 90/180 degrees as it starts to pull away from the tank. If I recall correctly, I turned it clockwise and wiggled the hoses and everything came out.
    Third, don't pull hard on anything...
    jacbrown likes this.
  18. MizzouRider

    MizzouRider Long timer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Oddometer:
    2,911
    Location:
    Fly over zone
    I had the exact same thing on my 09. I tried epoxy. It seemed fine until I put some weight on the racks, then it was running out all over the place. I finally bought a used tank. Now I've got so much invested in just getting the original tank replaced, I'll just go with a rotopax if I want to carry additional fuel.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    hidsrtktm likes this.
  19. Brown Dog

    Brown Dog North Georgia Dual Sportr

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Oddometer:
    2,346
    Location:
    Calhoun, GA. USA
    Gates # 27086 IS submersible fuel hose = 1/4" ID x 12" long.
    Nobody has it though :-(
  20. El Lobo

    El Lobo Been here awhile

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Oddometer:
    161
    Location:
    West Coast Finland
    Any pictures of the check valve?